Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
67
4.6 out of 5 stars
Power Windows
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 March 2014
Although I have to admit that 'Power Windows' isn't right up there amongst my favourite Rush albums, there are some very good tracks included with 'Mystic Rhythms' and 'Middletown Dreams' providing the stand-outs for me. Certainly this is worth buying, particularly if you like progressive rock with plenty of intelligent and passionate lyrics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Excellent just what was wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
power windows a brilliant album every track good well worth listening to well pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Top album. Buy it and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2008
Power Windows is that rarest of animals; a perfect album. Every track, the mood of the album, is electric. It is also one of the very best Rush albums. Polished, slick and glossy but more importantly, it is infused with layered depths of emotional and musical intelligence.

Grand Designs and Middletown Dreams overflow with excitement, powerful pulsating basslines, combined with some of Neil Peart's most heroic, unusual, complex and exciting drum fills, fully brought to life by the lush, full bodied production.

Elsewhere, Marathon and Emotion Detector burst with feeling via Alex Lifeson's stunning guitar work. The Big Money will make you wonder how on earth three musicians can create something that sounds so vast. I find the songs pulse with energy and vibrancy, almost like a living thing, the craftmanship and quality of the songwriting is first class. This is one of those records that can transport you to another place, it is like taking a walk on a dark evening with lightning in the sky and a brilliant full moon, remote in the blackness, this is a record that will make you feel alive.

Power Windows is one of the best rock albums you will ever hear. Rush blended electronics with the full power of traditional instrumentation to create something quite extraordinary. To fully appreciate this album in its correct context I strongly recommend the previous studio album, Grace Under Pressure (an album approaching perfection) and Hold Your Fire - the latter being the sister record to Power Windows as it shares many rhythmic similarities and contains further developments on the the themes of power and emotion. Also, Rush experiment further with the fusion of electronic and acoustic instrumentation. Rush have never been afraid of taking chances, they are musical scientists exploring sprawling new avenues of sound with a rare honesty and bristling intelligence. For me, Power Windows rates amongst their best work, alongside Hemispheres, Permanent Waves, Moving Pictures and A Farewell To Kings.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
This was a present for my son and he was very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
Rush, I have come to appreciate, are an anomaly of a band. On some albums they can be frustrating, on others inexplicably daring. Occasionally they can produce a song that seems like it has always been there floating around in the air waiting for its disparate tones to be configured. And on other occasions they can make something that seems, on the outside, to be completely boring and useless. Invariably there is a collective mind controlling the output and every one of their albums expresses passion and workmanship like you wouldn't believe. Despite this they have produced mixed results within their constant experimentation. 2112 was near perfect, A Farewell to Kings far from it, ditto Hemispheres. However on the latter 2 there were sparks of genius among a wholly inconsistent structure (20 minute songs wallowed next to 4 minute ones, next to 10 minute opuses etc). During the 80s however their experimentation continued but, as with all Rush albums, using the tools of the time. This is both a plus and a minus as a lot of their early to middle albums do sound completely derivative of the time in which they were created, making a lot of their 80s albums sound very dated. But if you can look beyond the synths and fake trumpeting then you should find a wonderful world to explore in just 8 tracks. Power Windows has gone down on my list of albums I had low expectations of, that have become one of my favourites. Yes - it's a stunning album.

'The Big Money' is actually my least favourite of these but it is still a great opener. Lively and poppy and fun, it exudes both artistry and technical nous with a nice jangly 80s guitar sound. 'Grand Designs' takes a while to bed but is the real precursor of what is to become. The chorus is subdued and underplayed and quite beautiful. 'Manhattan Project' is the first 'classic' as such. Again it takes a while to appreciate but the lyrics and music work together so well. Indicative of the sound of the whole album, it is gentle and melodious but in a surprising way. 'Marathon' is near perfect and has one of the best choruses ever which slowly builds to a crescendo of delight.

'Territories' is more akin to the Rush of old but still regains a lot of melody and rhythm and is a great song. 'Middletown Dreams' is another 'perfect' song with a chorus so gentle you almost miss it. 'Emotion Detector' is more of a single with a very immediate chorus but it is one of the best songs I have heard. And 'Mystic Rhythms' completes one of the most consistently excellent Rush albums perfectly. It is soft and beautiful and worms its way into your head.

At the moment this is my favourite Rush album by a mile. It's not as progressive or experimental as, say, 2112 but the music speaks for itself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
arrived quickly, as described, good price, very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Probably my fav rush record. Every track is just ridiculous. Not as experimental as some other releases but still quintisentially rush. Has s very 80s vibe with the keys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)