Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2003
This is a gem hidden away in the hundreds of hip hop albums that are being rolled off the production line at the moment, and is an album which shines out in almost every aspect. The lyric writing is strong, the producing of the every track is first class, and both of the guys skip, ooze and slide over every beat. track 14 is stunning, and the rest of the album matches with the best. Considering when this album was first released, time seems not to have affected any of it, and could be re-released now without any problems. Ahead of its time, Atliens is a must have for any hip hop lovers. Hip hop at its best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
ATLiens is brilliant from start to finish. It has no 'album filler' tracks, skits are kept to an absolute minimum and both production and lyricism is flawless. Stankonia and Aquemini are both great too but this shines above them both. Like an Illmatic - let the beats and the rhymes do the real talking. Purists still stand by Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik but for me, the tracks were not consistently brilliant, seem aged and some sections egenerally seem to be there as filler.

Add a superb 'ufo-esque' theme to the mixand you have an album which sounds like no other. One track even has a wierd toy laughing in the background. The mood of the album seems dark, which increases it's appeal.

Nice artwork, clever title, I could go on and on about this....

In fact it is so good that my mate (huge Outkast fan) revisited this one and 'conceded' that in retrospect this is their best album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
This is a cross over album but technical and beautifully crafted something about it keeps you coming back even though you know how badly outkast sell out eventually. Elevators. Atliens. Cadilac All great tracks as is wheels of steel, another must have classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
having all the outkast albums except the first two, i didnt think anything could match their 3rd album Aquemini, but after listening to this once, i havent stopped playing it. it really is an excellent album with brilliant lyrics and production. if your a music/outkast fan then BUY THIS NOW you will not be dissapointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
About 2yrs ago, I bought this album......unfortunately, I accidently bought the clean version. On first listen, the "rude words" being blanked out intitially put me off, but after a few listens, not even that could disguise the dark beauty of this classic.

This is Dre and Big Boi at their best, displaying their undeniable lyrical ability. I feel you need to buy this album before purcahsing Aquemini, once you have heard this, it will all fall into place. I feel, an all round better album, with Two Dope Boys and Elevators being the obvious stand out tracks.

This is such a quality album, I am now rebuying it in the form of the unedited version.....and am looking forward to finding out what the missing words are!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2008
this is outkasts best album in my opinion. they have a more mature laid back tone and spacey beats

this is also an album you listen to from start to finish without touching it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
Outkast are like some kind of drug. I first bought Aquemini, then bought ATLiens. I'm well & truly hooked, for anyone who hasn't heard southern rap you've missed out. Musically laid back, but stirring at the same time. Tight beats, smooth lyrics and sensational production. Comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2002
I first listened to outkast when stankonia was released in England. Their smooth beats got me hooked and funky lyrics. Atliens i reckon is better than Stankonia. It has a blend of Rnb and old skool hip hop. If you like any of these Genres then you'll love this album
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
Bought this as part of a birthday present for my other half, he asked for the Outkast cd collection. He's made up with them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2004
This is by far my favourite Outkast album. IT is seriousley melodic and mellow, which may sound different from the tracks you get from the Outkast boys now, but it still has there signature southern sound. This album takes me away somewhere different every time I listen to it, there is a number of tracks that really give you that chill down your spine and the hair on your arms stand up! Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)