Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.43+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
Before hearing this album I didn't know quite what to expect, having heard only a couple of Hodgson's solo tracks. However, if like me you're a fan of Supertramp you'll probably find plenty to like about this album, especially the first track. Not surprisingly, it's similar to Supertramp, but slightly different, a bit more pop in places, and a bit deeper in others. Not spectacular, but a good, solid album. The first track alone justifies its purchase, and the others are pretty good - for my money there isn't really a duff track on the album. The only thing that I don't like about it is the bad mid-1980s production.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
As someone who followed the early Supertamp albums, this solo effort (which I first nicked off my brother) blew me away. There's a bit of something for everyone here; emminently listenable and quirky but always enjoyable. I've just ordered another S-tramp oldie (Breakfast.....) to maintain the CD replacements for my previous vinyl and tapes. In the eye of the storm is just another great addition to this genre of music.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Am I supposed to like an album whose opening sound is that of a screaming baby? Thankfully the screams don't last too long. Barely a couple of years after Supertramp's `break-up', Roger Hodgson released this, his first solo album. This is a review of the remastered version. There are no extras.

For me Hodgson was the better half of the key Supertramp duo. It was he and Rick Davies who wrote all the songs. But whereas Rick's would concentrate largely on the problems of his love-life and be written in usually in the first-person, Hodgson's songs were more objective, related to the wider world, and displayed more of a social conscience. Consequently this album is far better than the Rick Davies-led Supertramp that attempted to keep the group's light shining in the 1980s.

Hodgson, however, writes, arranges, plays, and produces virtually everything on this album, which is fine as far as it goes, but this also means there is no-one to rein him in when he indulges himself too far, such as the excessive repetitions in the song `Give Me Love, Give Me Life'. This is for me the worse track on the album. The best is the last, `Only Because Of You' with its grand sweeping gestures. It's a shame that Hodgson did not engage a real orchestra, such as often appeared effectively on Supertramp albums of the 70s.

Yet Hodgson does blatantly carry on the Supertramp-sound, including some of those used by Rick Davies. This is noticeable, for example, at the start of `Hooked on a Problem' with its stuttering keyboards and, later, appearance of woodwind. Strangely, the lyrics of this song hint at the band's break-up: "Hey don't you ever get lonely ... Facing the world on your own."

All in all, then, this is `Supertramp Continued' in its finest tradition. I like it; four stars.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
It's a shame that such talented artist like Hodgson is not prolific. After all, he realeased only three solo albuns, beginning with this IN THE EYE OF THE STORM of 1984. Nowadays, he makes his living playing live, with three shows formats: with band, with orchestra and acoustic.

His debut album is a very good album. Bear in mind that it has the weight of a sheet paper. It's even lighter than his last album in Supertramp (FAMOUS LAST WORDS). Also, one can understand people that can not stand Roger's ultra soft voice. It is a very beautiful voice, but it's not for every taste, I guess.

The high mark in this album, in my opinion, is the majestic fifth track, "Give Me Love, Give Me Life". It's about seven minutes plus of marvelous music and melody.

Anyway, the seven songs here flows smoothly, full of good taste, plenty of keyboards, few electric guitar, modest drumming. Musically, it will not blow your mind. But his songcraft ability is plain for all to see.

If you enjoy SUPERTRAMP, this album will not dissapoint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2005
It is clear that Rodger Hodgson set out to show that he could produce a Supertramp album on his own. For the most part he succeeds. This is a cracking album, immediately recognisable as classic Supertramp. Perhaps there is a slight hint that Rodger was trying too hard to sound like Supertramp whereby sometimes you feel the sound is almost a parody of the original group. Nevertheless, it is an album that will find its way onto your platter/tray/mp3 player, again and again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Rodger is Supertramp as far as i'm concerned and this could be the next supertramp album. sound quality is good and songs are strong no complaints here recommended purchase if you like Supertramp.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
I am a Supertramp fan. Some of their albums are desert island discs for me, Crime and Crisis in particular and that is why I bought this and Open the Door. Both are sub Supertramp albums which barely reach any heights. What is with the man? He won't rejoin the band but tries to be them!
Save your money unless you are undeniably curious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Been A Supertramp Fan For 45 Years. This Is A Fantastic Album And Roger Hodgson Is A Great Composer.Been A Musician My Self.I Can Really Appreciate What He Is At.Especially All The Very Simple But Effective Chords That He Plays.Ive Never Heard Any Other Band With All These Beautiful Melodies And He Keeps Them Coming All The Time.Every Album Roger Recorded Is Amazing.The Production Is Excellent On All Albums And Tracks.No Messing With Roger He Gives It All.Hope You Can Get To Ireland On Tour Soon You Have Lots Of Fans Here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
Roger Hodgson's first solo effort after Supertramp sounds just like a light version of a Supertramp album. Hodgson plays the majority of the instruments and has the usual distinctive vocals but although it sounds a bit like Supertramp the contributiions of the other band members are noticeably missing. As such, it's not as good as a full blown Supertramp album. That said, it is very good and if you like the group then you will like the solo effort.

4* because it's not quite as good as it could have been with the full group.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
If you followed them then you'll love this as you get much more of his unique vocal and keyboard skills
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)