Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.74+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2017
Pleased with this. Good service too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2002
OK, so you can dance without moving your arms. But there is something about this sort of continuous yet subtly changing music. The Storm is a series of very different tunes, the title track being a mixture of rock and pipes, building to a crescendo. The fact that the Uilleann pipes, as played by Davy Spillane, can be played, like a guitar, without stopping to breathe, means that they can drive a whole number from beginning to end. This short CD is a combination of traditional with rock overlays and quiet, meaningful tunes with whistles. Anyone who likes traditional Irish music will like the plaintive pipes, anyone into a more rockier style will like the guitar work interplaying with the more traditional pipes and whistles. All too short at just 38 minutes.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2006
What follows here are a number of non-lyrical pieces of music that defy classification. It's not traditional in the normal sense because of its modern feel yet the instruments of traditional music are used. The album tone is extremely affecting, possessing an "influence" of a poem. I would recommend listening to the album while driving as it has a very calming affect. The first track is "the lark", a roving celebration, I suppose, to that tuneful bird. 12 minutes plus, I might add. Then the mood changes to the moody yet delicious piece called "the Titanic", a tribute perhaps, to the mighty liner. This tune is especially spiced up with wonderfully slow additions of instruments a la tubular bells. "The Storm", the title track continues in a similar vein, evoking a feel of huge waves, salt water spray and ever darkening clouds. "Finore" and "Tribute" are slower than the previous offerings with magical offerings, particularly from the wonderful Uillean pipes. "May Morning Dew" a very short piece evokes a mood of awakening and helps the album finish gently.

This album has reached "classic" status in Ireland with arguably the cream of instrumentalists working together.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2002
a beuatifully crafted selection made, even better by irelands finest musicians. wonderful woodwind and bodrahn with synths. the track "tribute to pedar o'donnel" must be one of the finest solo uillean pipe peices recorded
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Moving hearts - The Storm takes me back 15 years to when I first heard it on tape sitting having dinner with friends. It was captivating and I re-discovered it recently when I stumbled over a YouTube video of Moving Hearts playing Finore from the album with Christy Moore playing his haunting low whistle. Magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2008
This album (from 1985) is a masterpiece, one of a kind (but see note below), not categorisable. You must listen to it. A line-up of Ireland's best musicians from all genres play music which is like nothing else. This is a great album to buy, especially as in 2007 they started to do live gigs again. And the CD of that is just as good. Get them both and you'll just enjoy them both with no wish to compare. I had the musical event of a lifetime when I saw them live in Limerick. I'm still pinching myself!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2002
OK, so you can dance without moving your arms. But there is something about this sort of continuous yet subtly changing music. The Storm is a series of very different tunes, the title track being a mixture of rock and pipes, building to a crescendo. The fact that the Uilleann pipes, as played by Davy Spillane, can be played, like a guitar, without stopping to breathe, means that they can drive a whole number from beginning to end. This short CD is a combination of traditional with rock overlays and quiet, meaningful tunes with whistles. Anyone who likes traditional Irish music will like the plaintive pipes, anyone into a more rockier style will like the guitar work interplaying with the more traditional pipes and whistles. All too short at just 38 minutes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
I bought this originally on Vinyl when it first came out, it is an excellent and really chilled out album, i am delighted to have it on CD, It blends trad Irish with Rock and is sublime musically, overall i am more than Happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Really like it but love the Lament on uileann pipes .What a band and what snazzy sax playing by Keith Donald
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Third time I've owned this great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.88

Need customer service? Click here