Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
110
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2016
A cracking album from the KIngs of Prog Rock. My original copy of this which I bought back in the early eighties was getting a bit tatty, so I splashed out & got this. Still a brilliant album, all the better for being on vinyl.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
Seminal Yes album! You are probably new to Yes if you are considering buying this, as any historical Yes fan will have owned the vinyl and cd for years, but just jump right in! Tenderness, despair, soaring highs, emotions, it's all here. Don't hesitate. You MUST own this album. Your life is not as it should be without it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Top Notch!! My favorite Yes Album!! My Yes Song!!
Awaken!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
An album I have on vinyl. Now it's great to have on cd for the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
This vinyl version is picture disc in transparent plastic sleeve only, even though the listed picture shows the cover.
I returned my copy as it was a really bad pressing with a loud persistent hiss.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Wow! This is an album that people tend to forget when it comes to Yes, which is a tragedy. In my opinion this is actually by far their best album, with fantastic songs from start to finish and brilliant arrangements and performance. Turn of the Century is one of the best songs ever written. In fact, Going for the One is one of the best albums ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Great picture disc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
This is the last of the truly classic Yes albums of the 70s. I've always considered this to be the third of their classic albums, the others being 'The Yes Album' and 'Close to the Edge' ('Fragile' in my opinion coming close but not quite making it, although it's still worth five stars). At the time this was a bit of a reinvention for Yes. I remember hearing the title track 'Going for the one' for the first time and getting quite a shock at Steve Howe's wild pedal steel guitar as well as the style of the music! I was also surprised by the apparent simplicity of 'Wondrous stories'. But this is what makes this such a great album. As a group Yes had got over the idea that their songs needed to be about 10-20 minutes long. So we find their ideas condensed on this album and not out-staying their welcome. 'Turn of-the century' comes in at just over seven minutes and is a beautifully balanced and structured song which plays out its ideas perfectly in that time. 'Parallels' thunders along for about five minutes and benefits hugely from Rick Wakeman's manic use of a church organ. The church organ pops up again to wonderful effect on 'Awaken' which proved that the group hadn't purged their appetite for an epic piece of music, but it also proved that they didn't feel they had to fill it out to 20 minutes as it clocks in at just over 15. All in all this is one of the groups most complete albums showing off their arranging skills to great effect with some really beautiful music. The album finds the group at the height of their powers, particularly the returning Rick Wakeman, who has very clearly found his creative streak and contributes greatly to the album. For instance just listen to his cascading Polymoog on 'Wondrous stories and his outrageous piece of honky-tonk piano in the middle of 'Going for the one' or the marvellous build-up layered effect of the church organ on 'Awaken' that acts as an introduction to / and then inter-play with Steve Howe's solo guitar before leading back into the song. That interplay, this time between his piano and Steve's guitar is present again in what must be one of the most underrated Yes songs, 'Turn of the century' in the most marvellous musical break that builds beautifully to a wonderful crescendo before leading back into the song. All in all a most satisfying album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse