Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
196
Tears Roll Down [Greatest Hits 82-92]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2010
"Everybody wants to rule the world" has always been my favourite record, so decided to buy this album. I remember when it won Record of the Year. Why I had never brought this album before I do not know! Brilliant album, brings back lots of very happy memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
As a Hobby DJ I have to keep my music selection relevant, wide spread of styles and it has to be quality production. This Album has many popularly requested tracks and others which are useful for any DJ or Anybody with a taste for this style of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2016
Had a little 80s renaissance recently. No idea why, just went very retro for my teenage years. Purchased a number of CDs, including this one!
Great to hear some of these songs again, especially Mad World. A lot better than I remember.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2014
more nostalgia but at least it is more modern nostalgia ,as with all best of,s it has all the favourites ,the best sellers and those tracks that where enjoyed so much but never became singles for whatever reason ,well they are all here ,enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2012
I got this album in cassette back in 1992 and I played it very often to a point of the tape wearing out. Probably the best set of greatest hits there is, so I had to buy it again and enjoy it all over again. Not a duff track on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2002
This 1992 compilation was released shortly before Roland Olazabel's first TFF album release without long-time partner Curt Smith onboard (ie, the 'Elemental' album). It covers the first three Olazabel-Smith albums between 1983 and 1989, namely The Hurting, Songs From The Big Chair and The Seeds of Love.
For the general listener this adequately covers this body of work, however, twelve tracks is a little mean and they are not even listed chronologically, thus listeners can't really hear the long-term development of the TFF sound with any real meaning. Perhaps their best ever track, the gorgeous fluidic pop of The Hurting (the title track of their first album) is inexplicably missing. This was a 'lost' hit single that never materialised from the album, but was certainly one of their cornerstone pieces. However, a worthy and poppy reworking of the Tears Roll Down cut, especially made for the compilation (which was originally a bonus track on latter copies of The Seeds Of Love) represents the last time Olazabel and Smith worked together as a unit before splitting acrimoniously in 1990.
Nevertheless, gripes apart, this is a decent enough compilation which will introduce the first time TFF listener to the all their 1980's singles and a couple of album tracks thrown in, most of which are truly great and memorable songs. A decade on from this (and to celebrate 20 years since the release of Mad World in 1982),one hopes that this will eventually be replaced by a more contemporary compilation covering TFF's 1980's and 1990's releases, to include great songs such as Break It Down Again, Raul & The Kings of Spain plus material from their excellent Saturnine Martial & Lunatic album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2015
I absolutely am obsessed with tears for fears, so this album is my favourite. It was in perfect condition with some pretty darned amazing tracks :) track 5 gets listened too excessively :) recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2012
Having seen TFF on youtube recently it brought back memories so decided to buy their 80s greatest hits. The CD arrived within the timescale specified and I am very pleased with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2016
Good cd for your collection from Tears for Fears classic tracks of Thier hits especially Tears Roll Down and Mad World got here quickly pleased with service from supplier would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2013
As soon as I got this CD I absolutely loved it. I listened to pretty much all of it. If you're a Tears for Fears fan. Please, please, please get this CD. You will not regret it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)