Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 1999
One could say that Nirvana should be truly appreciated as a liveact and therefore its only fitting that Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic put together a final tribute to what was the greatest alternative rock bands in history. This album was recorded at many shows from the beginning in 1989 through to 1994 when Kurt past away. This album is full of quality music, from the band through to Cobain's twisted lyrics from his disillusion of fame drugs an popularity. What is important on this album is the first song they ever did together which is 'Spank Thru' remember this is a compulation of live recordings and this is not a new album packed with songs you've not heard of before. If you appreciate bands live and enjoy going to gigs then you are going to be a very happy person.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2002
if you're just getting into nirvana now but can't decide which album to buy first (which is a hard choice, i mean, do you go for the acclaimed nevermind, the preceding bleach or the final act, in utero?) then perhaps wishkah is a good choice. Named after the river which flowed through Kurt's home town in Washington state, the album is a fine collection of live tracks selected by band member Krist Novoselic. If this isn't a taste of true Nirvana then I don't know what is!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2002
If you were ever lucky enough to see Nirvana live, then buy this album. The capabilities live albums have to bring back gig memories is outstanding, and this one is no exception.
However, if you havent seen Nirvana performing on the stage directly infront of you, then this album is probably only for the completests. This is just a repeat of all the same songs we have learnt to love, live. Songs such as Lithium and Smells like Teen Spirit do sound better than the studio versions, and on Vinyl, the sound really puts you back in the performance.
This disc is worth the cost. It is not necessarily anything new, but it is certainly something more energetic and exciting than what you will find on the studio records.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
when i first played this cd i was new to nirvana (late comer) and i didn't like it much, the sound quality was too raw and not "nice" like nirvana's non-live albums. now that i am more familiar with nirvana's songs i wouldn't be without it. it is a span sample of their live performances throughout their concert career. if you are quite new to nirvana i would recommend you buy their regular albums first and then this otherwise it's just too much rough noise. if you know the songs already then get this and turn the volume up and pretend you're at a concert (even though the songs all come from different ones).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2005
Until "With The Lights Out" this was the only live reference point for Nirvana, and some of the tracks (Spank Thru, tourette's) were not even included on that wonderous boxset. The sound quality on most of these tracks is incredible considering the venues they played at, and even "Intro" sounds good as organised chaos. For me, Aneurysm is the high point of the album with it's soaring guitars, closely followed by Heart-Shaped Box. Don't delay, buy today!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Really love this album, a must have for any Nirvana fan. Listened to it multiple times and still love it as much as I did the first time hearing it, audio quality is really good. Overall, just amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
Great band, great album but feel the Amsterdam concert it took several songs from is overrated and, personally, I'd have liked a different concert for each song. Good but could have been better (and that's from a big Nirvana fan), definitely better live versions of some songs available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2004
This is really somthing special. In my mind, this is almost as essential as Nevermind. It captures Nirvana in full throttle doing what they were best at. Really, this is just a live greatest hits. But, it's because it's live that it's so great. All the best songs are here (Smells like Teen spirit, Heart shaped box, sliver etc ). The best thing about "Whishka" is that it truly is career spanning. There alot of the old favourites from "Bleach" (Blew, School, Negative creep) and it goes right through the Nirvana catalouge to songs like "Scentless apprentice", "tourettes", "very ape".
Message to Nirvana newcomers: Get Nevermind/Unplugged in New York/ Muddy banks of wishka. The other stuff is amazing too, but these are the best. Notice that 2 of them are live albums.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2003
I you are one of those lucky people who saw this band live (oh how i envy you) then u need not necessarly buy this. If on the other hand you are one of those (like me) who either could not see them at the time, or got into them after Kurts death. Then buy this and try and place yourself there able to hear that beutifull haunting voice at first hand.
It also gives us some interestingly different versions of some of the songs (including a very cool heavier version of polly)But either way; one for any real fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2004
I first listened to some of the songs here on amazon,and i must admit i was slightly put off, it dint sound too great. But i went out and bought the album anyway, and after listening to it im like ' dammit!! i cant see them live nooooo!!!!!' cos it is such a good album. Yes it is live and yes it rules!. A must have for any Nirvana fan! If u have the album title 'Nirvana' then this is also a must have (both being excellent). Put together by Krist Novoselic, -bassist- (ace guy!) this is a selection of nirvanas best live songs. The newer 'heavier' version of polly should be a big selling point for this album, cos it was such a good acoustic song, and now perfected! U HAVE TO BUY THIS ALBUM IF U LIKE NIRVANA!!! TRUST ME! Thank you kurt Cobain (r.i.p man), Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic this rules!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)