Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 December 2002
Cinderella were discovered by John Bon Jovi, and quickly made an impact on the music scene. this was their first release, and once you get past the frankly dreadful cover, you'll discover a pretty good collection of tunes. This is a rock band with a heavy bluesy influence, not too heavy (about the same as early Bon Jovi, in fact), with a vocalist who sounds not a million miles from Brian Johnson of AC/DC, if slightly more tuneful.
They managed to come up with some great riffs, including Shake Me, Somebody Save Me, Push Push, and the title track, as well as an excellent ballad - Nobody's Fool (graced with a tasty solo). And Tom Keifer (vocals) isn't a bad lead player either.
Worth a bit of nostalgia.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2006
They might have been pretty boys but they played like old pro's that had studied Aerosmith, AC/DC, early Def Leppard and the blues. They knew how to rock and they knew not only how to carry a good tune, but Tom Keifer also knew how to write great rock music. It's just a shame that the depressing influx of grunge made 'hair metal' unfashionable & put paid to Cinderalla's career, because TK could have been a major star.
It's a debut that far outweighs any others from the time, with the exception of Tesla and GNR. At the time, and definitely now, AC/DC would have killed for a track like Shake Me. Nobody's Fools is one of those great ballads, a kind of long lost brother for the Leps' "Love Bites".
But then again, if you're reading this it's because you want to & not because you need convincing that you should buy it, because you probably already own it. I could wax lyrical for hours.
A classic rock debut.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2007
The 1st album from the brilliant Cinderella. Anybody who likes Classic Rock with a twist of glam and a hint of blues combined will like this. Songs like "Shake Me" and "Nobodys Fool" bring back so many memories of Rock City in Nottingham in the late 80's, the site of skinny long haired pretty boys with leather trousers and cowboy boots on strutting their stuff to songs like this make this album a good reminder for me of times gone by. Tom Keifer is an excellent song writer and musician. Good stuff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
unfortunately this is one of the worse covers ever for me, but the best music is in this album (CD). my kid which 23yrs after this album was released had been born likes this CD \m/ a lot . this album contains the best music from the 80s they came at the best time with the best songs this album contains songs with feelings and emotions in every word n riff and they had hits with nearly all the songs and untill trhis day they are the fans fav in every gig + they can play their own instruments and they write their own songs for me this is what made get into rock n roll they didn't just fill the album with half cooked songs or do more covers then they should like many other bands . they were discovered by bon jovi but they had established their own i.d. buy this CD . iv always had this album on cassette till 2004 and then the CD turn came as i had played my cassette more times then a cassette can take \m/ i wish they re-master this CD as its an important piece in my collection . \m/
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2005
This is a belter. Great production, awesome rock songs with a touch of glam tinted blues thrown in. The guys voice is one of the best in this genre. Standout tracks hve to be the great rocker 'Shake Me' and the huge ballad 'Nobodys Fool'. Highly recommended peice of 80's rock.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
The clearest memory I have of Cinderella is fighting though a bedraggled crowd, in freezing cold rain, at the 1987 Monsters Of Rock Festival, when the introduction to `Once Around The Ride' was being cranked into life. The contrast between the surroundings and the bands daft moniker is as stark as the contrast between the cover on this cd and the music contained within. The cover sports possibly the worst example of hair metal known to modern man (or was that Dokken on Under Lock and Key?)- a riot of massive puffed up hair, big lipstick, sashes and laughable pouting from the man called, er, Fred- and there it is again, that daft band name, in big pink letters, lest you forget... So you'd have to be pretty hardcore to work past the sleeve and get into the music.

And boy is it worth it. This is a great debut album. Spawned from an effective coming together of the pop sensibilities of Aerosmith/early Skid Row and the harder bluesy sound of AC/DC this thing rocks big style. The big riffs just keep coming from the churning Push Push to the stabbing Somebody Save Me, born aloft on a massive drum sound. And it's not all black and white. Like the Skid Row debut (also Bon Jovi finds) there is the half decent ballad in there (Nobody's Fool) and the atmospheric churning title track. This is a great summery, feel good cd but I do wonder how many people never made it past the cover - perhaps this lesson was learned, as the follow up album just had a white sleeve....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I used to think this was the pinnacle of rock perfection. Some 20 plus years later alas it does not quite evoke the same charm. It is still, however, a very good hard rock album. The front cover is hilarious and should be put in a museum but the music belies the image considerably. They are all gifted musicians and most of the songs are passable, bluesy rockers.

Best are the title track, 'Shake Me', 'Nobody's Fool' and 'Somebody Save Me'. The rest are all still very good, just nothing groundbreaking. Better was just around the corner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
When I first heard Nobodys Fool, on YouTube, I was blown away. I love eighties rock, glam rock, hair metal, whatever you want to call it. But I only spent three years in the eighties before the doors were closed. I'd never heard of Cinderella till that point. Then I went straight on here and downloaded three albums of theirs. I love Cinderelka music, Tom Keifer has an amazing voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 October 2010
If ever an album sleeve detracted from the music contained within,with the rather lame moniker and hair/glam metal photo on front,this disc was immediately dispensed into the Hair metal section alongside the likes of Crue/Dokken & Poison,nothing could have been further from the truth

From the opening swirling winds of the title track to the final crashing chord of 'Back Home Again' there is nothing Glam here,this music was built on the blueprint of big riffs a la AC/DC,the swagger of early Aerosmith aongside a commercial sheen that Bon Jovi/Van Halen would have been proud of,indeed tracks such as 'Push Push' & 'Shake Me' have more hooks than a boat full of fishermen,while the power ballad 'Nobody's Fool' had lighters in the air from L.A to Detroit.

Alternatively they have riffs to die for on the likes of 'Hell On Wheels,'Night Songs' and 'Nuthin For Nuthin',whilst falling back on derivitive rockers such as 'Once Around For The Ride' and 'In From The Outside'.

All in all a excellent debut,with Andy John's production perfectly enhancing the music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Debut cd / album from american poodle rockers cinderella . There are some good tracks on this cd my favorite being PUSH ! PUSH ! not a bad track on it .
Love their clothes as well .
Tom sounds like an higher version of
AC/DCs BRIAN JOHNSON .
A proper 1980s ROCK ALBUM shame they don't make albums like this in 2015 +
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)