Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2001
Most artists start off energetically and tend to slow down later on. This is quite the opposite --- these are four young men in 1981 with real gravitas penning songs any 40 year old would be proud of. October is a particularly beautiful month and this album conveys all the doleful colours it posesses. It is hard to imagine how such young people could show the depth of emotion around such issues as loneliness, lost love, distance etc. However, the songs on this album are timeless classics of yearning and separation which makes you wonder exactly what anguish engendered them. Perhaps it was the story of growing up in an ex-colonial situation and speaks of marginalisation and bitterness, the experience of an out of town estate perhaps, but four people on the outside looking in. The tunes themselves are often plaintive, folkie efforts, fading in and fading out, with no strident statement making, simply impressionistic and sad, leading into sharply defined rock songs with the brilliant black guitar sound of the Edge beneath Bono's wailing vocal. I personally hope that the band members found some happiness later on......but this work speaks of decay and defeat and is a haunting epitaph for an unhappy period in Ireland's history. October is a work of prescient brilliance with sad songs which will last forever in time....listen to this album and see how the genius of U2 started out and wonder how it was connected with later work by the band.
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2004
There are so many good reviews here on this Cd, and although there are a few gems here, it's not a 5* disc.
Tracks like 'Gloria' and 'Fire' are great songs. However there are 2 excellent tracks on here, that really should have been on their greatest hits, 'October' and 'Tomorrow.'
There are a few other good songs on here, but U2 are better at rock, thats why 'War' was so good.
October is definately worth buying, but I just feel that it's not U2's best effort!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2007
This is a fantastic and under-rated album (although not on this website!). October has a good mixture of spiritual contemplative songs and the anthemic tunes they became synonymous with. The Edge's guitar is great, amazing how early his unique style was set. I actually heard Gloria first on Under a Blood Red Sky (also great), and Bono's rallying call at the beginning still puts shivers down my spine. What a great showman he was and still is. I stopped listening U2 in my 20's as I got a bit sick of them, but as I'm revisiting their early albums I'm really appreciating how dynamic and melodic they were back then. This album and also boy, both stand up to today's music.

A great line in the song Rejoice -
"I cant change the world, but I can change the world in me".
Hmmm? Oh well, we only had a few years wait till Bono started!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
October is the second album from U2 and constantly ends up at the bottom of U2 album polls . It was written in a hurry , someone stole the lyrics to the songs while it was being recorded, the studio sessions over ran and were chaotic and it peaked at 104 in the American billboard charts . It is the lowest grossing U2 album and Island records supposedly gave serious thought to dropping the band . It does have its defenders and I'm one of them . It is overshadowed by Boy And War but remains superior to many of the albums that followed

It's a rather more uneven than its predecessor . It opens with Gloria which is undoubtedly the highlight of the album and also has The Edge playing piano on an album for the first time . Indeed some songs like October , I Fall Down and Scarlet seem to exist merely to showpiece that Dave Evans is not just a guitarist but a versatile musician . None of the music is bad in anyway but never really reaches the heights as seen in the previous album or even the opening track with I Threw A Brick and Rejoice perhaps being the only tracks to come close . In its favour October did lead to the band having their first minor hit and Top Of The Pop appearance with Fire , ironically a track the band disliked . The album's other legacy was that it gave birth to " The Cry " which was the opening of the live version of The Electric Co and it was something of a shock to find out the album version doesn't contain that opening being familiar with their early stuff via their live performances before I bought their first two albums

Like Boy this album has a running theme - one of religion and I can't help thinking this is why it's held in relatively low regard by U2 fandom . It's not like the message is stuffed down your throat unlike some present day American Christian bands but at the same time there's no need for you to be reading between any lines with songs like Tomorrow as to what Bono is singing about . U2 do Songs Of Praise ! The mind truly does boggle

Still despite the flaws this is still an album that is superior to some of the bands later work when they still had that distinctive sound that drew me to the band in the first place , one of a feeling you have when you're over looking a calm stretch of water . Nice to know that Island records kept their faith in the band and for that we should be greatful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
This is not U2's best album, but i feel some of the songs really stand out such as "Gloria" and "Tommorow", its a shame none of the songs were featured on the "best of" album, although "october" was a secret track, which is really the stand out track. This album seems to be the forgotten album of U2's "early stage" but its a damm fine effort.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
This album takes me right back to my student years. Still great music, it has definitely stood the test of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2004
October is the sound of a young U2 finding their feet and sound.Its not perfect, but that kinda adds to its charm. Some times it rocks out with its religious punk undertones and loses it way a bit, but that hardly seem to matter. I still find engaging to listen to. There is a lovely melancholy feel to the album, perfectly summed up by the title track. No matter how good the newer albums are and how many the sell, i doubt they will include have a piece of music as delicate, as profound, as achingly beautiful as the title track to October.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
Revisited this album after many years. You forget how raw and talented they were, superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
any u2 fans this is a must for your collection would recomend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
This is a much clearer and sharper sound than the original audio. Great value for money and quick delivery. Although no major hits on this album, a must for any U2 fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)