Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 2 July 2015
Pleasant enough but surely the 'authentic instrument' brigade have consigned this type of performance obsolete? The style is heavy and unwieldy tempi are lumpy.The actual playing isnot in question but again the whole thing is almost Bruknerian in excecution,and only fit for the car!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
FAB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
as described on time delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
It's my favourite instrument of all - and this heavenly CD is played as I work over and over again. Downlaosded it and sent it to my grandson who plays guitar superbly. Now he is being converted to the divine sounds of the lute with this exalted CD!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 October 2012
Vivaldi is generally one of the sunniest of composers, and a soft Mediterranean light certainly filters through these five works.
This lovely disc is worth its price alone for the first of the two lute concertos - here played by the great Narciso Yepes on guitar - which has a central five-minute Largo movement that is about as meditative as Vivaldi ever gets, and all the more impressive for that. Yepes and the Orchestre de Chambre play with all the gravitas at their disposal. The result is captivating. Indeed, the musicianship displayed on all the works here is pretty much flawless.
On the second of the concerti on the disc, we hear Monique Frasca-Colombier on Viola d`amore alongside Yepes. This work too has a beguiling Largo, this time a lighter, more languid one. The combination of guitar, viola and the chamber orchestra is disarmingly delightful. A lovely work.
Takashi and Silvia Ochi are the two players on the concerto for mandolin and concerto for two mandolins, both of which are utterly charming, the instrument happily suiting the composer and this musical form.
A final concerto for 2 flutes, 2 bassoons, 2 violins, 2 guitars, `cello, strings and harpsichord ends this recital - Vivaldi must have been feeling particularly expansive that day. It`s a marvellous piece.
I highly recommend these five concerti by the irrepressible Venetian, and this rather wonderful disc - despite (in my copy, anyway) a complete lack of any notes other than track listings and artists` names. Any chance to hear Yepes in his prime is worth seizing, and he plays like a dream.
Enchanting music.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Another cd of vivaldi music ! And another cd you can unwind to , will have you relaxed in a few minutes !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
such an exquisite collection of perfectly crafted pieces by Vivaldi - so good to know that there is more to Antonio than the Four Seasons!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I am truly surprised by the other reviews. It is not the performers' fault. They are great. It is the recording. I had forgotten that it was originally recorded in 1972. It sounds both boomy and boxy. I can't work out what on earth the digital remastering has done. I don't expect recordings like this from Deutshe Gramophon. I can't give this away as a present at Christmas time. I would not want a charity shop to be saddled with it. I think it will turn into a raffle prize and I pity whoever wins it. There are next to no sleeve notes. I am not tempted to try the'Resonance' label again in case this is representative. I love back catalogue but not this.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
If you like the more popular Vivaldi works you will love this collection.
Nice recordings on a great label,by accomplished artists at a budget price.
Settle down in a quiet place,and appreciate the virtuosity of Yepes,Ochi,and Frasce-Colombier.
I particularly enjoyed the wonderful Mandolin pieces by Takashi Ochi.
I have had this CD for several years and play it frequently,as it is always fresh,and uplifting.
A bargain at this price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)