Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Roy Buchanan
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 July 2017
Good Just what I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Everybody needs Roy in their collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2003
I was so pleased to find this gem is available on CD - hopefully opening up a whole new fanbase for the late great Mr. Buchanan.
If you're a guitar player with a leaning towards the blues, this album will do one of two things - you'll either want to bin your guitar because you know you'll never be this good, or how easy he makes it sound will fool you into thinking you have got a chance of being as good; (which you haven't!).
You'll no doubt also be convinced that until you buy that old US Telecaster in the local guitar shop, you'll never get a sound anything like this - and that's probably true to a degree, but whether you play a similar guitar or not, this kind of "feel" is so very rare, and Roy Buchanan is in very limited and hallowed company with those very few who, in the words of Mark Knopfler, "make it cry or sing".
If you don't play guitar, don't let this put you off - you'll probably want to learn anyway, after you get to know this album. It's pure and simple in some ways, but also haunting, with moments where the hairs go up on the back of your neck. A real gem which deserves a much wider audience.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
I bought this LP when it came out in 1972 and it is still one of my favourites. He does that thing with the hairs on your neck that says more and still says it after all this time. This album has a lot of space and air in it - space filled by electric guitar sounds that are more than 'just' music or 'just' tunes. And unlike some guitar wizzos, his band are fully up to the gig and keep the chug cooking.

oh yes....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Sharing a house with a couple of wannabe guitarists circa 1974 they were very excited by this on vinyl. "Roy who?" I said and even I knew the first and last tracks "Sweet Dreams and Hey Good Lookin'" were, well country standards. The latter, beloved by Maori pub bands as a way to pull a wahine (chicks to us). So I was prepared to be unimpressed and then to top it off there was a pure evangelical track "The Messiah Will Come Again". But the boys persisted in my non guitar player education and said listen to the chops. Well, "Sweet Dreams" an instrumental sets the tone. Country tortured into blues, it grips the soul and wails. Then it is a case of strap in and let the guitar scour out your ears and inner skull at the mercy of a maestro. And if the messiah does make it around sometime, well Mr Buchanan's guitar will have already beaten him to the draw. Sorry. Left me, even though I still find "Hey Good Lookin'" the cuckoo in this nest. But Roy was entitled to cut loose with a warm down to end things on, so who am I to grumble. Made me a fan. Try it-it's worth the ride. Oh and the boys, never did make it to the big league but somewhere in a pub near you...check `em out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
Roy Buchanan is quite simply the most emotive electric blues guitarist ever to have breathed and this is his best album. Check it out and pass the word on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Amazing condition! And arrived before I expected it too. This was a gift for my dad and he was amazed at the condition of the vinyl and sleeve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Had this album years ago finally got round to buying the cd still aounds great but dont take my word for it buy it yourself you wont be sorry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Perhaps not a solid start for a guy who had spent most of his life in previous bands and as a session player before embarking upon a solo career himself. There is no doubt Roy can play the guitar and is by far one of the most underrated guitarists who hardly got a look in to be noticed enough in comparison to the many greats out there, and he certainly should of been amongst them.

Roy's debut album is a bag of mixed material of mainly blues & country and perhaps is not enough to set the world on fire with it's contrasting styles and they perhaps work badly against each other with how the album flows. No doubt Roy plays great and so does the regular guys he his with here form his previous time with the Snake Stretchers consisting of Chuck Tilley -Vocals. Dick Heintz - Piano & Organ. Pete Van Allen - bass. Ned Davis - Drums and Teddy Irwin - Rhythm Guitar or of which are capable musicians accompany the man himself.

The album kicks off very well with a Don Gibson number "Sweet Dreams" which is a great number and one that Roy done at many of his live shows, and it also kicked of his previous album with the Snake Stretchers so there was nothing really new here. "The Messiah Will Come Again" was also done with the guys on that previous album too, but for me this has to be one of Roy's true classics and one penned by himself and he speaks his own words on this one, and for me is the best track on the album, and both of these tracks for me were much better done live.

"John's Blues" and "Pete's Blue" are great blues tracks once again better heard on his live albums, and the album even has a bit of Rock n' Roll with "Haunted House" which for me really makes this album far to contrasting for my liking enough to give it anywhere near 5 stars.

To sum up here I think Roy's debut album was pretty decent one and OK but nothing much more. It's a long shot off his better albums but has some goodies along it's path which are well worthy of having, though much better on his live albums where he really does put all his heart into them. You are certainly not gonna get the feeling that this was perhaps one of the greatest guitarists in the world from this album that's for sure, and apart from the odd tracks already mentioned here it says very little apart from the superb "The Messiah Will Come Again" and he did indeed with his following album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
Great album showcasing one of the world's best and inovative guitarists. Some tracks are mesmerising and leave you breathless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)