Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Heavy Soul
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 March 2017
I have come back to this album after 20 years and the memory, synchronicity that pulsed makes it a favorite. Brushed, up in Suzy's Room particularly. But I have also restocked other albums of Weller's and will be bingeing out soon. A great writer. Passionate and timeless. It amazes me that his passage through The Jam and Style Council still encompasses great work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Good album, but no "Wildwood" or "Stanley Road". Sounds a bit muddy, and is like a cross between his early solo stuff with a Style Council influence to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Have been a big fan of Paul Weller for years, but realised I didn't have all his albums, so decided to start a collection (will be seeing him in December in concert)

Loved this album, every one of his albums is different, but this was definitely more "soulful" than some of his others, and would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
Following on from the heady success of "Stanley Road", this album struck something of a sour note.

From the muddy opening chords of the title track to the heady rush of "Brushed", the well-rounded quality of "Stanley Road" seemed to be broken off leaving rougher edges.

The opening four tunes are of sound quality. "Up In Suze's Room" bringing a summery breeze to the heavier songs either side of it.

Where it starts to fall apart is on tracks like "Driving Nowhere" and "Golden Sands" - barely B-sides. Quality control issues or writer's block seemed to be an issue here for a songwriter of such stature to include these half-songs on an album. The same is true of "As You Lean Into The Light" which has potential to travel then grinds to a halt.

More impressive is the sharp "Science" and charming "Mermaids."

The smoky, apologetic ballad - "I Should Have Been There To Inspire You" - is an overlooked classic.

The sound is at time abrasive and a little discordant. There are some nuggets of tracks on here but as an album there's a handful of songs on here that don't cut the mustard and for an artist of Paul Weller's talent and stature it's reasonable to expect more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2005
....and I just can't get bored with it. An exellent album from Paul Weller. As usual an eclectic range of excellent songs from a very underrated performer. This man has got soul. He can get you rocking along with him one moment and then touch you with the sincerity of a wonderful ballad. He displays how he is influenced by many types of music - rock, soul, dub reggae,mod. Buy and enjoy for years.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2001
To follow the multi-platinum success of the Stanley Road album, Weller strips back the production and takes his groove ridden angst to another new place. No compromise for chart action here.
It's rumoured he was wrestling with personal demons while making the album and with the angry guitar slashes and impassioned vocals of the opening eponymous track and the rocking single "Peacock Suit", you can feel it. They really bristle with energy and vibes.
In much the same way as his towering stage presence, a lot of Weller's recorded work has an astonishing physicality. His songs seem to squirm and push at the edges with real dynamic force.
However the standout Track on Heavy Soul is "Up In Suze's Room", a smokey, hazy accoustic lope of a song which sees the protagonist getting wasted with his new love and loving it. Achingly fabulous.
By this artist's impeccably high standards though, there are a couple of songs which don't really come across to the listener: "Heavy Soul II" is infuriatingly faded in as a stand alone instrumental. "Brushed" has a great voodoo groove and more of that sinewy dynamism but is never as exciting as the first four bars promise. "As You Lean Into The Light" lacks the warmth of Weller's usual sincerity and he sounds detatched and maudlin.
Still, a fascinating album by this finest of singer songwriters and a worthy companion to this year's standout "Heliocentric" collection.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
I've been best mates with my best mate(dur!...obviously!) for over 25 years. He got this album before me, and when he remarked to me that it was "obvious filler", we fell out, and he had to buy me several pints before I would speak to him again.

I really like it. It oozes class. Right from the opening riffs of Heavy Soul Part I through to Friday Street. The tracks that will live forever are obvious...Peacock Suit, Brushed and Friday Street, but there are other unforgettable songs in between, too.

Who else gives you a dozen anthems every time you buy one of his albums?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Heavy Soul was recorded almost entirely live and it has some superb songs on it, most notably "Heavy Soul" "Peacock Suit" and "Friday Street"
I find it quite a harsh album to listen to though, it seems to lack sentiment and conviction at times. "Driving Nowhere" isnt even a B-Side and "Golden Sands" is pretty pathetic.
For a studio album it really feels unfinished, with a bit more spit and polish it could have been a right good one, but were left with an average album from an exceptional songwriter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
I really don't get people's downer on this album. I really love it and find it sits beautifully alongside Paul's debut (which was itself royally put down for many years), Wildwood and Stanley Road. Real music, depth, and really warm sounds that I've loved ever since I first heard it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
This album has some cracking tracks the aim was for weller to make a uncommercial record or so the rumour was still a great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)