Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Best band ever...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
I love this album, I mean seriously love it! Throbbing guitars and wicked samples, its what you expect from Fear Factory and more. Check out Martyr and Natividad you will be blown away.
Fear is the mindkiller is just as good, but has a more raw sound. Scapegoat (Pigf*ck Mix) is just a piece of brilliance in my eyes!
You need this double pack in your collection so what you waiting for? Buy it, you wont be dissapointed...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2004
Wow i was told i may not like it as it maybe to heavy for me but i thought i would give it a try whats the worst that could happen??? but in fact the opposite i love it to pieces u see where burton c. bell's unique vocal style comes into its own and with coments made by the likes of Robb Flynn of Machine head and Mark Hunter of Chimaira saying that some of there guts are from this band which bridge the idea of humans and machinery into the metal world... it is the fear factory album u must own!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
Soul Of A New Machine is Fear Factory's First official Album, released in 1992 and it changed the face of heavy music for ever.
Firstly the music is fast, heavy, and down tuned, it was aggressive and yet it contained some amazingly melodic singing from the vocalist who sounded like a gorilla.

The Guitars and drumming are played in what eventually became known as machine gun style, that is the bass drums and guitars blast out in patterns that sound like the rip of a machine gun being fired. the music sounds like a cross between industrial and Grind core/death metal. It is very heavy and agressive and it won't be to everyones taste but this is the first band to use singing and aggressive vocals in one go.
Stand out tracks for me would be
Scapegoat
Arise above oppression
and Life blind which has really good examples of machinegun riffs.
while it is very different from the follow up albums it still contains all the elements though in an unrefined way that would make Fear Factory A legend. Better was to come though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
The easy way of describing this album, and also the current trend with some of the other reviews on this page, is to class it as "classic Fear Factory". However, if like me you have a sentimental place in your heart for each Fear Factory song and know the difference between each albums sonic qualities, you will find that it is actually so much more than just another Fear Factory release. With or without the classic tag. What we have here is the bands first album, Soul of a new machine, re-mastered and with the added bonus of Fear is a mindkiller added, which complements the first album so well. The riffs are instantly recognisable as Fear Factory riffs, however where the original release felt very much like a set of miscellaneous recordings compiled, this album now has a sense of closure to it now and feels like an album as a whole (possible made all the more noticeable due to the inclusion of Fear...). sound wise, it sits somewhere between Obsolete and Demanifacture. The re-mastered version now has a soaring sound that before felt cluttered and tinny, and the riffs with the re-masters sound heavier and have more impact than ever before.
Normally I would go into detail with regards to each song on the album and give its merits etc, however with "Soul of a new machine" I can just sum it up in a few sentences. The songs are great. All of them. The re-master has worked wonders for the album. The likelihood is you are reading this because you are interested in buying it. and even if you own it, I suggest you get yourself a copy of this. Now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2006
like the majority of fans of fear factory,it would be truthful to say that we werent there when this debut was released,i became a fan when demanufacture was released and because i loved that i wanted to hear more,so that brought me to 'soul of a new machine' and the superb death metal/industrial/melodic metal that was their debut,this album is heavier than any future release from the boys but it isnt something you should fear,burtons vocals wouldnt be lost on a death metal at times,but this is where clean vocals were added to extreme metal and it is a marvel throughout,the sound is raw and hard hitting,the drums have never sounded better and are hit with the passion of a bull chasing down the road after a guy dressed in red,it is all so startling ,i firmly believe that latter fear factory fans would approve,fear factory started a movement of bands with this album,check it out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2004
I'm so unbelievably chuffed that 'Soul Of A New Machine' has been re-issued, AND it comes complete with 'Fear Is The Mindkiller', how amazing is that, and only £9.99, it's worth more than that so I think I might buy 5.
BUY IT NOW, trust me it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2005
I agree with the above reviewers that the best tracks come within the first 8 tracks of this CD. However after the strangeness that is Natividad there are some truly standout elements in some of the later tracks.
W.O.E in particluar. The track is only just more than 3 and half minutes long yet has at least 5 distinct different pieces too it and the drumming, Mr Hererra must have biceps the size of pile drivers I have never heard drumming this fast!!! Even after this tracks like Suffer Age has a distinctive chorus. Sure there is some sameness but the guys gave us 17 tracks in one CD, this would be two CD's output for most bands.
If you like it devestatingly heavy, yet original then this is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
the debut album for these american bruisers,and not a bad first outing.as my title for this review says 'primitive' this album just has this feel!as 'demanufacture' (see my review for that) was a polished,musically tight and an album really felt if it was played by machines,this record is really a 'first outing' record.dont get me wrong,this is a mighty fine effort but it didnt really strike me in the same way that 'demanufacture' did.it really breeds the same pumelling riffs,crunching guitars and machine gun like drumming but like i say,it really does sound a bit 'primtive' (that word again)!
a great effort though!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
This is one of the best I've ever listened to - all i wanted to do was shop for plectrums! Once i found this I bought it and now im addicted! Buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.59
£7.88
£9.06

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)