Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Bent Out of Shape
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.56+ £1.26 shipping


on 26 July 2017
As with the other two albums with JLT some good tracks some not so good. These albums were aimed at the American market where they did well. Rainbow fans will buy this album as I did for my collection others will buy a greatest hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Who ever hasn't got this and are into this kind of music by it now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2001
This is the commercial Rainbow. Joe Lynn Turner is a superb vocalist, who can scream if necessary (and on his solo releases frequently does), but keeps things fairly clean on this CD. My favourite Rainbow song is on this CD - Street of Dreams; very catchy chorus, tasty solo, mid-tempo feel, love it. There are several fast rockers, a couple of slow numbers, and an instrumental version of "the Snowman"!!!!!!!!! I find Richie Blackmore's sound a bit thin, compares to what other virtuosos were doing at the time, which is a shame, but this is a good CD and worth a listen.
Fans of the Dio era Rainbow may disagree.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
This album clearly knocks the socks off both "Difficult to Cure" and "Straight Between the Eyes". Turner sings mindboggingly well on this. Just listen to "Can't Let You Go". The man is pouring all he's got into that one. Also the album succeeds very, very well in mixing oldstyle hardrockers ("Make Your Move" and "Drinking With the Devil") with ballads that are more typical of the 80's (such as the brilliant "Street of Dreams"). The two instrumentals really displays the genius that is Blackmore. Especially "Anybody There", which was Grammy-nominated. It's a fiver. Buy this as fast as you possibly can!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Ten tracks on this album, including a surprising choice for the instrumental on track nine. The vocalist again is Joe Lynn Turner and he puts in a really good emotional performance every time. He also contributes to the song writing as with the previous two albums "Difficult to Cure" and "Straight Between the Eyes". Another good one to add to the collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2002
I find it hard to write anything bad about Blackmore and Rainbow because he is a musical genius, however this is not classic Rainbow , its much more for the popular market, a great album nontheless, the highlight of the album for me is the brilliant version of " snowman " pure Genius with Blackmore's haunting notes on the guitar making the song come to life. " Street of Dreams " another wonderful song, but more for the ballad fans .
overall the album is a must for any music collection , but don't expect to hear the classic axe man Blackmore thumping out what he does best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Nice album, not one of their best, there are some great songs like "Drinking with the Devil', 'Fire Dance' and the instrumentals tracks. Turner's voice is great but i less like d the ballads and the rest, but it's not their worst. I own it anyway.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2003
If you were a Rainbow fan from the Dio era then you'll probably hate this offering. But heah, move with the times, this is a fantastic album with some cracking tracks. "Drinking with the devil" and "Make your move" are both fast and furious while "Street of dreams" and "Can't let you go" and great ballads.
Joe Lynn Turner's vocals are fantastic on this and its obvious he enjoys performing on this album. Blackmore is as usual fantatsic although a few more solo's wouldn't have gone a miss.
Go on, add this to your collection, you won't be disappointed.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
I just had to write a quick review of this album to get some balance - all the other reviews seem to be glowing, but I feel this record has very little merit.
I've just bought the Vinyl Polydor Years box set The Polydor Years [VINYL] (which is excellent) and have been going through from the Dio years to this. After the bombast of Dio and the well-crafted pop/rock of Graham Bonnet, we take a step down to Mr Turner. Now, don't get me wrong, there are some real gems in the 3 albums, but, to me, there is a decline in quality between the first two (good stuff on Difficult to Cure and Straight Between the Eyes) and this album which just seems really flat - very few memorable moments.
I had to go back and put Eyes of the World and Gates of Babylon on to make myself feel better (it worked).

That's me done. I felt I had to make fans of Dio bombast aware that this album is miles away form Dio era Rainbow and is (in my dubious opinion) pants. Feel free to disagree with me/call me a cloth-eared baboon...but you know it's weak :P
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 June 2010
judging by the previous reviews im going to be in the minority,this is yet another average album and highlights ultimately why this band had to split,each album part of a series of discs with diminishing returns pulling down the the bands legacy.As usual another album another line up,Chuck Burgi on drums i believe,although if im wrong,im sure it will be corrected.

As before there a few moments of genuis,notably the two instrumentals 'Anybody There' and 'Snowman' while 'Street of Dreams' and 'Cant Let You Go' are both excellent,the latter pulls you in with its grand keyboard intro before hitting its stride while the former is another AOR maserpiece.

The rest boring,bland heard it all before,nothing new,the likes of 'Drinkin With The Devil' watered down Purple,i for one was relieved when Blackmore called it a day and Rainbow was laid to rest(not for good as it turned out)
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)