Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Beethoven: Violin Concerto
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 April 2017
The slow tempi in the first movement has made lots of headlines in this version, but I take the view it is good to have diversity in performance and this is certainly an interesting alternative to many more traditional recordings, even if the ultra 'Romantic' first movement will be too indulgent for some. Whilst my Perlman/Barenboim version is still number one for me it is still good to hear different ways of performing this magnificent work.

I was lucky enough recently to see Anne-Sophie Mutter perform live (with the LPO) and, some 35 years later she again presented a slow first movement culminating in a cadenza played as almost a fantasy. It was fascinating, brought a fresh focus on this, perhaps Beethoven's crowning achievement, and brought the audience to it's feet.

The recording quality is good and the balance is a natural one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Exquisite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
This is my favourite piece of classical music. However, I am a bit disappointed at the price and to those who know this concerto it is only 45 minutes ! I do feel it could have been combined with another similar piece.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
We’re children of lesser gods and food for worms at that but an hour or so under the stars with THE Violin Concerto for company is one of the great experiences in life. As the Pleiades shine forth and Beethoven unleashes melodies with a longer span than Andromeda, all things converge into a singularity of vision and purpose. What is one to make of this intimation of higher orders? That something more personable than dark matter binds the cosmos together? That however minor, one is a necessary being in the scheme of things? As Sirius winks away, connectivity is all.

Some might argue that ASM was more fully herself in her later recording of Opus 61 with Masur but geez, the prodigy doesn’t do a lot wrong here in this September 1979 outing with Herbie and the Berliners in one of their last analogue jobs. She displays far more personality than Christian Ferras from 1967. It might be on the slow side but the sheer concentration on offer is irresistible. As always, the Klang of the Berlin Philharmonic is a wonder of the world. Touched by distinction and the love that created the stars, this endeavour offers escape-velocity from the passing spectacle of material things – your hoary old self included. Rejoice in cosmic radiance!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
A great album and quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Very good service, perfect quality of CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Great recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This Anne Sophie Mutter's rendition of Beethoven's violin concerto is probably the best I've heard so far. A truly breathtaking performance. Can't get better than this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
I am a Von Karajan fan anyway and this CD doesn't dissapoint . Anne Sophie Mutter plays beautifully . I still think the Menhuin and Futwangler version which I have on vinyl is the best though . However this is very good and is a must to have .
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
What is space in music? Bruckner's symphonies conjure up images of majestic mountain ranges. Schubert's Ninth can easily be associated with the cultivated Austrian landscape. But here I am referring to the feeling of space in the essential non-specific sense in a piece of music.
I believe the first movement of Beethoven's Violin Concerto has this abstract sense of space written into it. Perhaps it is the leisurely way the harmony moves, or the pulse, or the instrumentation, or just a question of tempo. 'Allegro ma non troppo' is an unexceptional tempo marking, and most performers (Schneiderhan/Jochum, Grumiaux/Davis ... ) play this work as a classical concerto, that is, at a faster tempo. Then I encountered first Karajan/Ferras and later Karajan/Mutter, and miraculously I hear infinite space in the first movement. True, Karajan's tempo is slower than the average, but not by much (Certainly not like Richter's treatment of Schubert's Moderatos) So tempo alone may not be a sufficient condition in bringing out this powerful feeling of space. I shall just call it an occult art then.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Beethoven: Violin Concerto
£10.23
Beethoven: Violin Concerto
£19.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)