Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 March 2016
The debut album by THE PAUL BUTTERFIELD BLUES BAND. It was released on vinyl lp in the late 1960,s and this cd was released in 1987. If your into FLEETWOOD MAC-FLEETWOOD MAC(PETER GREEN) OR CREAM-FRESH CREAM OR JOHN MAYALLS BLUESBREAKERS WITH ERIC CLAPTON(BEANO ALBUM) then this cd is for you. PAUL BUTTERFIELD was a blues harp player and singer who died of a drug overdose in his 40,s and who became famous in the late 1960,s blooze explosion in the UK and AMERICA. On this cd ELVIN BISHOP AND MIKE BLOOMFIELD play guitar, MIKE BLOOMFIELD later played for BOB DYLAN. I got this cd cheap so go get it. ALSO his later albums were less raw and for a harmonica plyer less of that aswell.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
This is one of a pair of essential records from the time that feature the Telecaster of Mike Bloomfield. The other is Dylan's "Highway 61 Revisited".
What can I say except "Crank up the volume and put on your dancing shoes".
The rhythm section is relentless.
I bought this CD to replace the original imported US stiff sleeved LP that I bought that summer in the Charing Cross Road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 September 2008
The Butterfield Band's debut album from 1965 was traditional Muddy Waters-style Chicago blues but played with real power and authenticity that was miles ahead of any British band. It's hard to imagine now the impact it made at the time but I remember my jaw literally dropping when I heard the tough, forceful sound of "Born in Chicago" for the first time. Butterfield's harp is very much to the fore in many of the tracks and he gets a great thick, dirty wedge of sound that again no British player could get anywhere near. It's very much an ensemble record, played in an uncompromising traditional style and featuring wonderful songs by Elmore James, Little Walter and Junior Parker.

Although Butterfield didn't mean a great deal in Britain, in the States he was Alexis Korner and John Mayall rolled into one and inspired many of the harp players that came after him - Magic Dick, Kim Wilson, James Harman etc etc.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
One of the finest Chicago style blues albums ever made and a magnificent debut from the BBB. Mike Bloomfield's guitar playing is stunning and he and Paul Butterfield complement each other so well. Pity he died so young. Dare I say it but I don't think that there can be any doubt that when on form Bloomfield was a far better player than Clapton; listen to "If You Love These Blues Play Them As You Please" to appreciate the diversity of his chops and knowledge of the genre. The BBB faded after he left to form Electric Flag. This record was released in '65 and was one of the first to cross the black / white divide and turn white America on to black Chicago blues. Buy it! You won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Essential to play this at full volume until the windows rattle from their frames. Its so good to hear down home urban blues played with such power and punch. First heard this nearly forty years ago and it still commands my full attention.Its classic masterpiece. Do I express my case strongly enough?
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
It's ok, don't really know why I bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
I first bought this on vinyl in 1965 based solely on the cover. It just captures the music hot, raw and powerful.Very few can achieve perfection in their music genre but the Butterfield Band does. A driving rhythm overlaid by Butterfield's soaring harmonica and Bloomfield's guitar. Electric Blues just does not get any better and they never repeated it in subsequent LPs. I was privileged to see them play live at the Marquee in 1967 and it was a great night. If you want 1960s electric Blues at its best, this is the CD for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Paul Butterfield Blues Band's 1st album on Elektra label 755960647 AAD mastered 1987 issue original recording 1965. I had this on the Elektra 2 disc set which also has the album East-West isuued around 2003.Been after the first two albums on separate disc's on the above issue for some years many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
After the original CD went missing in the Xmas post, the suppliers sent a replacement next day. The Chicago Blues band took me back to my student days when I bought the vinyl LP! The soundtracks are just as fresh as then- fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

East-West
£8.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)