Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2010
This purchase was about old friends revisted. This is my all-time favourite Cure album - the memory of ambling around Paris for a whole day with this playing on my Walkman is still vivid - Paris about me and the celestial Plainsong careering through my head at top volume. Just like heaven, really. Haven't had it on CD before and the sound is excellent. The bonus material is just that, a bonus. Essential stuff
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
Expanding the latent arena-rock sensibilities that peppered Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me by slowing them down and stretching them to the breaking point, the Cure reached the peak of their popularity with the crawling, darkly seductive Disintegration. It's a hypnotic, mesmerizing record, comprised nearly entirely of epics like the soaring, icy "Pictures of You." The handful of pop songs, like the concise and utterly charming "Love Song," don't alleviate the doomy atmosphere. The Cure's gloomy soundscapes have rarely sounded so alluring, however, and the songs ¡X from the pulsating, ominous "Fascination Street" to the eerie, string-laced "Lullaby" ¡X have rarely been so well-constructed and memorable. It's fitting that Disintegration was their commercial breakthrough, since, in many ways, the album in the culmination of all the musical directions the Cure were pursuing over the course of the '80s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2008
In the late 70s/early 80s I had been into Joy Division et al in a big way and subsequently found The Cure to be a perfect augmentation to my playlist. Faith and Pornography were my faves; Kiss Me and Head were great LPs too but, when Disintegration came out I was knocked sideways!

There's no need to add anything to the many positive reviews already posted here, except to say this album is quite simply the best thing they have ever done.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2007
I have only become a fan of The Cure within the last year, and while many would feel that doesn't qualify me to tell you what a decent Cure album is I sincerely disagree. Disintegration was the first Cure album I purchased and each song only made me adore the band more. My favourites are Plainsong (a brilliantly atmospheric introduction into the album), Disintegration, Pictures of You, Lullaby and the utterly brillaint Fascination Street.

I wouldn't be able to offer a low point on the album as I am in such a debt to it for opening up the world of The Cure to me, where by I could move backward to the even more melancholy Faith or forward to the dizzying light hearted sound of Wish.

An incredible album for anyone, from first-time Cure fan to someone rediscovering the genius that is Disintegration.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
From the first wind-chimed seconds of Plainsong, a sense of intense beauty is established. By the time the first minute is up, Robert Smith and co. will have completely swallowed you up with exquisite organ and skeletal guitar lines. Quite how an album of such beauty could have been created from such devastatingly sad lyrics will always remain a mystery, but it is definitely to the listeners benefit. The best songs are the afore-mentioned opener, the mesmerising Closedown, and the desperate ode to lost love The Same Deep Water As You. Should you decide to buy this album it may well become a much relied on part of your life. It is an excellent record to listen to in winter, where the atmospherics on record generally suit the atmospherics outside your window. With superb artwork too, this is a near flawless album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2000
In May this year I worked out that I must now have listened to this album over 10,000 times since I first heard it in 1989. And yet the gently persistent windchimes that introduce this album still make my hair stand on end and as they crash into the wall of sound that is Plainsong, I feel the same thrill I did the first time around. Here at last was the piece of music I'd been waiting for! Plainsong manages to be both huge and overwhelming, whilst having the effect of that one person whispering in your ear while you sleep. This deeply personal and emotional album progresses through Pictures of You - the simplest of patterns but sooo effective, Love Song - a wedding present between bride and groom, and the relief and regret of Last Dance. Lighter moments such as Lullaby and Fascination Street lift the mood without breaking the atmosphere, before falling into the dreamlike Prayers for Rain and Same Deep Water as You.
This work demonstrates an intelligence and sincerity rarely found in most commercial releases, and the layered, almost orchestral sound holds your attention ceaselessly. A classical influence can be heard although The Cure's trademark and individual 'sound' is present throughout. The structures and patterns within the songs are never too little or too much, but sound completely natural and 'right'. I have found that the more I Iisten to this album the more things I hear, and if I could only listen to one CD for the rest of my life it would be this one!
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2000
Looking back at this album ten years on, it is in my opinion the Cure's finest moment. Never again did they scale the hights of beauty and sorrow so masterfully over the course of a whole album. Subsequent albums had their moments (eg. Trust on the Wish album), but none could match the sustained feeling of this masterpiece. From the opening crash of the incredibly breathtaking 'Plainsong' to the final funereal notes of 'Untitled', the only discordant note is the single 'Lullaby' which I tend to skip anyway. This is an album to be listened to right through, dim the lights, open a bottle of wine and succumb to some of the most beautiful melodies ever recorded by a 'pop' band. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
This was probably the last great cure albums. It is moody and dark but most of all it is honest. Smith was always best when he was vulnerable, honest and just a little cynical. Unfortunately, the Cure made so much money after this album that they forgot about honesty and cynicism.

Disintegration though is simply a must have album, full of cries of desperation and the real simplicity of love. Take my advice and buy this one, you won't regret it. Shame that the same can't be said of the Cure albums post Disintegration.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
Atmospheric and haunting, Disintegration is a masterpiece. Building around the listener's angst, loneliness, sense of loss and sorrow, it deepens in the imagination granting the quiet, devastating moments we all bear a beauty and poetry that real life never grants. Though the album is such a recklessly epic masterpiece it is never alienating; the songs draw you in and envelop you. Robert Smith never out-did this album, but then again, who can blame him?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2005
WOW What a masterpiece!!!!!!! A true dark late 80's feel. Everytime i put it on it puts me in Dark Ethereal state, all of the beautiful songs just completely flows thru. 2 capture its best listening glory iz 2 listen 2 this album on ur walkmen, walking the streets in freezing winter when the sky is all sorts of colours like blues and reds. Recommended for every dark wave fans out there!!!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)