Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
66
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2013
very good cd for us old hippys it provides easy listening when traveling a long journey also my wife likes it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Fans of Hotel California might be surprised at the country rock sounds on this earlier Eagles album. Bernie Leadon was still in the band and his bluegrass influence can be heard on a number of the songs, such as Twenty One, although there are also rock influences on Out of Control and Outlaw Man, and there's room for a very nice waltz too - Saturday Night - a recurring theme on Eagles albums with Take It To The Limit, Hollywood Waltz etc. Desperado dates from the era of concept albums, and the theme here is rock band as outlaws of the old West. As ever, the harmonies are superb, and don't forget the classic Desperado and Tequila Sunrise. Classic is an overused word but this is a classic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This was my introduction album to the Eagles and for me they didn't get any better, I remember playing this sat crossed legged on the floor, I tried doing that a couple of days ago & couldn't stand up afterwards - great recording to investigate!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
This is my favourite album of all time. It's mellow and has a story to it. A cowboy concept album? Yeah, THE one. The vocal harmonies are, as always, perfection, and the writing takes you on a great adventure. Makes my eyes tear up every time though. Glenn Frey said if the Eagles were around in the cowboy days they'd be outlaws, as most rock bands would be. I always was a sucker for an outlaw. 5 STAR perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Great CD. Had forgotten how good this vintage Eagles Cd was. good value for money and fast delivery
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
It has become fashionable among critics to dismiss this band , possibly because of their success . It hurts me to tell you that on this album you will find soulful singing , great songs ( I know , I know the concept of rock star as outlaw is stretching things a bit but disbelief has to be suspended on all rock albums ) , tremendous playing and harmonies which knock the competition sideways . Forget the critics and enjoy a classic .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
A classic from the Eagles - this is probably the 2nd best album - just behind Hotel California. Great production and imagery with various well known classics, but the other tracks are all good/brilliant. Alas, my CD - a very old and initial release has problems with the dynamics of the production - but its a great album. The photos help to enhance the imagery - the beards and "dirtyness" conjures up the life of the outlaws of the western era (maybe incorrectly - who knows?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Desperado is probably one of the finest, if not the finest piece of work the Eagles ever created.

I have loved this album since I first heard it and time has not changed that opinion. It crosses genres easily and has enough musical competance to satisify most listeners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Everyone knows the later albums, but until 'Hotel California' this was the best album... Not the west coast rock they adopted with the arrival of Don Felder, but the country rock they perfected here. Do your ears a favour, give this a listen...
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Used to listen to this a lot in the 1970s. Haven't heard a lot of these tracks since then so decided it was about time I got them on mp3. Stands the test of time great songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)