Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2001
This album is a simple proposition. One song away from perfection as a Ygwnie Collection, i.e my own personal favourite, Rising Force. However, don't let this put you off, as the tracks included are all there on merit, from the roaring refrain of Deja Vu to the sweet sentiments of Queen in Love. How Ygwnie Malmsteen is not more widely regarded is a mystery to me, as anyone who can extract pure emotion from an instrument in the way this man can deserves nothing but worldwide recognition for his genius. Interestingly included here is a cover of the Hendrix classic, Spanish Castle Magic, where Ygwnie lives up to the true test of any axe-maniac, matching Hendrix riff for riff. In fact, I would argue that in many ways what any guitarist lacks emotionally in comparison to Hendrix, Ywgnie makes up for in sheer technical genius, perhaps inspired by his religious study of classic music, which indeed, filters through onto many of the tracks on this album. In short, as an introduction to the guitar genius that is this man, or as a continuation of the obsession, this album works brilliantly.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
an outstanding album by one of the fastest guitarist ive ever heard i had never heard of him before and bought this album hoping it would be good it has excelled my expectations i certainly will purchase other albums by this artist fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
Why Yngwie Malmsteen is not as big as other similar guitarists such as Steve Vai and Joe Satriani still amazes me! This compilation just shows what an extremely original guitarist he is. It has a good mix between instrumental and 'normal' songs that feature vocalists Joe Lynne Turner and Jeff Scott Soto to name a few. Fans of late Rainbow, Deep Purple and Dio will love this music along with so called 'metalheads'. Overall a well deserved 5 star album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2008
Yngwie's concert at Poole Arts Centre probably 16 years ago now was the first I'd taken my then 'budding guitarist' son to see. Without doubt, Malmsteen is the best showman rock has ever had since Jimi Hendrix, and this is a fine selection of his works, but there is really nothing better than seeing the man live in concert; it is where he excels, it is where he shines; so where is he now? Perhaps he became tired of having to throw the guitar around his back and catch it again and carry on playing, or throwing his guitar for the roadie to catch, or wearing the Hendrix-style military jacket, or smashing guitars up, or whatever? Perhaps he just became tired of the treadmill rock 'n' roll becomes?
It was only his classical music background which stopped him being Jimi Hendrix Mark II or a tribute act for the man, but this album shows exactly why Malmsteen needs to be out there treading the boards and not tucked away wherever he's tucked himself for the past decade - or am I out of touch with his itinerary these days? But it seems the UK audience has forgotten him, and a tour here would certainly make a few latter-day local guitar heroes sit up and take note, because let's face it, even taking the showmanship away, Yngwie Malmsteen is up there with the greatest guitarists of all time; but now there's a generation who don't have a clue who he is? This album would wise them up, and some high-profile advertising and that tour would put a spark back into our somewhat jaded rock scene.
The 14 tracks here would help get Malmsteen's name back upon the lips and voices of a rock scene which appears to have forgotten him. For me, his tracks with Joe Lynn Turner, like 'Deja Vu' and 'Hold On' are the best Malmsteen era, as Turner's voice, charisma and presence suited the line-up perfectly. Unfortunately, Turner had moved on by the time the Arts Center show came along, and it seemed he took the magic with him. If Yngwie just played rock instead of those arty-farty classical guitar concerto things, I feel sure he would be back up there where he belongs. Meanwhile, this 'collection' is quite a treat to hear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
How can you really give a clear picture of Malmsteem just from one CD? Still, this will certainly give you an overall feel of the globally acclaimed 'Paganini' of guitar! He's the one and only! Give it a listen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
I got this a couple of days ago and loved every song on it. Malmsteen is now one of my favourite guitar players ever along with Axel Rudi Pell. The first two tracks are instrumentals: Black Star and Far Beyond The Sun are from his first album Rising Force. The next track I'll See The Light Tonight is a vocal track from Marching Out which has Jeff Scott Soto on it and is by far away one of Yngwie's best ever vocalists. The next 3 tracks You Don't Remember, Liar and Queen In Love are from Trilogy with Mark Boals on vocals who I knew from the Genius Rock Opera. The next 3 after that Hold On, Heaven Tonight and Deja Vu are from Odyssey with Joe Lynn Turner on vocals. The next two Guitar Solo and Spanish Castle Magic are from the Live In Leningrad album with Joe Lynn Turner on the second track. The last three Judas, Making Love Extended Guitar Solo and Eclipse are from Eclipse with Goran Edman on vocals who I knew from the Talisman (Jeff Scott Soto's band) demos on the 2003 reissue of their self titled.

If you want to know what kind of style Malmsteen uses on each album, get this as your first album from the Swedish neo-classical metal master. You will not be dissapointed.

Personal picks:
I'll See The Light
You Don't Remember
Liar
Queen In Love
Heaven Tonight
Deja Vu
Guitar Solo
Making Love [Extended Guitar Solo]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2006
This album starts off with the epic Black Star, a truly beutiful instrumental, i assumed (And hoped) this was going to be an all instrumental album like the first 2 tracks.
But...The singing on other tracks really dates the album, and makes it harder to enjoy the guitar work.
The cd is worth the price for the first 2 tracks alone, but be prepared for some cheesy as hell singing on later tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
The King of legato. Far beyond the sun / Blackstar mesmerising guitar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Excellent CD play all the time while driving
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Very pleased with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.40
£7.17
£7.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)