Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
36
Rant In E-Minor
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 January 2001
The first joke on this CD has Hicks announcing tha he (at long last) is getting his own TV show. The rapturous applause suggests that Hicks has been struggling for fame for years. He's joking, of course, (the show is called "Let's Hunt And Kill Billy Ray Cirus") When Bill Hicks was recording the performances that ended up on this CD, he was given three months to live. When you know this, it makes the joke almost unbearably poignant. Hicks was a working comedian, and would perform on average 300 shows a year. He was committed to telling the truth and NEVER letting his principles down in favour of money or fame. However, because of his 'subversive' material, he was virtually unknown in his own country. When you hear this material, and you realise that it's not subversive, you'll wonder what the hell is wrong with America, and you'll wonder why we've lost the John Lennon of comedy. And of course, you'll wonder why no-one noticed.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2011
I would love to be able to write this review sounding like Bill's exaggerated texas drawl, but that's impossible.This man was and always will be a comedic genius,I had heard a lot of this material before, but the bits about the pro-lifers and the catholic church were so shockingly brilliant, that it seemed he had a new lease of life, sadly he was actually dying when this was recorded, and it shows, as he pretends he has a t.v show and that is why he is giving up stand up comedy, when in fact this is his personal obituary.

Bill you are irreplaceable no one has come close since your sad early demise, and I for one mourn your passing.

I remember in the past year the so called comedian Jimmy Carr rubbishing the claims by some Hicks fans that Dennis Leary had plagiarised Hicks work, well sorry Mr. Carr but he did, and you do yourself no favours in denying this fact.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2006
`Rant in E Minor' is the last album of Hick's work that was planned whilst he was still alive and it features a show where he is at his most angry and vitriolic. He knew he was dying at this point and the urgency to spread the message he had be teaching over the years had grown palpable. This has some hilarious jokes and I keep coming back to this album again and again and even though I know the jokes by heart now I still laugh out loud because of Bill's incredible delivery. `People who hate people' is short but pure genius, take a listen and you'll see what I mean. I love it that he can make you laugh and open your eyes wide to the irony in life at the same time and this is a rare and sadly missed talent of Hicks. This is definitely not one to share with your mum, but it is one to share with all your friends, family and colleagues and as many other people as possible!!! It is simply brilliant.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2003
Bill had a way of making you laugh at yourself whilst he turned the world upside down and inside out to show you the true beauty. He talked about God, drugs, war, pain, Kennedy, Bush and a million other topics, ranting as a lone voice in the wilderness. He pulled back the curtain and showed us what was wrong with the world.
And then he made it all right. His humour opened our eyes to what was wrong then helped us find a way to make it right. In a world looking for a new messiah; we found Bill, and he stepped up to the mike to tell us "It's just a ride."
If you can buy Rant, and all his other shows, becuase it's an investment well worth making. Watch videos of his shows, audio is great but the added element of watching him at work, the way he moved, gives such depth to the performance. Find transcripts of his shows (there's plenty on the web, including at his 'official site' at billhicks.com) and read along whilst listening to the master at work.
Like many others Bill told us that all it takes for the world to be a better place is for enough of us to decide to make it a better place. Somehow, I believe him.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2013
Bill Hicks was a preacher man- he was a genius- he was funny, brilliantly funny and he was brave. Ahead of his time and sadly missed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2015
One of his best...must own.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2015
The stand-up comedy genius has recorded this rant-a-long album to teach us all !
A must have for all hicks fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2002
Losing Bill - well - is he lost? Like he used to say of Hendrix - "Jimi was dropped off by his alien brothers and told 'Show em how it's done'. When he was done - they took him back". I don't think Bill was done. If he was around right now - I'd want to be at all his shows. However, he's not. This album, though is stupendous, phenomenal, seminal, provocative and loads of other words that just mean - the bees knees. Please buy this, then the rest - and then the book and the videos and then spread the word. One love.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
If you know that line then you know what I am about to say. This is Bill at his best, the man, the legend the genius. I bought this because I wanted it on my phone to walk to work with and couldn't find my original cop, I'd buy this again and again and again it's that good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 July 2017
Released posthumously (alongside it's sister album Arizona Bay) in 1997, some three years after Bill Hicks' passed away far too soon as a victim of pancreatic cancer, the 'Rant in E-Minor' album captures him at his most dark and angry, even literally screaming at the audience in the places. He announced on the second track that this would be his final stand-up performance ('ever''), and with hindsight, perhaps he already knew that the time was near? This isn't a straightforward live album in that it was recorded at the same time and place, a complete performance, because the tracks on here are taken from various gigs over his last-ever tour.

Most of usual material that Bill became so much loved for is included on this CD (and now download), the kind of subjects that lots of people wouldn't even dare to touch upon, things like government hypocrisy, the state of the world today and it's current trends, the holes in religions, and the self-righteousness of non-smokers, but here he really lets rip and pushes it all to the limit. The joy of 'Rant in E-Minor' is the chance to hear things (and names) that aren't so familiar coming from Bill (the routine about Willie Nelson's Taco commercial gets me every time), and to say that he is compulsively listenable, I don't think would do him justice, his delivery and presentation was always as commendable as his comedy, or 'teachings' as I think of it.

These live performances were recorded between November 1992 to December 1993, and some of what he says is unapologetically ruthless and unflinching, but very entertaining, and as brutally honest as anything else he had ever done. The clue is in the name, this is a 'rant', and if you're easily offended, 'Rant in E-Minor' isn't for you. However, if you are open minded enough to listen to Bill and to do so properly, then you'll probably find yourself looking at things from a different angle, and nodding your head, whilst perhaps feeling guilty. Here was a troubled genius, and unlike any other comedian you've heard before or since.

'Rant in E-Minor' is a real fan's essential, but those who haven't yet become quite as converted might be better off buying the Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks compilation album instead, to get their first fix and flavour of what this wonderful man was all about, not just as a comedian, but equally as a philosophiser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)