Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
Come on Feel
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ £1.26 shipping

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 July 2014
After the success of 'It's A Shame About Ray' in 1992, Evan Dando's band followed it up with the following year with 'Come on Feel the Lemonheads', my hands down favourite Lemonheads album, and a CD that will complement any music collection.

With virtually every track worthy of being a big hit in it's own right, the album itself was a top 5 smash in the UK and certified Gold, as well as in the US and Australia. The most famous song, alongside a string of other classic singles, is 'Into Your Arms', which reached number one on Billboard's Modern Rock Tracks for nine weeks.

This is a beautiful crafted album, showcasing a variety of different tunes, from the upbeat, poppy 'Into Your Arms', to the soulful 'Big Gay Heart', there's even Belinda Carlisle on backing vocals on 'I'll Do It Anyway', a song written for her by Dando. Despite the varying styles, a great number of tracks do maintain a breezy light pop/country flavour, which is quite different to their early, grittier, more 'in-your-face' punk releases.

To me, this is the perfect album from one of the evergreen feel-good bands who have given us so much consistently good music. If you wish to introduce a friend to them, play he or she this one first.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
the audio cd was received, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
This is just another fantastic Lemonheads album, which demonstrates just how potent the combination of Evan Dando with an electric guitar can actually be.
This remains an excellent follow up to the equally lovely "It's A Shame About Ray", and for fans of bands like Jimmy Eats World's more poppy moments it's definitely a must. Particular highlights for me are songs "Dawn Can't Decide", the opening chords to "Great Big No", the woozy "Favourite T" and the ramshackle hidden track "Lenny" (I say leave the rough edges in!). I should really pick out a dud moment, just to balance things out a little...so I nominate the rather OTT "I'll Do It Anyway", which is probably a little too sugary for my tastes!
Of course, the rumour now is that Evan is shuffling away from the guitar pop songs that made his name and heading for a more alt-country vibe - and judging by the recent "Live At The Brattle" LP that proves to be true. As long as he doesn't appear in a straw hat and dungarees I don't care - just another great record would be nice!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
3.5 out of 5 for me. I played it for the first time since the 90s today. It's still good but a lot of it is tame now and a bit samey. Sorry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
I love this album - it takes me back to the early 90's when influx of noisy american college bands (I'm deliberately avoiding the G word) sounded really exciting and knocked spots of their pasty faced shoegazing british contemporaries...More melodic and quirky than "..Ray, with a definite country feel in a lot of songs, as well as some truly dandruff-scattering flip outs, its a complete and rewarding listen. Its years since I first bought it on tape - long since lost that - but it sounds just as fresh and its really well produced. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
This albums brilliant from the beginning to the end......... although Rick James Style is a bit skippable but isn't a bad alternative version and I won't include the jello fund.
Favourite T is a rather sad lemonheads song but a rather brilliant one and the rest is pretty happy.
Great cd: buy, borrow or steal if neccesary.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
this just might be what you are looking for. that is if you are looking for great pop songs from a great band, watertight harmonies, a voice straight out of classic american rock and roll college and a good time. dylan, mcguinn, parsons, etc would certainly approve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2003
There were three great grunge albums, this is one, but sounds far less dated than Nevermind and Ten do now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)