Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
Peggy Suicide
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 November 2017
What can I say? It's Copey, offbeat? Sure. Weird? Of course but always an English original
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
but wait on out of the room
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
Make sure you buy the 1991 original version of this wonderful album. A masterpiece does not need to be remastered. Julian Cope's first release ' World shut your Mouth' was pop heaven. This one is more than pop , It is a musical experience . Julian Cope is not scared to release sub-standard albums. Be assured that this one makes up for every wrong move he has ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2009
After the massive disappointment of the 2006 Jehovah Kill remastering (a sonic disaster)you might have thought that island might have ensured they got this one right? Right? WRONG! UNBELIEVABLY SO VERY WRONG!
On first listening to disc one at least, the remastering seems to have avoided the distortion problems of the Jehovah Kill remastering which made the latter probably the worst remaster i had ever heard. Sonically, the Peggy Suicide reissue is ok:certainly brighter and crisper than the original, a tad more detail retrieval, but losing some natural warmth and depth compared to the original; a common trait in remastered discs. I guess this is just a matter of personal taste.

So my main problem with the new deluxe edition? The track inclusions, or rather the lack of...Where is 'uptight', the track which was on the original vinyl release of the album, but missing on the original cd due to time limitations of the cd format. All pre-release track listings for Peggy Suicide deluxe edition have included 'uptight' as track 15 on disc one. Never having owned the vinyl copy of this album i was so happy to be finally getting my hands on this long lost Cope track. So imagine my frustration and sense of betrayal when i arrived home from work today to find my amazon delivery waiting for me...only to look at the track listing and find...you guessed it, no 'uptight'!!! AAAARRGHHH!!!! What is the problem with these idiots at island records? Are they so incompetent that they are prepared to misinform all musical retailers/publicists of an incorrect track listing? There are even discrepencies on the track listing for disc two: my cd has eleven tracks on it, amazon listed 13, hmv 15!!! What is going on?!!! Its an utter joke, and truelly unprofessional and shoddy in the extreme. On further inspection, checking out the amazon downloads, there is indeed no 'uptight' available to download and only eleven tracks as per my 2nd disc to download. But why the discepencies? I feel like a victim of false advertising! But more importantly, why has island wasted the obvious oppurtunity to finally put out on cd the complete Peggy Suicide album, ie, inclusive of 'Uptight'? If a deluxe edition is incapable of putting such a historical anomaly to rights, then really, what the hell is the point in the whole process anyway?

To say i am cheesed off with this is an understatement. My review still has to concede 3 stars simply on the strength of the music, as this is one of my favourite albums of all time, but really, what a total anticlimax! Shame on you, yet again, island records.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2015
The 90s are a strange one for me in retrospect. At the time it seemed a lot of exciting stuff was going on in the UK but much of it now (especially the "Britpop/rock" stuff with the exception of Blur and Pulp) sounds safe, uninspired and lacking in any sort of ambition.

In my opinion, this and its' follow up, Jehovahkill, tower over pretty much anything else made during this era in terms of depth, scope and variety. It also doesn't sound dated at all, unlike much of the output from that time. Cope had put together an amazing group of musicians who were clearly at one with where he was coming from and what he was aiming for. It's all there from the frenetic rawness of "Hanging out and Hung up", the weirdness of "hung up and hanging out", the spooky balladry of "Las Vegas Basement" to the epic space rock of "safesurfer". Oh and when he feels like it he can still turn out perfect pop in the form of "beautiful love". My personal favourite is "Not Raving but Drowning" with its' hypnotic groove but ask me tomorrow and you'll get a different answer.

In terms of the remastered sound, I'm no audiophile, so I can detect little difference from the original. The music, however, remains great and as essential as ever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2009
I have to agree with Mr. Top Cat; what a bodge job this is. No 'Uptight', no 'Port of Saints', no 'Bagged-Out Ken' and no Hiphoprisy versions of 'Soldier Blue', tchah! .... Island could have left off some of the remixes which have been available for years on the 'Dancing Heads' e.p.. Even the booklet in my copy is cocked up with two pages being printed twice... A five star album given a three star reissue.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
Compared to the original release, the remastered sound on the Deluxe Version is "PRISTEEN!" If a remastered CD is done well, it is like "lifting a veil" to reveal all of the music in its full glory, much like a good audio system will do (versus an average or poor system).
The sound is so good, it gives you that visceral feeling normally experienced at a live music event. So, buy this CD for the sound, not the bonus disc, which was awful (but I could care less about that.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
Released into the musical wasteland of early 1991 Julian Cope's 'Peggy Suicide' is a sprawling state-of-the-nation magnum opus. There's a vast array of musical styles here from post-punk balladry (Pristine) to garage rock (Drive, She Said) and even pseudo-prog (Safesurfer). My personal favourites, however, are the inspired dance hybrids 'Soldier Blue', 'Not Raving But Drowning' and 'Leperskin'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2008
Peggy Suicide is an album of incredible variety and scope, especially the rhythmic textures & the impressive array of guitars. The arrangements are innovative and the music melodious. The opener Pristeen is a tuneful ballad with extraordinary guitar sounds, followed by Double Vegetation, a brooding number with nervous rhythms. The tender Promised Land starts out as a folkie rumination, turning into a rock ballad as the guitars enter for a powerful build-up.

The uptempo rock song Hanging Out & Hung up on the Line is reprised later in the atmospheric Hung up & Hanging out to Dry with its long instrumental introduction. There are two anti-road songs, the funky East Easy Rider and Drive, She Said, a mid-tempo rock ballad with lovely vocal arrangements. Julian sure didn't like the road. Safesurfer opens with tormented guitars and in its tempo shifts display lovely mini-moog & piano.

The percussive If You Loved Me At All is a catchy track with symphonic keyboards, massed acoustic guitars later joined by electric ones, and considerably less gravitas than the others. There are two songs that explore overt psychological themes, the jittery track You with its unusual baritone sax and the appealingly melodic Head, whilst the buoyant Beautiful Love is spiritual & uplifting with its joyful trumpet. The American Lite, a stirring love song, and Las Vegas Basement are tender ballads with beautiful melodies.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2007
This is a bosting CD (excuse my lapse into local vernacular). Wierd and off the wall stuff - Safe Surfer, Pristine, Los Vegas Basement, Double Vegetation are all Cope classics, with that gentle sense of threat and disgust. There are no duff tracks here. The guitar work is squeezed and treated and distorted (although strangely sensitive at times)to make an exquisite counter point to the Arch Drudes offset lyrics. It makes it all different and outside the box - just what you need to counter the breadhead world. Roky must be proud of his disciple's continuation of hiws work. Truly counter culture music.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here