Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 6 June 2017
Excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Some fine playing but the sound quality is average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
VeryNice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2004
I should know! My cassette copy from 1986 got worn out years ago and I bought 3 copies on CD from Amazon! Why 3? because my brother 'borrowed it' from me around 1990 and has been hunting for it in HMV and Virgin for years (Thanks Amazon!) His friend who wasnt even a rock fan got hooked on it as well hence the 3 copies. I ask how many live rock albums do that? Made in Japan? I doubt it! Ive listened to other Hatchet records but none is as fresh and exciting as this! It is minus two tracks from the original release which upset my brother a lot , but what the hell, its still an absolute gem.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
I remember buying the double vinyl set back in 1986,still one of the best live albums of all time...the-almost-original line up-the Classic line up-kicks some serious butt with some of their best songs-plus a couple of covers.production is top notch,band are all firing on all cylinders,sadly after this album the decline set in and they never recovered...buy this and play it LOUD.....two songs from the vinyl set-"Walk on the Side of the Angels" and "Walk with You" were omitted in the CD edition to fit all the music on a single compact disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 March 2010
In 1985 there were 3 outstanding live doubles issued,you'll have heard of,possibly own two of them LIVE AFTER DEATH(maiden)/WORLD WIDE LIVE(scorpions),this is the 3rd and is the least known,its arguably better than or at least the equal of the other two.
The cd features 13 tracks,6 of which were from the ist 2 albums Molly Hatchet(1978) & Flirtin With Disaster(1979),confirming what we all knew already,those 2 disc's have never been bettered.

Opening with a stunning one ,two of 'Whisky Man & Bounty Hunter' the band are on fire immediately before classic number one arrives in the shape of 'Gator Country',originally on the debut disc,here its ramped up and blows you away,Flirtin With Disaster keeps up the break neck pace.

Next up are the 2 better tracks from the apalling Deed Is Done Disc,namely 'Stone In Your Heart/Satisfied Man' before we head back to boogie land with a manic 'Bloody Reunion' before classic number two,the quite awesome 'Boogie No More' where Hlubeck & Rolands guitars spiral off into another planet,stunning!

The original album had 2 unreleased tracks at this point,which are bizarely left off,only a dumb record exec would disregard the 2 tracks unique to the album!!,the tracks in question,'walk with you and walk with the angels' were pretty good,they remain unreleased on CD.

Classic tracks 3 and 4 are up next and 2 stunning cover versions,Skynyrds Freebird and The Allman Brothers' Dreams,two iconic tracks from the southern genre and both executed beatifully,the latter staying fairly close to the studio version whilst the former highlight Galvins prowess on the keyboards(when he keeps it simple its classic).
The album charges to the finish line with 'Edge Of Sundown & Fall Of The Peacemakers' which to my mind gives classic tracks 5 and 6,Edge.. being a faithful reproduction of Danny Joe Browns solo version while a slightly shortened version of..'Peacemaker highlights yet again how tight the band were live.By the time 'Beaten The Odds' finishes you will be exhausted,happy but exhausted.

This is a superb live disc and is ripe for a deluxe remastered edition reinstating the tracks left off and adding a few bonus live cuts,we know you have them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
Possibly the most under rated live recording of all time. At the time of the live recording (1984) Hatchet had honed their live sound to an almost telepathic ability, the guitar interplay between Dave Hlubek and Duane Roland (especially on the epic 'Fall of the Peacemakers') is epic beyond belief and 'Edge of Sundown' from lead singer Danny Joe Brown's solo album is given a savage shot of adrenalin.

I was lucky enough to meet keyboard player John Galvin at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2006 and he felt the production wasn't all that good (!), I think the great man is being modest, it's a stunning sound.

It's a pity that two original numbers 'Walk with you' and 'Walk on the Side of the Angels' were cut to fit this on a single CD. This minor niggle is akin to parting the waters of the Red Sea and stating "it's a bit muddy", but it should be mentioned - Prehaps this is a golden opportunity for a review & expansion of this classic?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Have over the years collected many of Molly Hatchet's CD and Albums.

This CD is fantastic and gets better and better with each play.

Free Bird is equally as good as the original Lynyrd Skynyrd version. I personally find each track compliments the one previous to it. A well orchestrated CD played by brilliant musicians.

The reaction from the audience is great and the presence of the artist's can be felt though out this CD.

Molly Hatchet at their best.Southern Rock Rolls.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Brilliant live album with loads of Hatchet classics. Standouts are Boogie no more, Flirtin' with disaster and Freebird. Personally I prefer Hatchet's Freebird to Skynyrd's - it has bigger balls/more oomph... take your pick. So shoot me!
Double Trouble Live
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
Once it finally arrived, an excellent album.
Does what it says on the box, long haired southern rock just begging you to turn up the volume. as a bonus a pretty good version of Freebird in amongst the boogies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here