Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2002
Mellencamp's eighth album was released six years into Reagan's presidency. Lonesome's downtrodden characters call for equality and justice, accentuated by instruments such as penny whistle and fiddle. Far from being gloomy, from Paper in Fire onwards this album is a rocker, a philosophical treatise and a singalong all in one.
Lonesome is more complete than John's previous best - Scarecrow - and it sets the high standard that nearly every subsequent album has met. Having said that, none of this later work, apart from Big Daddy, and only Scarecrow (the song) and Little Pink Houses before, create such identifiable and believable characters who share their personal histories in every song on the Lonesome Jubilee.
Despite the cries for help, hope, fairness and justice, the album leaves the listener optimistic. If you haven't heard the Lonesome Jubilee either buy the album now or borrow Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath from the library tomorrow.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2000
It is a strange feeling when you are listening this album you recognize it immediately as a very basic rock album but still the melodies are so catchy that any pop-artist would be envious. This album has the roughness and soul of rock album and the flow of the best pop. Still this is definitely a rock album and if you don't own it yet you haven't heard what rock could be at it's best!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is my second favourite album by John Mellencamp, who had to keep adding the nickname `Cougar' to his own, since his first manager had forced him to start under the name Johnny Cougar in 1976! This LP was one of his most successful worldwide, with 4 singles released from it. I love most of the tracks; my very favourite is `Empty Hands' **** co-written with JM's long-time collaborator George Green (now deceased): it has a subtle pathos to it, it pulls at my heart everytime, it sounds as if it is going to go upbeat and rise, but it remains just under the surface with a desperation that is perfectly understated, if not by the words, by the tune and the folk violin.
The overall sound or genre here is folk rock with a variety of traditional instruments such as mandolin, banjo, dobro, dulcimer, fiddle, harmonica, penny whistle, accordion, melodica, autoharp, claves, cowbell, tambourine... and surprisingly a saxophone too. You could say it was the fashion at the time, but here it is perfectly crafted and does not sound over-produced or fake. The previous album in 1985 was a rock album containing many songs about the social problems facing Americans, especially in the countryside, it was full of anger and disappointment. With this one, JM raises some more global issues I feel; in other words people around the world could and did relate to it. I grew up in Continental Europe and English was not my native tongue, however this album really got my heart beating stronger at the time. Moreover, it has aged well, it is still very warm and loving, full of compassionate ideas springing from all the disappointed lives Mellencamp describes in his songs. Yes, the lyrics are uncovering some tough experiences, there is hurt everywhere. But, at the same time, the stories are mostly short portraits juxtaposed, to give a hint of what might be shocking out there. It's a little bit of social impressionism, it's not didactic (except if you feel the "Dear Mr. President" is directly addressed to you!) Be in no doubt though, it's a album with a conscience and it's not hiding away from it. I find, it is perfectly matched with the very natural feel of the music. It flows very well and helps swallowing the bitter pill, you could say. I don't think any real solution is offered and possibly the blame is laid at the feet of the politicians - or is it the shame?
The current recession brings back an album like this into actuality, sadly for the state of our economy, but in musical terms it proves that these songs are still relevant, touching and very well written.
Amongst all these songs about social hardship: `Paper in Fire' **** `Down and Out in Paradise' **(*), `Check It Out' ***, `The Real Life' **, `We Are The People' ***, `Hard Times for an Honest Man' *(*) ... there is some comic relief, with some great tracks recounting some anecdotal life events in a tongue-in-cheek mode (probably not true life at all, but seemingly honest, simple, touching and quite amusing) `Rooty Toot Toot' ***, `Cherry Bomb' ****. To be fair, there is also some irony at every possible turn: it is Mellencamp writing the songs! I have pasted this as an example: "If you are one of the fortunate ones, We all know it's lonely up there, We understand that nobody's got it made, So our thoughts are with you." Yes, in this album, there is humour and determination as well as sadness and desperation; a much more grown up JM, compared to the album Scarecrow.
My least fav track is `Hotdogs and Hamburgers' * (the story about an Indian girl and a white boy meeting) but it's only my own personal preferences here. On this album, the atmosphere remains the same all along, there is no break in the mood, which is great, because a different kind of song thrown in there, would take away from the other tracks. Here, JM did not try to showcase his talent and all the variety of rock music we know he is capable of producing. He sings from one voice and therefore he has perfectly communicated some overwhelming emotion(s). It is a lovely album, I warmly recommend it.

For the record, I own all JM's albums and I have uploaded more reviews. I give **** max, to my very fav tracks, * to songs I feel are still worth listening to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
After having got into JCM after "Jack and Diane" I wanted more of the same guitar driven Americana. While this doesn't wholly tick that box, it is a superb listen.
There's not a dud on here. Guitar solos are generally replaced by fiddle and accordian and these really get under your skin, so you'll be humming them for days. I owned this on cassette, transferred it to digital, and have now finally got the CD which I haven't stopped playing since it arrived.
Stand out tracks: "Check it out", Cherry Bomb" and "Rooty Toot Toot".
There are lyrics (and tunes) here that will have you reminiscing, regretting and raising the roof. Awesome.
If you want JCM rocking out with guitars try "Whenever we wanted", "Scarecrow" or "Uh-Huh". Or the one that raised his profile in the UK - "American Fool".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
I was first introduced to John Mellencamp many years ago when this album was first released. If you want to buy one album this is the one. It is excellent with meaningfull lyrics and great music. I would highly recommend all his albums but this for me is the best one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
John Cougar Mellencamp has been overlooked by the british public almost all of his career ( shame on you ) This is him at his angry and honest and best - (like springsteen) he speaks up for the ordinary folk with his bluesy folk rock. I was lucky to see him on this tour in Australia in 1988 " HE ROCKED " .In my humble view this is his best album also my favourite - so if you want to invest in a class album this is one of them... satisfaction guarenteed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Lonesome jubilee is a good album. There is a variety of styles on this album. My favourite track is "Rooty Toot Toot". The majority of JM's songs have some sexual conitation, especially this track. I just like John Mellencamp and the rythems he creates with all sort of instruments. The heavey drum beat is noticable on all tracks. Not the best John Mellencamp album but very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
Even though this was recorded in 1987 it is as fresh now as it was then.Although not an album that made Mellencamp this is his finest hour to date.His storytelling mixed with Bluegrass melodies took him to the top of the tree.Recomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
a classic to be. dont wait just buy it. the musicianship, arrangements are sublime and the songs are good. the boy grew well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Great album, dont let this album escape your ears...superb..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)