Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
30
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

'Blues Alive' has to be the best place to go to hear Gary Moore powering out the blues with feeling and gusto. Not only is it a great Moore album, it is also an excellent live blues album. You get the soulful melancholy of tracks like 'Separate Ways', still one of my favourite blues tracks even after all these years, to more upbeat songs like 'Oh Pretty Woman' and 'Walking By Myself'. In addition to these tracks you get what is probably one of the best renditions of 'Parisienne Walkways' i've ever heard and considering how overplayed that song has become, that is saying something. Moores guitar tone and feel is amazing and will give you goosebumps. If you buy this album it will soon become required listening for years to come and will be something you keep coming back to, to be amazed and put in awe. Deserves every star it gets!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2007
This is Gary at his blues peak for me, when he was still rockin' up the blues. Nowadays he's more of a purist's blues player but the concert captured on this CD is Gary really kicking, his Les Paul and Marshall singing as sweetly as they did on the Still Got The Blues album. If you love that album and the follow-up After Hours, then this is the perfect partner to those two.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
If there is a better example of high octane blues/rock guitar playing out there I have yet to hear it, and I've been playing and listening for over 30 years. Gary had "it" all...the tone, touch, technique, dynamics, taste etc etc, but above all else, (and this is what elevates him above all other players in my opinion), he had unparalleled amounts of soul and passion. The guy put his heart on the line with every performance, and played every note like it was all that mattered. It didn't surprise, me, (though I'm still gutted nearly 4 years on), that he died of an heart attack. I reckon we've all got only so much to give, and he did so, consistently for over 40 years.
Of course the blues snobs/purists will argue that he played too many notes, that he showboated too much, that he played too loud blah de blah, but nowhere is there a "Blues Bible" that says it has to be played "just so". Playing with conviction and feel is what matters, and volume/number of notes is irrelevant. Gary pandered to this nonsense, and toned down his playing for a few years, to be more "authentic", but I think he realised that in fact he was being less so...he wasn't being true to himself...and his last performance showed that he was getting his fire back.
There are lots of terrific players out there in this genre...Joe B, Simon McBride, Ben Poole, Phillip Sayce etc who continue to carry the torch, but everyone of them will admit that a "light" went out when Gary left us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
Sad news following the passing of gary moore on 6/2/11 a much underrated guitarist. Blues alive is a collection of live recordings from 1992, the majority of tracks coming from the still got the blues and after hour albums, with albert collins appearing on too tired, stand out tracks are obviously parisienne walkways with phil lynott (probably the best version ever) still got the blues, and cold day in hell, but they are all great with gary really making the guitar talk. This is a good collection of songs with gary probably sounding better live than in the studio. Lets hope this musician gets the full recognition he deserves, and yes the sky is indeed crying... Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
This CD captures the true quality of Gary Moore showing the quality,consistency and work rate of the guy. A Masterclass in how to bring the house down in a live performance and quite honestly I don't know how he can sing and play the guitar at such a high level.

Anyone who likes live music should buy this, crank it up, and the CD will do the rest.

Top Class.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2008
People who are indifferent about high energy Blues music need not apply. For everyone else this album (along with others Moore has done) really rewrites the rules for blues guitarists and fans of such everywhere. I reckon Gary Moore ranks in the top five guitar players in the world EVER, and I would rather listen to this virtuoso irishman than Eric Clapton any day.

If you met somebody who had no idea what Blues music sounds like and they ask you to give them a taster, you could do no better than to play them 'The Sky Is Crying' or Peter Greens 'Jumping At Shadows' from this CD.

A word of warning though. Only invest in this CD (which comprises entirely of live material recorded at various concert venues), if you like your guitar players loud fast and full on. If you cut your teeth listening to John lee Hooker and the like you may not be ready for Gary's high voltage playing style. For the uninitiated this may be wearing after half an hour or so. A former colleague of mine years ago, turned Gary Moore's 'Still Got The Blues' album into a coaster only two days after buying it, citing the music as 'not proper blues' and I believe it was for this very reason.

But I love that album and this one, and would endorse either without hesitation.

Before I sign off, let me just mention, if you have enough experience of Gary Moore, you are starting to get bored of him, and wish there was another artist competing in the same market that might bring something new, I'm sure you won't be surprised that I would recommend Joe Bonamassa, and for those who haven't heard him yet, the album Rich Man Falling by brilliant Irish guitarist Simon Mcbride.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2006
I own 13 of his cds and in my opinion this is his best blues collection. This live cd has a lot of feeling to it and its well worth the money and moore
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
What can you say, you think Gary has recorded and written some great tracks, well guess what, he can do It Live! and boy can he play Live! This Album Captures Gary at his Best and his best is probably better than any other Living Blues Guitar Man, But what is Even Better is he can Even Sing a great Tune at the same Time!
He even manages to pull off the 30 Second Sustained Note on Parisienne Walkways, Breathtaking! of course his Les paul and his Soldano Amp help him Sound great! but its gary`s Great Style that makes them Sing! The Only thing better than the Cd is to see him Live! Buy this CD Now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2005
I don't like reviewing music since I find it a very subjective thing, but this is my short one. The cds contain some of his most well known songs with good quality and should be in everyone's compilation that enjoy the blues.
Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2000
A great selection of tracks from slow to fast to blues to rock, 2nd only to the live shows. His crisp clear guitar playing and excellent group make this a recommended recording to add to your collection and listen to frequently
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)