Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£27.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
I never bother writing reviews normally, but bought this after listening to a couple of other tracks of his...what a brilliant album. ..great vibes...don't think about it...just buy it...I would put it alongside Bob Marleys Legends album in my all time reggae likes :) (and I have only heard 1 and a half discs so far!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
The upsetter at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2003
I only give 5 stars to utter classics like Perry's Blackboard Jungle Dub or Pablo & Tubby's 'Meets Rockers Uptown' and this compilation contains some comparable and seminal work from the Black Ark era.
Diverse influences and musical innovation mean that Jamaican music, Ska, Roots, Dub, etc has in turn had an influence upon the likes of soul, rap, techno and other diverse genres that is hard to overstate. Perry was at the forefront of the 'Dub' era in the 70s using drum machines before anyone else and creating sounds (upon a two-track tape deck) the likes of which had never been heard before. His distinctive sound, e.g. his 'flying hi-hat' set him apart from other producers in a fiercely competitive market and he worked with all of the best Jamaican artists e.g Bob Marley, Max Romeo, The Meditations, The Mighty Diamonds, Junior Murvin, the list goes on.
Never mind that there are some 'fillers' here (though perhaps not as far as hardcore fans are concerned), the genius of the man is well in evidence and there are enough classics to make it well worth the price for any Reggae newbies: Life Is Not Easy - The Meditations, War Ina Babylon - Max Romeo, Chase the Devil - Max Romeo (sampled by the Prodigy!), Police & Thieves - Junior Murvin.
In addition there are plenty of tracks that will make you bounce or just stop and listen: One Step Forward - Max Romeo, Dub Revolution, Pt. 1, Why Must I [Version] - The Heptones, Vibrate On - Augustus Pablo.
As one reviewer points out this concentrates on the late 70s Black Ark work and doesn't overlap with other compilations. It's a well-thumbed and well-loved part of my collection and I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2006
JUST BUY IT - This IS HIS BEST, all things considered. Yes there are some 'big' tracks missing so your quest in finalising your collection is probably not yet over.

If you have not heard any/much of Lee Perry's work this album just about sums him up, this is some of his finest works all wrapped up into three disks. If you do not like it after having listened to it, then leave this Artist (and his 'friends') well alone - forever.

If you have the odd album of his and not impressed do not dismiss it as there is allot of 'junk' albums out there!! I personally love his work through the mid seventies and i do not go much on his work beyond the mid 80's. I prefer him producing with quality vocalists at the front. Saying that, his vocals on 'Dreadlocks in Moonlight' are chillingly great....but thats just me. Here are other albums of 'his/friends' I would also rate highly:

The Heptones - Party Time
The Congo's
Open the Gate/Build the Ark - Lee Perry & Friends
Junior Murvin - Police and Thieves
Scratch Attack (2 solid albums in 1)
The Upsetters 'Super Ape' 'return of the Super Ape'
George Faith - To be a Lover, Max Romeo and others.

This album has a good array of tracks/versions from many of the albums listed above so buy this one and go from there, and save yourself a small fortune in the process.

It is of course all a matter of personal choice. You decide.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2002
The definitive Lee Perry selection, filled with the best of his production for other artists and his own output. Worth it alone almost for the quality of the remastering of the Roast Fish & Cornbread tunes as the only available release of this album sounds as though it was mastered from a record left behind a radiator for 20 years.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2000
Sorry, but I hate to see the lazy 'madman' label stuck on Lee Perry for the umpteenth time, like his music is eccentric, obscure or esoteric. The music on this 3-CD set betrays no evidence of insanity, only a relentless exploration of the possibilities of rhythm and dub. All these tracks were recorded 1976-79 and I've heard complaints that there's no coverage of earlier work, but I think that's irrelevant; this isn't a greatest hits compilation, but an in-depth collection of Perry's production work from the Island archives. The important thing is that there's not much overlap with other compilations. And this isn't entirely dub - including fine A-side vocal cuts from the likes of the Congos, Max Romeo, Junior Murvin, The Heptones, & others. There seems to be a common misunderstanding that confuses dub with roots reggae. The dub is the (mainly) instrumental remix version.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2005
Along with the brilliant King Tubby, Sscratch must lay claim to being one of the most influencial persons of the whole Reggae, Ska, Dub, Rocksteady thing. This album highlights the essense of the man. A man who smoked so much Ganja that he burnt down his own studio in a fit of paranoia.
The only perceived weakness could be the repeativeness of the tracks, however this reflects upon the scene surrounding the soundsystems of Jamaica, and not scratch's ability to produce original material (and original his material was).
A personal favorite song is Roots Train by Dillinger, which climaxes in what would now be called a rap, and gives us a tangible link to modern day music. However the songs aim is to highlight the plight of the Rasta, who suffered in a Jamaica where Ganja was illegal.
All in all an exception introduction to the world of Dub Reggae and more than that it highlights that Reggae exists, moreover is waiting to be discovered, beyond its figurehead Bob Marley.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2001
Alongside Marleys 4 CD box set, Songs of Freedom, this is the starting point for anybody wanting to build a deeper love for reggae music. This is the platform from which to explore all the featured artists included in this seminal 52 track, 3 CD set. For hardcore and long-term purists take the chance to grab 15 previously unreleased versions. This is not only a cornerstone to any collection but also a perfect guide to move forward into loads more crucial reggae sounds. Many of these tracks are also to be found on essential albums such as the Congos newer CD package of 'Heart of the Congos', the wonderous 'To Be A Lover' by George Faith, and 'War Inna Babylon' by Max Romeo just for starters... and lest we forget, it also serves as a breathtaking insight into the genius of Mr. Perry.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Can't fault the delivery, ordered yesterday and it arrived this morning. However the quality of the CD's 2 and 3 are not good, to the point they are barely playable, due to the fact they keep skipping. And no, it's not my expensive CD player. NOT IMPRESSED.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)