Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2004
I brought this album after discovery, so my expectations were a little skewed. Luckly i am a big house fan and found this album right up my street. The only problem that i have with this album is that the songs are too long, almost to the extreme.
I know i shouldn't compare the two albums, but i feel that homework has the better tracks while discovery has the better layout and appeal.
One or two friends of mine won't listen to this album because there is litle to break the album up. This is the only reason that i haven't given this the whole five stars.
All in all a good, if somewhat strange album. I'd recomend that anyone should at least listen to it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2003
This remains one of my firm favorites. even if I came to it in late 1998. The CD contains well known tracks such as the famous 'Around the world' to the weirder end like 'Rollin' and scratchin''.
My favorite track, one which keeps drawing me back is 'Revolution 909'. This starts very quietly with the sounds of a big beat on a boom box in the street. that's rudely interrupted by an announcement ("Stop the music!") then ... hell breaks loose. All of a sudden you're thrown into an amazing blast of BIG BEAT THUMPING that almost MAKES you reach for the volume knob and BLAST this one from the houses.
It is that good.
When this one ends we hear 'Da Funk' cleverly slide in with it's weird but very additive warbled beat. The album after that is definitely in the realms of experimentation but if you listen carefully to this album you'll begin to notice similar sounds in later dance tracks......
I'm very impressed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2003
This is the 1996 debut album from "Thomas Bangalter" and "Guy Mauuel DeHomem".
This album is truly a test for the bass reponse on the listeners speakers, the opening track has an incredible bass slam as it's opener!The whole C.D. is just asking to be played at the max volume you can get away with,just watch the walls and floors bounce!
They recorded this album on an eight track desk at "Bangalter" home, it's an eclectic collection mixing arcane analogue keyboards with hip-hop talk box effects taking in house,techno,and electro and little hits of disco.As a footnote "Bangalter" father wrote "D.I.S.C.O." for "Ottawan" and "Cuba" for the "Gibson Brothers",so it's no surpise that "Daft Punk" mutated,oddly comforting 70's influnces are all over the hit singles from this album "Da funk" and "All around the World"
A real leap forward in the French music scene they took the lead started by St.Germain and ran with it, this is cracking stuff for the pre-going out party at the weekends,gets you right in the party mood buy for this purpose....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
The perfectionistic electronica-wiz duo Daft Punk have only released a handful of albums, growing in strength. Homework is a funk-driven record with little actual emphasis on catchy melodies - though it's got those, too.

The catchy and groovy "Da Funk", the soothing "Fresh" and the exhilirating "Around the World" are all solid and enjoyable listens. Overall, though, the album rarely entices me to listen to it as a whole. It's got more to do, on the whole, with experimental German techno than melody-driven techno-disco or however you can classify Daft Punk's later work. "Rock'n'Roll" in particular seems like it takes an eternity to pass - not only doesn't it have much of a melody to work with, but the main whoosh-like sound that makes up its beat is headache-inducing. "Alive", though arguably with as little melody, works better in that regard.

Homework's primary function seems to be that of a club record, in which capacity it's a good enough release. It doesn't have the melodious fulfillment of Discovery and especially the excellent Human After All. Daft Punk have certainly crafted stronger music than this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I first bought this on cassette when it was originally released, and continue to listen to it regularly today. I expect I always will. Daft Punk are an example of actual musical genius. This is them before commercial pressure and mainstream popularity came beckoning. A wonderful mix of pop and hardcore techno.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2008
Reclusive French electronica legends Daft Punk, delivered their finest moment with this classic album of house and techno.

Most young people will probably be familiar with Daft Punk after Kanye West sampled Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger on his hit Stronger last year. What they probably don't realise is just how influential Daft Punk have been on the dance music scene for many years and how many musicians have been inspired by their filtered electronic funk. They are genius at spotting perfect samples in obscure records and using them to devastating effect on big brash electronic stompers. Daft Punk's heavy bass and vocodered vocals were way ahead of the times when they released Homework and despite the more commercial success of 'One More Time' from the Discovery album, 'Around the World' and 'Da Funk' remain their best work. Homework is full of similarly good production and other standout tracks include 'Rollin' and Scratchin' and 'Teachers'. It's hard to imagine that this album is over ten years old when it sounds as fresh as this.

Like this? Try: Ed Banger Records volume 2
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I bought this album when it came out. listened to it in my car from Swindon to Leeds between site visits for work and was hooked (took until I was past Leicester Forest East services though). Still the best by far. Play Teachers v loud and just smile.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Many people know daft punk from Discovery and when they check back on their discography they will be probably dissapointed to find that they are house producers and not a band.

That doesn't diminish either homework or discovery - both excellent albums in their own rights. But for me Homework will always be their greatest and most influential album. The way they seamlessly integrate acid, house, techno, hip hop, funk and a whole host of other genres is amazing.

A quick test to see if you will enjoy this album - listen to teachers and if you don't recognise at least 50% of the names mentioned chances are you won't "get" it. Of course teachers cleverly ties in with the theme of the album, it's them mentioning their wide variety of influences as teachers, they are doing their homework by mixing all these styles together to create a unique sound.

They've not only pioneered the french house sound of the 90's, you can still hear some influences today. Think of the chopped up samples sound of skrillex - a take on ed banger's style which in turn was based on SebastiAn's producing style which in turn was influenced by early daft punk - tracks like High Fidelity and indo silver club.
Every song is groovy and different. Yes you can reduce every loop and end up with an album worth a few minutes like one reviewer said but that completely misses the point of dance music which requires djs to play repititive but good songs over a long length of time so they can mix in the next song. And what does that even mean as a criticism? You can reduce Philip Glass' work to the same amount but that doesn't diminsh the art behind it.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Homework is a great album, i will admit that couple of tracks are slow to start and might annoy a few people, however once the songs get into their main rhythm and the 'meat' of the songs, they are very enjoyable and being a fan of daft punk, i can barely fault the album, however, what i will say (and i'll possibly be disliked for this) out of Homework and Discovery, Homework might not be to everyone's tastes and so i'd say this is more of a 'personal CD' and Discovery a 'Party CD' however i'll be reviewing that in a second as well, but overall, i LOVE Homework (the album, not actual homework, that kinda sucks) and would say, before buying it, try to find a track of it online and listen to it before making a purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Because of that the music keep skipping all the time.I thought i was the first one and amazon would have fixed it by now by talking to the people doing this album but I just read a review from 2013 mentioning it...
it is very frustrating since they send it to me twice now.
I hope someone from amazon will look into this so they can stop sending poor quality vinyls..
Merci.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)