Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

17 million Americans and gazillions more worldwide devoured the August 1976 debut of the "More Than A Feeling" LP. "Boston" by BOSTON on Epic JE 34188 was a monster that had Rock legs stretching over a year and more (it was released December 1976 in the UK on Epic S EPC 81611 and proved just as popular). The pressure to deliver spaceship-guitar juggernaut No. 2 was immense and Boston took two years before they popped out "Don't Look Back" in August 1978. Despite mixed reviews and some very vocal fan disappointment - initially it garnished humungous sales eventually amassing over seven million units sold – the kind of chart statistics most other groups would nobble dear old Granny Mae for.

But its transition to CD has been strange and piecemeal. With a staggering four million-plus album sales in the first month alone – Boston's second platter was always going to be a contender for 'first release' on the new fangled format. But the early 80s issues were released haphazard, withdrawn, never properly annotated etc and an overly expensive Mastersound Gold CD has been deleted years - leaving a decades-long big fat remastering audio hole in a very big catalogue title.

Well here comes the inevitable definitive CD Remaster - done in 2006 by Band founder member and Lead guitarist Tom Scholz. And like its illustrious self-titled predecessor (also released 2006) – "Don’t Look Back" lacks any musical extras but is not surprisingly a sonic doozy of amazing density. Here are the feelin’ satisfied details...

UK released 10 July 2006 – "Don’t Look Back" by BOSTON on Epic/Legacy 82876822412 (Barcode 828768224120) comes in card digipak packaging with a newly updated 12-page booklet. It's peddled as a 'Collector's Limited Edition' but it's widely available for sale and at a pittance of a price too (37:44 minutes). It was then reissued March 2008 on Epic/Legacy 88697184012 (Barcode 886971840124) in a standard jewel case with the same 2006 Remaster, same expanded booklet and photo of the spaceship beneath the see-through CD tray.

The updated liner notes by uber-fan DAVID WILD feature new interviews with band leader and producer TOM SCHOLZ that elaborate on the anxious wait by the public and record label for the album – the hours in his homemade studio basement – the pile-em-high guitar layers – the press' muted response – perfectionist Scholz's own ambivalence to the record (he felt it was rushed and too short) and so on. There are various colour period photos of the boys on stage – in the studio – Scholz at a huge church organ and the usual reissue credits. Scholz has returned to the tapes with BILL RYAN and TOBY MOUNTAIN and done an exhaustive and painstaking remaster - the results are HUGE with a capitol 'H'. It's a fantastic listen...

1. Don't Look Back [Side 1]
2. The Journey
3. It’s Easy
4. A Man I'll Never Be
5. Feelin' Satisfied [Side 2]
6. Party
7. Used To Bad News
8. Don't Be Afraid
Tracks 1 to 8 are their second studio album "Don’t Look Back" – released August 1978 in the USA on Epic FE 35050 and August 1978 in the UK on Epic S EPC 86057. Produced by TOM SCHOLZ – it peaked at No. 1 in the USA and No. 9 in the UK.

BOSTON was:
BRAD DELPH – Lead and Harmony Vocals on all songs
TOM SCHOLZ – Lead and Rhythm Guitars and Organ (on all songs)
BARRY GOUDREAU – Lead and Rhythm Guitars
FRAN SHEEHAN - Bass
SIB HASHIAN - Drums on all (except "The Journey" where all instruments are Tom Scholz)

Rumour has it that "Arrival" was to be the album's name but on hearing ABBA had an album of the same name - the opening track "Don't Look Back" was chosen as the moniker. That signature guitar sound of theirs kicks in with a wallop. To give you an idea of the complexity we're dealing with here - Brad Goudreau handled the 'virtuoso intro, ending leads and slide' while Tom Scholz did the Chorus and Middle Leads. The interlude instrumental "The Journey" features TS on all instruments and was an obvious ape of the very popular "Foreplay" instrumental that leads into the rocking "Long Time" on the debut LP. Here it segues into another chipper rocker "it's Easy" - again with the huge guitars. I'm never a man for big hairy-rocker ballads - but this time around the near seven-minutes of "A Man I'll Never Be" is far more impressive than I remember it.

But its Side 2 that offers more of what I want. The opening one-two sucker punch of "Feelin' Satisfied" and especially the fantastic little boogie number "Party" are up there with the best of the first album - let's get together honey - it's alright indeed. Brad Delph contributed the musically upbeat "Used To Bad News" that Scholz turns into a Boston song with clever organ melody lines. It ends on the huge rocker "Don't Be Afraid" where layers of guitars and vocals assault your ears in a song that's actually just a little too busy.

Always seen as a poor man's cousin to the spectacular "Boston" debut of 1976 - re-listening to "Don’t Look Back" in 2017 – it's easy to hear why this kind of Rock caught the attention and hearts of millions even if it was perceived at the time as being a bit of a let down. But I'd argue that "Don't Look Back" is way better than that and this superb remaster finally does that second-time around feeling more than proud. As the singer says - take a chance on Rock 'n' Roll...
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
they made 2 good albums, this one and the first one. it was all downhill after that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Don't Look Back was always going to have a problem trying to live up to Boston's debut album, as that was just so good. However, although perhaps overall not as good as the first one, it does contain I think two of their best songs, A Man I'll Never Be and the title number Don't Look Back. Both are full of great guitar work which coupled with the ever impressive vocals of Brad Delp create I think two of the best Classic Rock tracks of all time.

Boston's later albums I feel never quite matched the quality of the first two, that said, what makes Boston stand out from the crowd is their unique guitar sound and vocals, and it is this trademark which makes their songs immediately recognisable. The passing of Brad Delp was such a loss to the rock world, a truly great singer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 November 2010
This second Boston release is not my favourite one overall, but still deserving of 5 stars. This excellent rock album was superbly mixed and produced by that technological wizard, Guitarist Tom Scholz.

My own favourite tracks on the album are "Used To Bad News" and "A Man I'll Never Be", if I could encapsulate a few seconds on this album as a high point for me personally, it would be the intro on this beautiful song, it always sends shivers down my spine, what an incredibly beautiful, glass-shattering voice Brad Delp had, I was really upset when I heard the news of his death, a great loss, not just for rock but for music in general, you are sadly missed Sir.

This music is from a band who truly care about the quality of the music they produce, buy this and enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
Boston were one of those bands in the 70's and 80's who were arguably too good for their time. I rank them alongside the great ELO which is saying something.
The tracks are trademark guitar genius Tom Scholtz providing a legacy for their late singer Brad Delp who had one of the 'sweetest' rock voices I've had the pleasure to hear, and what a range.
I was fortunate enough to see this band at Bingley Hall, Stafford, UK back in the 70's and they sounded as good on stage as the album.
If you like this you'll like their albums entitled simply 'Boston' and 'The Third Stage' which is a bit deeper and took years to complete. It had to be perfect for Tom. Most of the tracks hinge around two guitars in harmony and Brad's lyrics give them meaning.
I think I'm right in saying that Scholtz remastered the albums himself - and he's a perfectionist.
Sounds great to me!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2001
An album of just under 34 minutes it may be, but every second is graced with melodic rock perfection. Originally released in 1978, Don't Look Back stands out today in the hall of classic rock albums. The title track kicks off procedures and immediately lets you know what you are about to receive: the ultimate in harmonious vocals supplied by Brad Delp combined with Boston's brainchild Tom Scholz leading the way with superb guitar work. The sleeve note proudly boasts that no synthesizers or computers were used in making the album. What we do have is musicianship of the highest quality. A faultless performance.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
Follow up Album to their stunning first release. This in many ways is better than expected. Every song is a gem, especialy "Used to Bad News". Although this is Seventies Music, I think all their Material stands the test of time. Highly recommended
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Revisiting this album, wow, is as good as the 1st listening. The kind of album that no matter how many times you listen, you hear something new.

Following on from their eponymous monster opus 'Boston' (which is big, blazing guitars which mellows into the more mature sound of this album) this is another rock classic (Think of a mix between Muse, Fleetwood Mac, ELO, The Who (think 'Tommy'), Bad Company, AC/DC (with Bon Scott, of-course!), Chili Peppers .... I could go on, but you get the idea?) that needs to be listened to in full from start to finish just to appreciate what an amazing recording this is. Tom Sholtz was so way ahead of time here in the 70's, but a real pioneer rock-tech geek (think pedals, layering guitars, synth technology & you have some idea of Tom's perfectionist shadow). Brad Delp's strong but melodic voice is just an amazing compliment to such a big layered sound experience (and, yes, I guarantee it that you will sing along!).

If you love pure rock, with big shiny roaring guitars and melodic synths - then this is for you. This will blow you away - put it on, turn it up & get your Tom Sholtz custom made silver glitter converse baseball boots on. It's time to rock boys & girls. Very much a rock opus - hard & soul. Buy it and you won't regret it (and if you buy 'Boston' at the same time, this is a great follow on). Total feel-good rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
Just the right side of easy listening to make this a worthwhile 70's rock album. I was never a fan in the 70's but like most people, enjoyed their chart hit More Than A Feeling, from their first album. As I'm getting older, I'm enjoying going back to dig up these old treasures and this second album is not a disappointment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2009
As Tom Scholz admits in the sleeve notes, this album is a tad short. He explains, however, that the record company took it off him before he was ready to release it. Perhaps they weren't prepared to wait six more months for another five minutes to add to the thirty three already completed. It complements Boston's debut perfectly, being cut from the same cloth, but the material isn't quite as impressive. There are three exceptions: the title track, which perpetually kickstarts itself, 'A Man I'll Never Be', a stupendous ballad which steps up the power on the climactic guitar line, and Bradley Delp's 'Used To Bad News'. Despite this, it rocks a little more than the debut and can be regarded as the band's second classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)