Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
120
4.8 out of 5 stars
Led Zeppelin III
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ £1.26 shipping


VINE VOICEon 15 November 2007
After the first two albums the record buying punter probably thought he knew exactly what he was going to get - another dose of beefed up virtuoso blues rock. Well there sure is some of that but there is also.............

The Immigrant Song - what an opener - there is not another song like his in the world. Terrifying wailing Plant vocal driven by Pages big choppy riff and the rhythm section from hell. Were the Vikings scarier than this? Yikes.

Friends is an opportunity to catch breath, an pleasant change down.

Celebration Day is a rocker with a twiddly riff driven along by JPJ and Bonzo.

Since I've Been Loving You is an exquisite slow blues, this is every band member at the absolute top of his game. Possibly my favourite LZ track, amongst some tough competition. Jimmy knock off a guitar break that must make Eric Clapton weep, it is beyond perfect.

Out On the Tiles is a straight up rocker living in the shadow of some of the bands finest moments.

And that's it for the rock bits. The balance of the album takes on a folky tinge inspired by the bucolic surroundings of their Welsh country cottage.

It's all a pleasant change of pace and a pointer to the future direction of the band. The beautiful, melodic Tangarine is most peoples stand out track on the second side, but its all good. The remastered cd here benefits all tracks but the clarity is most apparent on the acoustic tracks such as the Bron Y Aur Stomp (named after the aforementioned cottage).

To many people this album must have been a shock departure from the tried ant tested formula of the first two albums, and perhaps explains why this deceptive classic does not get mentioned in the same revered tones as the first two albums, the nameless next album and the sprawling Physical Graffiti. However its a great surprise and if you want to get a woman into Zep - Tangerine is a proven winner.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
Led Zeppelin III...For many years, this has been regarded as a weaker album in Zeppelin's output from '69 - '75, however, that tag seems to have rightly dropped now. Sure, this has a more accoustic/folk feel to it ( espicially on the old side two), but the accoustic numbers are powerful in their own right and when the electric stuff rocks, it's up there with the first two albums.

" The Immigrant Song" is a classic piece of no-nonsense heavy metal, " Freinds" is an equally heavy piece of accoustic genius. " Celebration Day" is a feelgood, riff laden work of art, " Since I've Been Loving You" is one of the greatest songs ever made, the blues guitar of Page bouncing off the melencholy vocals of Plant is genius in full flow, " Out On The Tiles" is sassy,classy and packs a punch.
" Gallows Pole" is dark, melodic and excellent, " Tangerine" is beautiful, yet bitter-sweet, " That's The Way" , " Bron - Y - Aur Stomp" & " Hats Off To ( Roy) Harper" , shows the units accoustic genius and proficency.

Granted, you could be forgiven for having to work a little harder to appriciate this after the first two heavier releases, but your paitence will be very rewarded, as this is yet another masterpiece by one of the greatest bands that ever walked the earth.

Excellent: AAAA++++
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2007
For my money this is the best of Led Zeppelin's albums.I loved it when it came out and bought it on CD wondering if it would posses the same magic for me. As soon as it started playing I was hooked right back to when I was in my teens.This is an excellent album especially good for playing loud in the car!! I defy anyone to not like Tangerine, Immigration Song or Since I've Been Loving You. This album has it all: hard rock, blues and folk.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
The only thing wrong with this product is the fact the sleeve isn't as fun as the original vinyl. If you only own Led Zep greatest hits albums, shame on you! Start here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2004
Following on from the heavy blues offerings from the first two quality Zeppelin albums, this was probably easy to slate at the time and I believe it was. I'm so glad that this has now got the recognition it so rightly deserves. It's packed with classics; Immigrant Song, Since I've Been Loving You, Gallows Pole, Tangerine, That's the Way, Bron-Y-Aur-Stomp et al. Much more folky than blues, it's atrue masterpiece and currently my fave Led Zep long player.
11 Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2015
After riding high on the massive, unprecedented success of their first two albums and following tours, Zeppelin pulled back on the reins and gave us a third album of folk meanderings, mystic offerings to Gods, and a less abrasive approach. The band had taken some extra time to hone their song writing skills, move away from heavy blues standards, and begin experimenting with other sounds and ideas. Critics didn’t love the idea at the time, but the fans lapped it up and saw it as the sign of a hugely talented band taking their next logical step.

‘Immigrant Song’ opens the album in fairly typical style with booming drums, a tuneful riff, and some wailing vocals. We get tell from the opening lines that the band have taken a more mystical direction with Nordic nods and references. This is a short, simple verse chorus verse song which is forced along by that riff and doesn’t outstay it’s welcome wisely before concluding with a cymbal’s hiss.

‘Friends’ is a much softer affair features mostly acoustics, a cheeky climbing piece by page, eastern tinged strings, and some tambla by Bonzo. This one feels like a campfire song before a battle although the lyrics are more peace and love focused than war based, but we feel the band huddled together, plotting for some huge event while the darkness gathers around them. The structure is simply but avoids being repetitive, there is no chorus, and the songs gradually increases in speed and volume for the ending.

‘Celebration Day’ picks up the pace and opens with the final phasing notes from the previous tracks underneath some bizarre guitar sounds by Page. This gives way to a string bending riff, some over the top vocals by Plant who is on top form, and the usual racing beats we would expect by the bass and drums. This time we get a big chorus and a nice Page solo.

‘Since I've Been Loving You’ is a classic blues standard given the Zep treatment, and it ends up being one of their greatest songs. Each member plays their part to unbridled perfection- Page’s playing is soothing, fiery, flawless, Plant’s vocals are rarely more powerful and evocative, while the bass and drums come blasting at the exact moments. Of an often underappreciated album, this is the song many fans point to to prove otherwise.

‘Out On The Tiles’ is a near-average rock song by Zep- one of the reasons why this album isn’t seen as highly as others. It is still driven by a powerful riff, the overall rhythm is funky, and we get a catchy, if cheesy chorus. Great work by Bonham and Jones here and I think it simply gets forgotten due to being seen as a lesser version of their more famous riff songs.

‘Gallows Pole’ is an unusual song in the band’s catalogue, but a great one nonetheless. A variation on the folk song this one starts softly and slowly and builds gradually throughout until we get a stomping beat and some entertaining mandolin and banjo playing. Zep give the lyrics a darker twist in that the hero still dies even after the executioner gets some loving and money.

‘Tangerine’ calms the album down and may be their most beloved acoustic song. Opening with a false-start, we get a stirring chord progression which Plant sings over with his most tender voice. The song is given extra depth by the different string types, from Pedal guitar to electric blast for the solo and the country feel doesn’t feel intrusive.

‘That's The Way’ continues the softer side of the record with the band’s most gentle song, one of innocence and friendship. Bonham does not drum here taking away 99% of the band’s force in one swoop, while Jones plays mandolin alongside Page’s acoustics. The song is extremely relaxed and the band would often sit together and sway whilst playing this one live. The lyrics show the band’s peaceful side and cover their feelings on the environment, violence, and Vietnam protests. For people who only know the loud Zep tracks, this is a good one to show them another side.

‘Bron Y Aur Stomp’ features Bonham on the Spoons and Page letting rip on some fantastic acoustic playing. The song feels like a hoedown, with the band all stomping their feet together and possibly slugging down litres of moonshine.

‘Hats Off To Harper’ closes the album in bizarre style with heavy experimenting on Plant’s vocals making him sound like Lulu in a washing machine, and on Page’s slide guitar. A tribute to singer Roy Harper, the song’s blues melody and anger are often beneath the strange effects and cause many people to skip the song entirely. It’s an entertaining song but not one I would listen to often.

Due to the sharp shift in styles from their first two albums, many critics felt that the band had already peaked and were slipping away. There are a number of good songs in here which are deemed as average due to their similarities to other bigger, better tracks from the band. Even these have their moments and none of them are bad in any way. We still have some standout moments, one of their greatest epics, and their best acoustic songs. It may be more folk than blues, but the band would infuse both styles more clearly more their next album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 January 2013
Released in 1970, Zeppelin's third album received a lukewarm reception from some hard rock fans after the explosive impact of the sensational debut and follow-up.

In retrospect we can now see 'Zep 3' as a more mature release, with the band stretching out to embrace styles other than R&B, hard rock and blues. The developing writing partnership between Page & Plant, and the way the four gel at every level, comes through strongly. The storming opener `Immigrant Song' moves through more mellow rhythmic rockers `Friends' and `Celebration Day' to a powerful slow-paced blues number & perennial live-performance favourite `Since I've been loving You', & back to rockblast with `Out on the Tiles'.

The latter part of the album (the second side of the original vinyl release) showcases a lot of acoustic numbers. The languid `Tangerine' with multi-tracked guitar work gives way to the sublime `That's the Way', Page's 12-string re-tuned to `open E' overlaid by tasteful slide guitar; and `Bron-y-Aur Stomp' forming the core of the band's acoustic interlude on stage through the 1970s. This side of Zeppelin really set them apart from other rock groups of the period by offering a more dynamically & stylistically varied musical palette.

There's nothing remotely formulaic about this music. Each song is distinctive & special, with an individual character so strong they still sound fresh after 40 years and have rarely (if ever) been covered by other performers.

The original gatefold vinyl album cover was a real work of art, glossy-white with dozens of small colour photo-images, some visible on a rotating wheel through holes cut in the sleeve - a 70s classic. You don't get this idiosyncratic feature on any of the CD releases.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
I only got into Led Zeppelin pretty recently, on the strength of Dazed and Confused, Whole Lotta Love, Immigrant Song and Stairway to Heaven.Of all six "great" Led Zep albums I can say without the slightest hesitation that Led Zeppelin III is the best; II comes close, but this is the best, with a perfect blend of hard(ish)rock (Immigrant Song), folky(ish) rock (Friends, Bron-Y-Aur Stomp)and pure blues (Since I've Been Loving You). It's hard to describe LZ unless you've already heard them, but suffice to say that if you like any other LZ material this is the best slice of LZ that money can buy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2006
Led Zeppelin III is unfortunately stuck in between classics II and IV and is often overlooked by fans because of this.

This in my opinion is actually my favourite Zeppelin album. There's not a single track on it that I dislike, and I can honestly say that it's one of the most well played albums I own.

This once again consists of the usual punchy guitar riffs, vastly underrated bass, steady rhythm and astonishing vocals that Led Zeppelin became famous for. Of course, this album is the home of the band's classic Immigrant Song, and what could be a better album opener than this track?! It doesn't happen. This song has to be one of the greatest album openers of all time. It's most definitely up there in my top 5! The other tracks are just pure beauty and talented craftsmanship. And that's what Led Zeppelin is; a finely tuned art.

The tracks that should definitely be checked out and played at their loudest are Immigrant Song, Since I've Been Loving You (seriously underrated!!!!), and Out On The Tiles. But what is fantastic about III is the great contrasts between these heaviers and more bluesy songs, to the quieter and folky tracks like Tangerine for example. This song shouldn't be overlooked because of how quiet it is; it's incredibly beautiful and is soft Zeppelin at it's best.

As I've already said, John Paul-Jones' bass on this album is mind blowing. He's an incredibly underrated bassist, and I'd just like to salute him for his work on this album. Wonderful.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)