Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 October 2017
Son needed this for help with school rehearsals, disc great condition, great fun songs for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2017
As described.😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
Arrived the next day. ( Sunday ) I couldn't believe it. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2004
I bought this CD as I wanted to hear it again after all these years. Jason Donovan is excellent as Joseph, and David Easter (Pete Callahan in Family Affairs) is superb as the Elvis-style Pharoah! It is a great sing along CD, and will be especially enjoyable if you saw the original West End production starring Jason Donovan at the London Palladium in the early 1990s. The lyrics (all provided in the inlay) are really cheesy but it is just great fun to listen to. I think Joseph was one of the best Lloyd-Webber/Rice musicals, and have listened to my CD countless times without getting sick of it. Listen to the clips on Amazon too! They are not very good quality but give you a good idea of how the songs sound if you have forgotten.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 January 2018
Although I act in various local amateur productions, I'm not a regular theatre goer myself, and certainly wouldn't count the soundtracks of such productions as among my desired musical preferences, but the album of the 1991 revival of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rices' 'Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat', which starred Jason Donovan at the possible height of his popularity, contains two irresistible tracks that I can't help but tap my feet too.

The songs in question are 'Jacob and Sons / Joseph's Coat', which is a joyful singalong, and the haunting 'Go, Go, Go Joseph', where the lead character finds his luck was ''really out'' but this fine storyteller soon turns things around to real optimum. For me, these are worth the investment alone, or at least an individual download, but I also like the enchanting 'Pharaoh Story' and 'Close Every Door To Me, as well 'Poor, Poor Pharaoh', where Linzi Hateley's singing is particularly good. I can give or take the rest, but they have generally aged well enough for children to really enjoy the majority of them today.

Naturally very cheesy and camp in most places, this is an overall 'fun' album which contains the aforementioned two tracks that never fail to bring a smile to my face. The story of Joseph is told through the songs on this soundtrack, and if you enjoyed hearing them in any production, you'll enjoy listening to them again here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 July 2009
Going back to my school days this was something we learnt and performed for the parents open day around 1970. Then, I saw the West End production with Paul Jones (ex Manfred Man) and finally this production with JD.
This was Jason Donovan at this best and probably most popular time although he was excellent in Chitty, Chitty as well.
This recording is top drawer and when you think the show is still playing to packed houses today then it is just as good as back in 1991.
The CD is the best option for sound quality but if you are offered the cassette buy it as it is a great buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2001
I have heard no less than FIVE official English JOSEPH cast recordings, and I feel compelled to say that this version with Jason Donovan in the eponymous title character is the best of all I've heard. Jason Donovan brings a level of emotion into his portrayal that seems to be missing from Donny Osmond's (a little) and Michael Damian's (a lot) portrayals. He really understands the essence of his songs, and he never fails to incorporate this into his glossy polished performance. The fact that he performs the role with a sense of being naive gives him an edge over his contendors. Linzi Hateley's portrayal of the Narrator is, like Kelli Rabke's and Janet Metz of the American revival soundtracks, and Laurie Beechman's of the first professional American version, a real treat for the ears. The things that she shares with them is her charisma, immediate presence and love for telling the story. Her voice is lively and energetic, and her performance is enough to count her as another defining highlight, like Donovan. Perhaps the most impressive part of this performance is David Easter's portrayal of the Elviessque Pharaoh. Not only does he give an authentic Elvis accent, but he really makes the part his own and includes a few touches of humour into his "Seven Fat Cows" song, turning it into the most ticklish number on this CD. The brothers, though they are more human on this recording than others, deliver powerful choral backings and make the most of their songs. Nicolas Colicos's "One More Angel," Philip Cox's "Canaan Days" and Johnny Amobi's "Benjamin Calypso" all resonate for an extremely long time in the memory. Johnny Amobi's "Calypso,", I should say, is the best rendition of all those I've heard. The supporting chorus contribute superlative quality performances, though you can't hear them on some numbers, resulting from the slightly poor mixing job, that does not affect the high quality of the recorded sound. This doesn't matter as you can make out what they are singing. As for Aubrey Woods, he makes the parts of Jacob and Potiphar his own, and delivers an extremely fierce and powerful roar towards the end of Potiphar's song. The orchestrations are well done and well-characterised, and the Elizabethan-ballad-styled "Go, Go, Go, Joseph" is extremely telling. This is not as cheesy as some may think, as only two synthesizers were used. Overall, I can safely say that because of the highest quality performance presented on this recording, if you want to buy just one record of this entertaining musical, you should make it this one. It is miles better than the seemingly-dated Original Broadway version, or the American revivals, (I have no bias against the American recordings, but it is just that the high quality of this version is not there. Nevertheless, the Americans make the musical their own and do their best at it.)
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
Great music, great lyrics, Jason Donovan makes a fantastic Joseph. This is my all-time favourite musical and I had to upgrade to the MP3 version from the audio cassette I've had since I was 15! Brilliant....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2001
I first purchased this album as a cassette at the time Jason Donovan was starring in the West End. I have been desperately trying to purchase it on CD since my cassette broke! It is an excellent version of this well know Lloyd-Webber musical. Listening to it, you could almost be in the theatre. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2006
Joseph and the amazing Technicolor dreamcoat was Andrew Lloyd Webber's first all musical work and his first collaboration with his best lyricist Tim Rice. It all began when in 1967 Lloyd Webber and his friend Rice were commissioned by the head of music at Colet Court School, London, to write a religious concert for the school choir. Joseph was first presented in 1968 and, after further performances at St Paul's Cathedral and the Roundhouse in London, and the Edinburgh Festival, opened in the West End in 1973. It wasn't much of a success, however, until Webber bought the rights to it in the early 90-is, reworked it and put it on stage a very successful production that is still running and has been put in many other countries in the world and filmed for a special DVD.

The plot uses motives from a well known biblical story of Joseph, the youngest son of Jacob, patriarch of Israel, and the coat of many colors that Jacob gave to Joseph as a sign that he is the special one among his sons. Joseph's older brothers became jealous and sold Joseph to be a slave in Egypt, telling their father that he's been killed by a passing goat. After being imprisoned by his equally jealous master, Joseph helps the pharaoh in solving his enigmatic dreams and becomes his first adviser who saves Egypt from the great famine. Back in Canaan, Joseph's brothers and father are starving and so the brothers go to Egypt where food is in abundance. Joseph recognizes them, but not vice versa. After he learns them a lesson because of their past behavior, Joseph is reunited with his brothers and father in Egypt.

This show is mostly aimed at kids, but can be viewed and heard by people of all ages. The songs are mostly pop and a merry note can be found in most of them. Also, this show is supposed to be fun, so there are numerous vocal styles in it. For example, there is a country song that the brothers sing; at the other point they sing a French chanson with the French accents. The pharaoh sings like Elvis and one song is in calypso tone. Overall, it's a nice whole of diverse songs and singing styles. Tim Rice has written his funniest lyrics, blending beautifully with the score. The most notable songs are "Any dream will do" and "Close every door" sung by Joseph and the big number "Jacob and sons"

This London cast recording features Jason Donovan, the Australian pop singer as Joseph and Linzi Hately as a female narrator. Donovan's voice isn't as strong as that of the American Joseph Donny Osmond, but his voice has the boyish vibretto that Osmond lacks. Hately's soprano follows the speedy tempo of her songs with ease. The booklet contains photos and full lyrics.

The flashy production of Joseph can be seen at the DVD of the same name with Donny Osmond playing the lead. Joseph remains a part of Webber-Rice trilogy that cannot be overlooked.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse