Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
4.8 out of 5 stars
Tapestry
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 November 2000
A truly memorable debut album in my opinion, dealing with issues which were uppermost in the mind of 25 year old Don McLean in 1970. Contains an insight into Don's fine guitar playing and delivered in the crisp tones which would become so familiar in the following years. The title track unfortunately had the same name as a Carole King song from the same era and was often confused with it, but the album hits home hard with it's dealings with environmental,racial and other social issues ('Orphans of Wealth','Tapestry','General Store','Respectable','Circus Song','Magdalene Lane'). For good measure,'And I Love You So' and 'Castles In The Air' became great hits. This album occupies a valued place in my heart.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2000
Don McLean recorded "Tapestry" in 1969. At this time, he was a relatively unknown folk singer and he applied to over 30 record companies before Mediarts agreed to release it. When the record company was taken over, he was signed by United Artists and went on to release American Pie in 1972. After this enormous success, Tapestry was re released and finally charted high on both sides of the Atlantic. It is one of his greatest albums and has been hugely underrated. It was produced by Jerry Corbitt of "The Youngbloods" and includes two of Don's most famous songs: "And I Love You So" and "Castles in the Air". Each song tells a powerful story - It is a must have for anyone who enjoyed "American Pie" a long, long time ago.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
This album was recorded back in 1971, at a time when the artist can only have been in his mid-twenties. The texts show a unusual maturity, a psychological insight rarely found in so young a singer.... To be highly recommended, especially to those who appreciate songs of protest. Also musically very strong: You will understand what I mean if you yourself play guitar !
A young man who believes every word he sings... America at its best !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Remember my brother buying this in 1971 and the next year getting American Pie. These are song of my childhood and have a special place. But theyre not throwaway nostalgia..no def not. The issues these songs deal with are very powerful and of course as a 13 year old it wasnt until much later that i appreciated them. General Store for example is as good a song about racism as The lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll by Dylan. Orphans of Wealth has unfortunately become as relevant today as it was then. Three Flights Up with its beautiful closing lines (Step off the platform and onto the train/look out the window into the rain/watch all the building that pass as you ride and count all the stories that go on inside/then ask yrself, if it must be this way. Should walls and doors and plaster ceilings, separate us from each others feelings) is such a sad song about separation between parent and child. A beautiful album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 August 2015
Many people would plump for American Pie as their favourite McLean album. To me Tapestry is on a par.

It is also an album of great purity and beauty with And i Love You So one of the most romantic songs ever written. But there are other songs of note as well that almost make this a companion album to American Pie. Magdalene Lane, Castles in the Air and Three Flights Up are as good as anything on American Pie (apart from the title track of course). If you have the album American Pie you should also purchase this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2010
This is an album I managed to borrow on vynil in the 1970s but never got round to buying for myself. I had almost forgotten about it and thought it would no longer be available so pleasantly surprised to find the album on CD so took the opportunity to renew my acquaintence with it.

The price was a secondary issue, though still excellent value, and still an excellent album after all these years. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys good music with the craft of a wordsmith par excellence.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Always loved this and was glad to get a CD copy BUT beware if you buy 2nd hand and get the 1994 "BGO" pressing - the CD has a fault at 3.20 on track 3 , there is an audio drop-out that is very annoying. Other reviewers mention this so its not just my copy.... I see that Amazon have a 2011 version on sale now- I don't know if the fault has been corrected as I haven't heard or bought the 2011 release , it would be nice to think so ...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
A great album by the extremely talented Don McLean. Some beautifully crafted songs here, just buy and listen to a master at work. (Slight caveat - there still seems to be a problem as others have reported with some copies having a glitch but just return and replace if that should happen)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
A truly lovely CD that brought back lots of memories.
Well packed and arrived quickly, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2016
I already have the record from the early 1970's now I can listen to this without any extra effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)