Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
32
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
31
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2007
It's a real grower, this album. When I first listened to it, I couldn't see what the fuss was about, really. It sounded just like another chill-out CD, albeit better than the others. But after repeated listens, I started to appreciate how accomplished it was. The mix is so seamless that you can't work out where one track stops and another begins. Basically, if this is a chill-out CD, then it pretty much redefines the whole genre. This is not about loosely stringing together some nice tunes; this is about sounds, tempo, and rhythm. Normally with a review, I'd point out the good tracks, but in this case it's pretty much irrelevant here. The tunes picked by K&D merely help them achieve the tempo and rhythm they want. Each tune has been masterfully tweaked and re-engineered. It's dub, drum & bass, funk and jazz. My brother, who is a classically trained, loves it.

Basically, this is head and shoulders the best of the DJ Kicks series, and quite possibly the best chill-out album ever made.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2001
After being mightily impressed by the K+D sessions I wasn't sure whether this would live up to the standards it set. How wrong I was. Perhaps a more coherent mix than sessions, it mixes styles and tempos seamlessy. Bassy trip hop melts into glacial drum and bass, with the acidic electro of Hardfloor rubbing shoulders with down tempo, almost folky guitar towards the end of the mix. If you want something different from the usual mix cd fare buy this. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
Right from the start with the opening track of Herbaliser 'mother' you can see that Kruder and Dorfmeister are on top form with the funky bass line that just takes you along. With top remixes of The LabRats and the awsome Thievery corporation you can't but help to just sit back and let the melodies and break-beats wash over you. I throughly enjoyed listening to this albulm, and I have reserved a special place for it in my CD collection.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
A truly sublime mix album, where each song effortly drifts in to the next, its entire Seventy-two minutes utterly captivating. The equivalent of having my entire, diverse, music collection put together to fit on one CD. It is now, when I think back, that I admit that this album seems to be on all the time, in the car, when I am working and when I am just kicking back. A masterpiece.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2005
Kruder & Dorfmeister created the benchmark for the DJ Kicks series and at the same time put it on the proverbial 'Dance map'. Seamless mixing throughout leaves the listener dumbfounded as to where each track starts and ends. Track selection is innovative and fresh. There are those that complain about 'knowing ' some of the songs... Okay, at this stage many people who listen to dance music regularly will have heard some of the tracks on this album. But so what? It came out a good while ago and still wreaks havoc with partygoers, and isn't that the true test of a good CD? For newcomers to the Dance music genre this DJ Kicks release is a cornerstone. It blends many different genres and produces an educated and innovative sound that breaks down barriers rather than puts them up. Neither before nor since this release have any of the other DJ Kicks albums come close. The also rans :-Smith and Mighty got lost in a cut & paste D&B haze and lost the plot. Thievery did the job okay but were rather predictable and created a somewhat forgetful mix and Kid Loco missed the boat completely with his DJ Kicks album. Get K&D DJ Kicks and learn. Play it for your mother some Sunday afternoon. Bring it to a party and put it on at midnight......
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2000
I got this album after becoming aurally attached to K+D Sessions. Like that one, I hadn't heard of most of the artists on the compilation but if that puts you off too then don't hesitate cos this isn't about artists and tracks, it's about the most original, refreshing, uplifting mix of drum'n'bass and breakbeat you'll ever hear (tell me if you think otherwise!) mixed fluently so that each track assimilates unnnoticed into the next track. I wouldn't call it ambient but it is great to chill out to, buy this you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2000
If CDs wore out this one wouldn't work anymore. Very rich, definitely not formulaic, and packed with intelligence. A pleasure to work to, relax with and drive past. Indulge yourself. ''If you only buy one album this month etc''...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
I was thinking back one about how Musik Magazine used to do lovely little round ups of the year, Top 100 albums, Top 100 singles, all that sort of the malarkey back in the day when the quality of these lists were undiluted with commercial rubbish and hype. I cast my mind back to the last quality one I could remember, vague memories brought back an issue where DJ Shadow had topped the Top 100 albums with Endtroducing and then I remembered that this had snuck in at the top of the Top 100 compilations. So take stock that its in very good company if its sharing the limelight with Endtroducing.
I'd passed over this enough times in the shops before deciding to take the plunge with it. I should have really got it long before. Downtempo beats sit alongside jazz drum and bass, all with the emphasis on chillage. Great tracks like Mother (For Your Revolution) from the earlier days of The Herbalizer, and the jazzy take on of Blue Moon with K&D's very own High Noon. The guys apparently spent 3 whole days giving this the full mix down in the recording studio and it shows. The mixes flow around tempos and styles with ease without jarring or sounding erratic. Listen how the exclusive outro track from K&D mirrors the samples and moods of the starter from The Herbalizer for example, some real thought has gone into crafting the perfect CD.
This deservingly sat at the top of the tree back on its release and nowadays its still as good and puts most other 'chill' releases to shame. Its the best thing I've heard from K&D, and if this floats your boat like it did mine, you can do no wrong to head to the K&D Sessions album they did.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2001
I originally bought this for a friend, as I had the Sessions already whicb everyone agreed is great. He rated it as great music for driving, which is very true. The tape's done one year's service and is still the choice of the masses. Out of the car it rates very highly too. It might take a couple of runs through to completely appreciate it, but it's definitely worth it. Probably the best album I own (the other contender being the Sessions, which says it all really).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
One of the best mixed CD's ever produced.
You can leave the whole album on and not have to skip through any tracks
Great for back ground music ,listening to a party or flowing through your MP3 player
K & D haven't filled up the CD with rubbish , which appears to happen on a lot of mixed CD's.
This album has stood the test of time and will continue to sound fresh for many years to come
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.81
£6.87

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)