Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • 1991
  • Customer reviews



on 26 January 2008
as good as the original classic skynyrd lineup this album re-establishes the brand with some fine southern rock. This album hits the groove from the getgo and never lets up til the last note fades out. Totally unhip and untrendy for the critics, anyone who ever considered buying a big hat and growing a beard will love the sentiments expressed in every track on this all killer no filler classic. Buy it now and plug in your air guitar - bask in the sweet Florida sunshine blazing out of your speakers. Get a tan and smile.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
As someone who has all the albums from before the plane crash in 77 this is a little disappointing it's more hard rock than southern rock but still tolarable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2013
Not as great as the more recent stuff. I found the female backing vocals over used. If you love last of a dying breed then this will sound a bit limp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
v good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
Having reached the age of 71, this is the first LynSkyn Album I've bought, purely and simply because I love the track "Smokestack Lightening"...
Worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2010
I only recently started listening to previous incarnations of Skynyrd after seeing the current line up live in Glasgow. Decided to buy some of their previous albums and was not disappointed. Would also recommend their latest album God & Guns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
I bought this because I wore the last one out it came the next day through the post ,but I had it on my pc that evening with cloud .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2015
The Amazon database is screwed up. I ordered this, expecting 1991 by Skynyrd (as per the picture), but I got a Natalie Cole album called Unforgettable/ With Love (a tribute to her father Nat King Cole). It only cost a penny so I suppose I shouldn't complain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2006
This isn't what it says in the description, a compilation album, it is a new album by the Johnny Van Zandt led Skynyrd. This is the first album I bought with Johnny on lead vocals, I was a bit unsure what it would sound like. Would it have been better to have let Skynyrd end with the plane crash? The answer was no, this is classic Southern Rock with Johnny stepping into his brothers shoes remarkably well. The album kicks off at great pace with Smokestack Lightning and slowing only momentarily for Pure and Simple before picking up pace again and only slowing again for Mama (Afraid to Say Goodbye). The Album winds up with End Of The Road which is one of those tracks which leaves you wanting more. Fortunately this album wasn't the end of the road and Skynyrd have given us more. If you haven't listened to any of the latter day Skynyrd this is as good a place to start as any, if you have and you haven't got this one, try it you won't be disappointed. Having bought this I went on to buy Edge of Forever, Vicious Cycle and The Last Rebel. I also revisited the early stuff which has been sadly gathering dust, and rediscovered what a good band Skynyrd are/were and that there's so much more than Freebird.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2010
After the euphoria of the the tribute tour,it was always going to be difficult to follow it up in the studio,this was a decent attempt and was a welcome return.

Signed to Atlantic ,the rather surprising use of Tom Doyd as producer,after his less than inspired production on the 'Gimme Back My Bullets' album,alongside Atlantic's apparent lack of support,all contributed to this disc pretty much sneaking into the racks and being generally unknown/unheard.

In truth its an average disc, highlights such as the opening trio cancelled out by average tracks such as 'Good Thing','Money Man' & 'Its A Killer'

The rest,decent well played but ultimately uninspired, its no coincidence that very few of these tracks featured live and indeed are all but forgotten on current set lists.

essentially 3.5 stars,they would do better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

God & Guns
£9.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)