Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
203
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£29.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2013
nostalgia again but this cd was a brief halt into oh-so pleasant pop music , a concept album indeed ,a bit hard to know what it was truly all about but better music for it, best known for "the carpet crawlers "
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
Dette er Genesis på sitt beste, men det kan ta litt tid å forstå dette albumet!

Denne remastringen har en mye bedre lyd, enn orginal CD,en!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Definitely one of the most adventurous of Genesis albums, the culmination of Peter Gabriel's creative climb before he quit to go solo? Certainly sounds a bit like it. Not an easy listen, but very satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2000
Sit down, get comfortable, and prepare to be awed. Almost certainly Genesis' most creative work. From silky ballads to tub-thumping bass lines....it's all here. Marvel at the originality (still to this day in many cases) of some of the material. A couple of tracks may be for stalwart fans only, (eg the marathon "Supper's Ready") but the sheer aggression and entertainment of "Back in NYC" and "Grand Parade" surely reward listeners of all tastes. If you only intend to buy one Genesis album, make it this one, not one of the bland later albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I have the vinyl which is a bit worn by now, so fantastic to get a chance to listen to it all again. What wonderful tracks and Peter Gabriel's voice is the thread that holds it all together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2016
It is great to be able to hear this excellent album. It is Peter Gabriel and Genesis at their best. Peter Gabriel is the driving force and ideas person and he never fails to please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Awesome music and lirics. Power and tenderness. Incredible vocals and instrumentals. Really great achievement from rock band. Stands comparison with classical and jazz mastepieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2005
I still remember the first time I heard 'Trespass'. It was pure magic. Still is. It also introduced me to Genesis. A few years later they were to record 'The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway'.
It blew me away 1974, now 30 years later it still blows me away.
I have it on both vinyl and CD. All this time it (TLLDoBW) has always been my most treasured music album ever. Anyone not giving this 5 stars... well...
To me, Genesis is the Genesis of Trespass, Selling England by the Pound, and The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway.
Unfortunately Genesis took a bit of a plunge when Gabriel left after this record. And so did Gabriel. But on the other hand, after TLLDoBW, there really can only be one way, down. Something I remember thinking even then.
I'm not a great Genesis fan. I was briefly. But I do like progressive rock, Yes, King Crimson, E,L&P, Rush etc. And this is IMO the very, very best of that genre I have ever heard. Every single track is 6 star (out of 5), and it all hangs together beautifully.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
These are not remasters of the original stereo mix. These are attempts at remixing these albums that are not faithful to the original release. Different vocal tracks are used, any panning effects that were present have been removed, the use of compression and limiting make for a very brittle and harsh presentation. I would find clean original vinyl rather than invest in the re-releases.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
The greatest album of all time great vocals awesome writing and composition of tracks great story even great album cover just the best group of all time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)