Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2004
Very few albums take me back to the heady days of studenthood with quite so much emotional power as this album. All About Eve may have emerged fresh from the budding mid-80s Yorkshire Goth scene, but this album has more in common with the hippie folk-rock pioneered way back by the likes of Jethro Tull and Fairport Convention (about half of whom feature as backing instrumentalists on the album). These are songs of an England which probably never really existed - honeysuckle-scented meadows, gypsies and apple trees feature prominently - alternately blissfully naive and romantic, with Julianne Regan's exquisite voice soaring with childlike simplicity above the ocean of finely-honed guitar backing, and dark-edged, with undertones of unrequited love, abandonment and tragedy. The aural equivalent of Thomas Hardy - this is storytelling in the finest tradition of English folk music, with the occasional epic guitar riff to make the legends of hard rock jealous. This band have successfully reinvented themselves time and time again; they are still touring around the UK's smaller live music venues, and as spellbinding as ever. With the advent of Evanescence and their ilk, the sound of All About Eve no longer sounds quite as dated as it might have done not so long ago; so for those who loved them first time around, give them another try, and don't ever lose that innocence.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2002
All About Eve, although steeped in the world of Goth, were a highly original rock-goth crossover band and this debut album is one of their best releases (their 2nd album is better though).
There are a couple well known singles here, notably Wild Hearted Woman and the gorgeous Martha's Harbour, yes, that of TOTP 'we can't hear the backing track' infamy ! (but it still made the Top 10). If not for anything else, buy this album for the brilliant, epic track In The Meadow, with a great guitar solo and some brilliant rhythm changes, which is certainly their single greatest moment.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2006
THE 'EVES released one of the finest ever debut albums & greatest too .Rich & beautifully sang & played. Deep romantic laced songs of heartbreak ,regret,past memories & sadness,inbetween upbeat, joyous songs.Their magic between them created some of the most wonderful memorable moments in any type of music catergory.Julianne Regan owns a voice of an angel,Tim Bricheno a talented guitarist & co-writer , alongside other fine musicians-Andy Cousin(bass/writer) & Mark Price(drums).

Songs so superbly crafted & recorded like Opener-FLOWERS IN OUR HAIR,lively catchy riff & rhythym,about those late 60's hippy days,punchy & great vocals from Julianne. GYPSY DANCE follows with a chorus,you find repeating to yourself long after the album's closed.IN THE CLOUDS,one of their earliest singles,is instantly likeable with another lovely flowing & memorable chorus .MARTHA'S HARBOUR surely needs no introducton,their most commercially successful song, so beautiful,yet so simplictic & woderfully sang & played.EVERY ANGEL,another single,catchy ,fast tempo & more straight forward. SHELTER FROM THE RAIN, an expressive,emotional & atmospheric song ,that builds with another great chorus & vocal.WILD HEARTED WOMEN,a rockier track ,APPLE TREE MAN,a melodic enchanting ballad,WHAT KIND OF FOOL,my personal favourite, a faboulously romantic masterpiece,Julianne melts your heart,with her voice & expression,leaves a tear in your eye,magical(if you ever see the video to the song it is a visual treat & makes you want to reach out & console her)another single release flop!,astonishing ,should have made no.1!,such an alltime memorable classic. IN THE MEADOW,rocky & heavy ,brilliant guitar riff & playing by Tim. LADY MOONLIGHT closes,a fine song. 14 tracks of pure gold dust!, BUY!!.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I loved All About Eve and I had this on vinyl. Well until my friend stole it. Well he said he was borrowing it and I never saw it again despite asking for it back. He had greasy hair so I should have known.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2006
i've jsut rediscovered this album (having listened to it interminably at age 15, which is slightly less than half my present age :-() and it has definitely stood the test of time, despite some reviewers here stating otherwise. i don't think it's dated because it doesn't really sound like anything else. it's pretty unique in that regard, with some excellent songs and a very pleasant and haunting vibe that i find very pleasing. i haven't awarded 5 stars because somehow or other it could be better than it is. i'm not sure how - but there's something lacking and i can't quite place what. i'm inclined to believe it lacks a little 'oomph' and could have been braver, but for all that it's still very good. the album ;scarlet' is also good, but i wouldn't say it's better than this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I adore this record. I adored it back when I was 15 and it was first released, and I rediscovered that adoration some years later when I blew the dust of the vinyl and played it once again. Perhaps it's nostalgia makes me so fond of this, but as has been stated in previous reviews Julianne Reagan has a peerless voice. It soothes. It cajoles. It utterly entrances.

Personal favourites for me have to be Shelter From the Rain, which is just shimmering, and Wild Hearted Woman, which at the tender age of 15 meant so much to me (ok, I was a romanti-goth girl child, so I'm biased!). The only song I was never particularly keen on was She Moves Through The Fair, perhaps because I preferred more traditional arrangements of this.

In a word...transcendent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2008
Somewhere along the line AAE got labelled as goth, probably due to black eyeliner and clothes, however their debut album owes more to folk traditions than any other genre. Singer Julianne Regan's voice is never better than on their first album, whether soft and breathy on their cover of the traditional ballad 'She moves through the fair', or demonstrating power on 'Wild hearted woman'. Maybe it was the blend of softening mainstream rock with folky acoustic guitars that never got them into the top 30 after 'Martha's harbour' as grunge started to infiltrate from the US in the late 80s, but I'll always revisit this album with pleasure.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Poring through my Amazon ordering history, I discovered this CD from 2002. I think I had almost forgotten about this excellent album, so I’m delighted to have made this discovery. I particularly like this combination of folk and rock, which I think has a kind of timeless quality about it. I also think Julianne’s voice is great, and perfectly suited to the genre. Really delighted to have an excuse to re-acquaint myself with this album again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2000
This is one of the best albums one could buy. The arrangements, the voice, the use of the instruments. The lyrical content, you'll never forget the words, they're so meaningful. My daughter is named Emily, and my son loves to hear me sing Martha's Harbour, wait 'til he hears Julianne. Buy it, you'll be wearing black and purple before you can say "Those were the days".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Relaxing and gentle music with a haunting quality. Bought the original when it came out. Great to see these brilliant groups coming back for the digital age.

If you are not sure it is for you, give the sample a listen. You might be surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here