Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
57
Broken English
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 November 2017
Bloody Hell She is Angry. Backing group is tight, lyrics fairly puerile and her voice has seen better days. Nonetheless Marianne speaks from personal experience. Which is more than you can say about most of the modern homogenised pap parading as "music" these days. Buy it just for the ride and unless you have a proper turntable/arm/cartridge get the CD (or if you must: download), play it loud and listen to the words. Come on people it is only a few pounds, dollars whatever and Marianne could do with the 1% royalty. Heroin is not cheap these days you know. And if you want a bit of insight buy her book (Faithfull) to read while listening. Finally before you ask, I am not related or connected or have any association with Marianne Faithfull. And really finally, look up her great grandad, Leopold Von Sacher Masoch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2014
I'm old enough to remember Marianne's hits first time round. Her high pitched and relatively naive renditions that took her into the charts. Then followed a descent into drug abuse and personal difficulty and she arise, reinvented.

For me, this album epitomises every strength she has. It's filled with heartbreaking soul, her voice, much changed, delivering the heartfelt emotion behind every word. She doesn't need soaring strings. This is spare and often beautiful prose, put to music. A couple of tracks bring tears to my eyes every time I hear them and this is an album I'll love forever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2013
This is my favourite Marianne Faithful album. Although the original cd wasn't bad as far as sound quality goes, there is a subtle but distinct improvement in the sound with the Deluxe edition.
Vocals are clearer (and hence the lyrics). The second disc with the "original" production (a lot less keyboards) is good although a little bit disconcerting at first due to being familiar with the version that we all know. None of the obvious sound issues with many remasters, no overly hyped top end or missing/overdone bass. If you don't own this album on CD this is the one to buy.
If you own the original CD release and were wondering if it's worth the money, that's a definite YES from me on this one. If you like this album this is the version to own.
If you like this album you'll find the bonus content worthwhile as well. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2017
A revelation to me as i didn't know much about this singer until someone recommended this album to me. Released in 1979 but still fresh and intriguing. Unusual voice delivering unusual songs (if too few only 8 on the album) but rewards repeat listens as more is revealed. A really good listening experience. .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
timeless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2018
Good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
Wonderful voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2014
finally digitally remastered but I don;t hear much of a difference. A few extra songs in promo forms could have made this better instead we get an interesting and enhanced booklet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2016
Still easily her best work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2016
Fantastic Claissic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)