Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 March 2017
They've redeemed themselves here with one of the best albums of the 90s. How the hell did this happen?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
Powerful. Perhaps the first post rock album. I don't know but I know that it's not like anything else. Some of it sounds like they are still tuning up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2016
post rock classic, the track ' captain ' is still on my playlist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2015
Good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2015
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2014
Great album pity seller sold what seems like a copied disc, blank cd received with low level sound reproduction that didn't play on my sensitive in car cd player.... Sent response to seller who seemingly couldn't give a toss and simply said return it if I didn't like it.. Thing is I like the CD just not the quality of what one purchased....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
Many other reviewers have already expressed my own thoughts on this momentous and brilliant album so I won't try to equal their efforts merely to add some personal observations.
First it is timeless and the band still re-convenes infrequently to play it live, indeed the studio album has a "recorded live" feel to it.
Secondly, to me listening to the overall feel and structure it bears a striking resemblance to King Crimson's "Larks Tongues in Aspic" in the length and pattern of the tracks and inasmuch that it works better when listened to as a whole rather than as individual songs.
Beginning with the quietly ominous "Breadcrumb Trail" and winding through inexorably to the denouement of "Good Morning Captain" I like to think of it as a musical "Blair Witch Project" where branches snap and twigs crackle for no obvious reason and we don't get to see what it is we've been terrified of until the very last scenes.
Repeated listening is rewarding as one becomes familiar with every nuance and note, the silences and the sudden changes in mood and volume.
Considering the relative youth of the band members at the time of recording it is remarkable for its longevity, maturity and precociousness. Indeed it
may be that twenty years on the band themselves have only recently grown into understanding the greatness of what they created.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2004
I bought "Spiderland" on the same day as Codeine,s "Frigid Stars". If you are one of those less enlightened people who equate "depressing music" with being depressed that you,d have thought that was a real bummer of a day. On the contrary i was as happy as Robbie Williams in front of a full length mirror. Two stone cold classics in one day. Memories are made of this.
"Spiderland" shares "Frigid Stars" same wracked emotional landscape but is if anything even more bereft of hope.Skeletal guitars which are fleshed out by sudden squalls of caustic noise adorn this album. The sound is stark and unembellished. The vocals are mostly spoken in a tired resigned voice,dry as autumn leaves after an Indian summer.When the torpor is lifted by guitars that squeal like a stuck pig or the vocals rise to a pitiful howl its startling.
Never is this more superbly illusrated than on the albums undoubted highlight "Good Morning Captain" A plangent guitar motif gives way to a precise rolling drunbeat.The voice is innervated,bled of all emotion. The guitars occasionally morph into discordant streams of uncluttered noise. Then at the songs epoch they surge and seethe and the vocallist screams, and i mean really screams....a howl of such pain and anguish it travels up your spine like a bullet.I kid you not, it,s one of the greatest moments in the history of recorded music.
Needless to say it,s worth owning this album for that track alone and it,s one tiny problem is that nothing else comes near to matching it. In terms of consistency "Frigid Stars" is actually the superior work but at these elevated levels of artistry it,s fairly irrelevant."Spiderland"is a landmark release and listening to it again for the first time in a long time for the purposes of this review has been a draining experience.It remains with you long after the last note has faded and that is the mark of all truly great music.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2008
One of the few things Pitchfork gets right, Spiderland is both one of the most "important" rock albums (whatever that means) as well as one of the best. It lives in its own universe, and sounds like nothing else even though so many people were influenced by it.

I won't try to take it apart track-by-track, as this is a concept album (the good kind). All you need to know is that it is crushingly intense and hypnotic.

Oh, and you _really_ have to play it loud, or it won't have the same impact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2008
Hell, this record is so good, I got it on cd, lp and a back up copy on minidisc just in case... if my house were on fire I would save the vinyle before my housemates - and I like them.

Just listened to the vinyl again today and it rips the hell out of so much other stuff, this makes my all-time top 10...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)