Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

  • Roots
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2006
I was first exposed to Sepultura when i saw the video for Roots Bloody Roots on TV, i was stunned by the pummeling heaviness of the song so i decided to purchase this album. When i got it i felt quite disapointed, there's just too much filler material and none of the songs match the energy and power of Roots Bloody Roots. Along with roots bloody roots, attitude, cut throat and rattamahata are all enjoyable songs but there's just too many filler songs. If you are thinking of purchasing this album i would go for Chaos AD, its a similar style to roots and still has some Brazilian tribal elements but is a vastly superior Album. Although i generally prefer Sep's earlier thrashier stuff (Beneath the Remains and Arise). This CD would be good if you like Nu-Metal (Korn, Slipknot, etc)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2005
Roots is probably my favourite of sepulura's albums and definately one of my favourite heavy metal albums, and the last sepultura album featuring Max Cavalera. On roots Sepultura finally created that really individual sound, moving on from their thrash era and adding a fantastic tribal sound that hardly any other bands have. It is brilliantly recorded, and the bass (Paulo Jr) and drums (Igor Cavera) have improved greatly, and guitarist Andreas Kisser develops that distinctive sepultura riff sound , more like motorhead, rather than sounding like metallica's riffs on thier previous albums (though not so much on 'Chaos AD'. It includes a great track featuring Jonathan Davis (Korn) and Mike Patton (Faith no more) on vocals too (see track 8, 'lookaway'). There is also an acoustic instrumental, 'Jasco' written and played by guitarist, Andreas Kisser, and another acoustic track, with the chants of the Xavantes tribe.
This fantastic album is a must for headbangers everywhere.
Buy it. Now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
This was Sepultura at the top of their game. After this album Max left and in my opinion were not as good after his departure. This album is a great listen and mixes tribal influences with classic sounding Sepultura. This is a must buy for lovers of all things heavy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
I've been in a lot of moshpits - a lot - but little can compare to that moment when the opening chords of Roots Bloody Roots kick off. A modern classic. Truly epic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Great album bought at a great price. Sepultura at their best in my opinion and a must for any meatal head. Arrived quickly and played very very loud!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
such a shame max left at this point, i think the band peaked at this point, one of the best albums of the 90's, erring on the side of nu metal,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2001
Chaos A.D., the album Sepultura released before this was awesome and hinted at the exeprimentation to come. However it couldn't prepare for the sheer intensity and imagination of this. From the pulsating ryhtmns of Ratamahatta to the bloodcurdling intensity of Spit to the mellow guitar of Jasco this album seems to have it all. Max Cavalera's voice is as feral and intense as any vocallist I've ever heard. The Guitars sound amazing, perfectly produced by Ross Robinson for this type of album. Igor cavalera's drumming is as powerful as ever ably backed up by the additional tribal percussion that gives this album it uniqueness. Max has been described as the godfather of nu-metal but this album transcends all the new/old boundaries and remains in my opinion the best metal album of the nineties. Its imagination and drive are enough to rank it as an equal to the pinnacle of Metallica or Black Sabbath's works.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
This is a great record,by the pioneers of death metal,so enjoy..smashing, Brasilean nutters!! Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Amazing piece of music. Pin back your lug holes and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Fast delivery. Well happy with the arrive .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.30

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)