Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
sick beats!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2003
This is the best de la soul album, and clearly a more mature piece of work. The trio have progressed from the reliance on punch-lines and antique samples to more socially concious rhymes and doper-than-dope head-nod compositions.
Three Feet is cool, but it lacks the maturity and depth of this work, and despite the amazing rhyme schemes in De La Soul Is Dead, it just had too many skits and not enough solid beats. Unlike the much overlooked Bulhoone Mindstate, Stake Is High has a perfect balance, every track is dope, with no exception, and it flows brilliantly. The Breaks and The Bizness are two of my favourite De La Soul songs, ill production and assertive lyrics match each other perfectly.
Mos Def makes an appearance on the classic Big Brother Beat, dropping some fresh rhymes "life be nothing but a river and i'm swimming up stream", and here his flow really impresses. Common also steps up and guests on The Bizness, lighting up the mic as usual. Pos, Maseo and Dove really excel lyrically on this album, spitting the "microphone mathematics" and making it look easy.
Buy this record, and let these Supa Emcees tell you something about the self.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2008
Great to see so many other reviewers echoing what I'm feeling about this record - its absolute quality!

Love the flow of it, every track is focussed and is a real pleasure to listen to - whilst most people have got/ heard 3 Feet High (and don't get me wrong it's a great album), far less people have heard Stakes is High and its a shame because it shows how much De La Have evolved as a group...

If you don't have it - buy it now! Then drop a review on Amazon telling everyone else how great it is!

Peace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2004
This has got to be De La Souls finest work yet. It is a more mature piece of work whilst containing the bouncy De La carfree style but this album has a very political view with lyrics such as "It seems smiling in public is against the law cos love dont get u through life no more" amongst others. The best track on the album has to be the intro simply because of the flowing freestyle like lyrics and the catchy beat tied in with the simplest of sounds it shows the craftmanship of Posda and Daves emceeing talent even though the track is just over a minute. Other good tracks are The Stakes Is High,The Bizness feat Common, and Big Brother Beat feat Mos Def.Also this album shows a good view into the state of some places in America not getting better at that point(1996).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
Don't try and compare to 3ft High..., this is 7 years and 2 albums on. As a conscious mature hip-hop album, it's awesome. All great beats and great lyrics. Social commentary with numerous 'anthems'. A complete package. Anybody semi-considering this album: the fact you've got this far means you should own this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
This is my favourite De La Soul album, if you are a de la soul fan and you dont have this album you are mad!!! buy it now! this album is one of the most overlooked underhyped albums out there, forget '3 feet high' this is the must buy de la soul album out there, fav tracks are bizness, supa emcees, wonce again, dog eat dog, long island degrees, 4 more, you know what all of them there isnt a weak track on this album
***BUY THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
I absolutely love De La Soul.

3 Feet and De La Soul is dead are easily snuggled within my top 5 all time albums. Buhloone is again in my top 10. I adore De La Soul, I have every album, I've bought the T-shirts etc etc.

But, I'm sorry Stakes is average. By De La Soul's enormously high standards the album is borderline boring. Where's the personality? It's so sad to listen to such an anonymous album by such an inspiringly unique group.

The beats are fine, not as good as the Prince Paul days but they are fine. Lyrically it's pretty strong too. But stand-outs? A Plug Tunin', a Ring Ring Ring? None.

If you are a De La Soul fan with a bulging wallet then buy the entire discography. Every CD even post Prince Paul is much, much better than the pimping Bentley driving rubbish you hear from most rap "superstars". However, if you're fairly new to De La Soul, 3 Feet, De La Soul is Dead and Buhloone are all you really need.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2003
The best, but also the most neglected De La Soul album in my oppinion. No real weak tracks here and it's got the fantastic title track; "Stakes is high" - one of my all time favourites.
Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2000
I have to say that this album is absolutely fantastic, and it is constantly in my CD player over 2 years after its release. It is such a good album to chill out to, and De La Soul have fully embraced chilled out hip-hop on this record. Fans of Snoop Dogg should definately check this out. The songs are great and I just love tracks like 'Dog Eat Dog' and 'the Bizness'. De La Soul have really grown up on this record and after the dissapointing 'Bahloon Mind State' have proved that they are still a major force to be reckoned with. More importantly though this album proves that De La Soul are now to be taken seriously as a group, and can no longer be regarded as 'Daisy Age' pranksters. Pos, Dove, Mase, you done well guys. Peace.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
It came on time album cd was clean no scratches very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)