Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2017
Absolutely fabulous. 2 hours of great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Great album. Super quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
This album was compiled from recordings made at two shows on 23 and 24 October 1970 and it reflects Clapton in transition from the megawatt onslaught of Live Cream to the rootsiness of 461 Ocean Boulevard. What you get, in fact, are live versions of songs from the Layla album (minus the title track) and selected cuts from what were then his other recent projects, as a solo artist (Bottle of Red Wine), a member of Blind Faith(Presence of the Lord) and as a guitarist for Delaney and Bonnie (Tell the Truth). In fact the Dominoes were essentially Delaney and Bonnie's rhythm section, and on this showing,what a fine band they were. Excellent versions of Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?, Key to the Highway and Blues Power are, for me, the highlights. I could live without the drum solo (but then I always can, unless it's Jon Hiseman) and Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out is a tad sloppy, but I'm splitting hairs. This is a chance to hear Clapton stretching out with a tight and reliable band behind him and doing what he does best: weaving magical solos over a bedrock of hot rhythm. Two hours of buttery seventies' blues rock and worth every penny of the price of admission.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
As a fourteen year old I couldn't afford this and now i'm an adult
and can! It was certainly worth the wait to hear it.
Why are all the best live albums made at that time in that hall?
It was a great era in rock.
Best track for me is the old standard Nobody knows you when you're down and out.
Dominoes were a smokin band before they all succumbed to drugs etc
Read Bobby Whitlock's autobiography for the lowdown on this and making Layla
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Absolutely brilliant, never stop listening to it, especially on a long drive. Let it Rain, Crossroads and Blues Power, just awesome. Buy it if you are a Clapton fan, buy it if you are a music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
For me this represents Clapton's finest moment on record - superb soloing and great interaction with an amazing band on top form!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
I know we had 'The in Concert' album all those years ago.These tracks had been compiled from tapes made at The Fillmore in 1970.Poor sound and a limited amount of tunes.Well now we have a whole concert from the same two shows. What a treat , what a revelation ...Listen to this amazing band play what you wanted them to play in the first place...Clapton is on fire and to my mind this band was were the greatest group of musicians he ever surrounded himself with period.Anybody at all interested in the power of those early years when all these incredible bands were seeping out from under the shadow of the 60's, then please give this wonderful piece of history a good listen.Highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Eric Clapton, Bobby Whitlock, Carl Radle and Jim Gordon play some truly memorable live blues rock on this fine double album.
Clapton may not have had too high an opinion of himself as a singer at this point (he seems more comfortable playing his guitar), but his performance is really very good, and a few of the songs, such as the 14-minute "Got To Get Better In A Little While", would actually have benefitted from a little more singing and a little less guitar.
Sure, Eric Clapton is a tremendous blues player, but listening to him playing four ten-minute solos can be a little bit too much, especially since not all of his solos are innovative enough to keep you interested after the first four or five minutes.

But having said that, most of these live cuts are a very welcome addition to the Clapton legacy, especially the superb take on Big Bill Broonzy's "Key To The Highway", the rocking "Bottle Of Red Wine" and "Blues Power" (nice boogie piano by Whitlock), and the eerie "Crossroads". But every cut is strong, really, and I can't imagine anyone who is into early Eric Clapton not liking this fine album.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2006
This is my favourite Eric Clapton album - which is saying something given the vast number he's produced over the years.

Here we have Clapton caught in his prime; Cream was in a way an excellent warm up for his technical skills, but at times lacked a melodic and emotional interest, the former now introduced in the form of Bobby Whitlock. Also, before starting the brief Dominoes tour Clapton had been recording the Layla album with fellow guitarist, the amazingly talented Duane Allman, and this meeting of minds surely informed Clapton's playing.

Then we have his love of Patti Harrison in its full unrequited glory...

This album finds Clapton taking the reigns in a band which affords him ample opportunity to stretch out on extended instrumentals whilst never straying too far from a poignant melody. In fact although some people comment that Clapton seems reticent and constrained he appears at his most inventive and ingenious. The vocal performance is also fairly strong and bristling with emotion.

Fortunately for an album recorded in the 70s the sound quality is excellent and well mixed.

In short a phenomenal album and essential for Clapton fans but is also accessible for novices...
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2004
This album showcases Clapton in one of his greatest phases. Yes, with the Stratocaster his guitar sound was weaker and less confident, but brilliant none the less. It is his song-writing and singing that were really developing at this point though. Songs like Roll it Over, Let it Rain and Why does love... are on no 'best of' to my knowledge, but they are fantastic songs, full of energy. Eric has always had a great voice, but here it is particularly soulful. Bobby Whitlock complements him perfectly on the harmonies, and you almost regret when the solos start, and I love Clapton solos. Eric went on to record a load of laid back albums where the emphasis was on his warm voice and writing, but I wish he had stayed as a domino for longer. Do not buy this if you are not a fan, but if you are, it is essential.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)