Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 16 June 2001
This record, the sisters' second, was released in 1977. This was not realised when I bought it on spec at a record sale, and it is not at all obvious when you hear it. It isn't just another pair of warbling folkies; the songs are varied considerably so it is quite hard to categorise. The tunes are much memorable, and the whole album has a certain something that makes its sum greater than its parts. I have since bought several more of the sisters' albums, and haven't been at all disappointed. I particularly like the songs in French (they are French Canadians I believe) making the various attempts of English groups to sing in French (eg Fairport Convention) sound very amateurish. This is the real thing. 'Blanche Comme La Neige' is the story of a young French girl who has to feign death to preserve her honour when feted by a Captain, whereas 'Perrine Etait Servante' tells the story of a servant girl and her beau, who lock the priest in the larder and then forget him. Both are very catchy - try them out on any young French language students! A record to keep and savour.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
Super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2002
If you haven't heard this yet and love music just buy it! I grew up with it but it's still played and the album is fantastic.
The sisters have great voices and the music matches this. People may describe it as folk, possibly a blend of Irish/French folk and traditional music, but the fact is it's just amazing.
If you are passionate about music this will become one of the gems in your collection.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2017
Wot no one reviewed this pluperfect melodic quirky masterpiece? Just buy it, it's voice and piano and quite beautiful however chaps might want to brace themselves for the biting irony yeah sarcasm of 'First born son'. Feminism with a sense of humour. Simply stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
Very, very disappointing as the sound quality is poor, in fact can hardly make out the words in some numbers. I was given a tape of this back in the 80's (since lost) so know how it should sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2010
This is a lovely CD, I think even better than the first one Kate and Anna McGarrigle. Very sweet and mournful at the same time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2010
Bought the L.P. as a student. Went to Kate McGarrigle's memorial concert and bought this c.d.

Quirky, nostalgic, warm and reminds me of my youth. Thank you Kate and Anna.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2010
A great follow up to their first album, with a nice mix of style and songs: thoroughly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2011
This is definately an acquired taste, but once used to the flavour of these songs, you will not be able to get them out of your head. I was singing Dancer with Bruised Knees for about 3 weeks after I got the cd, and now I am afraid to listen to it again. So many good songs on this cd. Try it and persist a bit, and its worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2011
This sweet sounding cd is one of the girls best with their beautiful harmonies and singalong tunes. A lyric sheet is provided, so joining in is a gimme! I bought this as an LP when it was first published, and it is now a great joy to be reacquainted with these songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tell My Sister
£28.41
Dancer With Bruised Knees
£25.55
Pronto Monto
£10.09
French Record

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)