Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2005
For my money 13 Songs is the definitive Fugazi album - the collection that would start off the following of Fugazi and their amazing future transgressions to the band they are today.
Waiting Room, the "Smells Like Teen Spirit" of this album is an obvious pick for a highlight but unlike "Smells Like Teen Spirit" it doesn't lose any of it's shine or allure after endless and endless listening.
From start to end this album highlights Fugazi's politics and diversity. It's a hard collection to kind of place into a genre - is it post rock, post-hardcore, punk...whatever labels it may be given I think it would appeal to all sorts of rock fans as it doesn't typecast itself to conventions. It basically chunders through 13 tracks of sparse aggressive rock music with sublime subtlties thrown in.
An essential.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
This album excels - there are no weak tracks. I saw Fugazi in concert in Birmingham after lapping up their first 2 EPs which are contained within '13 songs'. I cannot describe myself as a punk fan per se but Fugazi manage to strike the right chord every time. Such tracks as 'Margin Walker' and 'Give me the Cure' force you to mouth the words as the music sucks you in and the beat takes over.
This type of music may have reached its peak and has long since retreated but this album is as fresh as the day it was made. The production quality is excellent without sounding 'over produced' as some bands did after their first releases (Half Man Half Biscuit springs to mind). If you are interested in Fugazi this is the album to buy although 'Repeater' was an excellent follow up album.
If you like this style of music I would also recommend getting hold of some 'Spermbirds' music who are like Fugazi but a lot faster!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
Quite simply....you need this album. You don't have it? Buy it. You don't have the money? Find it. You don't think you'll like it? You will. You must. This is one of the greatest albums in existence - frankly it's a gospel for alt rock music. This Long Player constitutes the first 2 EPs (the first being the stronger of the 2). The latter half (track 7 onwards) was recorded after non stop touring and altough they were knackered - still made a great record. I don't really see why you're still reading....start buying. I guarantee - it'll inspire.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2015
Great timeless album that shows the development of musicians who were right there in the early hardcore scene in DC in the late 70s early 80s. The album shows an array of musical influences and I recall when it first came out thinking of so many different sounds from UB40 style reggae on bad mouth in fact much of this reminds me of post punk stuff in the UK in the early to mid 80s.

Great album and it tough to find a single song that's a negative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2001
fugazi is a name i kept seeing pop up in articles about the current emo-hardcore scene (hundred reasons, jimmy eat world et al.) being a fan of this genre i decided to check them out! all i can say is that this is a fantastic album which has set me about buying their back catalogue. although comparisons can be seen, their sound is quite different to the above bands. fugazi's raw and emotional style instantly won me over. my personal favourite is 'the waiting room', but the rest of the album is by no means a disappointment. all i can say is roll on new album!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
This album brings together the first two of Fugazi's potent long-play releases, 'Fugazi' and 'Margin Walker'. 'Fugazi' was first released in 1988, 12 years ago when i was fifteen. All this time later, it's musical maturity and the strength of its songs, still leave it as my personal all time classic. There is often a certain trepidation in listening to the follow-up albums of bands whose last albums were so good. Gladly, this fear has been dispelled by Fugazi. Every single Fugazi album has failed to disappoint me but '13 songs', their first and second albums together is probably the first you should invest in. However, be prepared to spend your money soon after on their following albums. Genius............
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
released in 1989, this is made up of two eps that the band had released, fugazi and waiting room and its a really strong bit of work. I wouldnt say its very heavy, its pretty darn bassey and the guitars and light enough and snappy with intelligent lyrics and it all flows so well. Most songs are short enough and it has a punky feel to it at times. Mckaye on vocals sound a bit like glenn danzig at times but thats along with the short song times would be all they have in common with the misfits. 13 songs is the title and its apt as there is of course 13 songs and they are all pretty tidy, really enjoyable. I would be more of a metal head but was reading an old copy of terrorizer and this was recommended to me and took a gamble and it paid off handsomely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Great album cheap price. Got a nice little surprise saying something along the lines of " Fugazi are awesome your the best". Thank you to whoever wrote that note 😉
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
THIS IS JUST BRILLIANT...just GET A COPY OF THIS.....you wont regret it.ITS BRILLIANT....I hadnt heard this for ages.IM GOING TO PUT IT ON AGAIN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
One of the all time great albums from a band that had fantastic live shows - just wish that would start touring again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)