Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Buddy Guy is one of those names, like BB King, which is legend for any fans of Rock or Blues. He was highly influential on a generation of British blues guitarists (two of whom, Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck, appear on this album). This album came out in 1991 and was a kind of comeback album (his first in 10 years).

What you get is a stunning recording of 10 fantastic blues songs (the last is actually an instrumental track). The production is really lifelike and well balanced and the band plays with tight precision. I wish live performances were all this tight.

The first and last tracks, the title track, Damn Right, I've Got the The Blues and the last, Rememberin' Stevie, are written by Buddy Guy himself. The only song on this album I knew from before was Mustang Sally, which I heard in the film, The Commitments. This is much better.

Although Buddy Guy is joined by Clapton, Beck and also by Mark Knopfler, it is his guitar playing and singing which makes this album so good. He plays with stunning fluidity and variety of sound. Listen to the muted sounds he makes in Black Night and the soulful sounds he makes in Rememberin' Stevie. He's got a brilliant voice. He really commands attention fron the moment he starts singing with his impassioned vocal delivery.

My favourite track is Black Night, which is really soulful with atmospheric organ playing by Mick Weaver and shimmering piano playing by Pete Wingfield.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2002
I came across this title whilst searching for other Blues. The reviews were very enthusiastic, the price was right so I bought the disc. The reviews were "damn right", this is great stuff. Even better that he has Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton and Mark Knoffler guesting. This is the blues as it should be and I'm a convert to the "Guy". ("Damn good" delivery service from Amazon too)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2012
Quite easy to review this CD, the genius that is Buddy Guy comes across in buckets full.Then of course add Jeff Beck(Mustang Sally),I used to have this album on cassette and it's a real treat to have the CD.If you are even remotley into blues/ rock I,m sure you will enjoy every minute of this fine album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2007
Buddy Guy celebrates his new recording contract with Silvertone by setting out his stall from the very first track - the title which features some exceptionally fiery guitar playing and there's some lovely fluid guitar playing all over this album. As well as this facet Buddy Guy shows his softer - more "bluesier" side on "Five Long Years" and "Black Night" - the two longest tracks on the album. The album features a stellar cast of guitar greats - Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Mark Knopfler but Buddy Guy's guitar burns the brightest of them all. There's an odd cover here of "Mustang Sally" which is taken a tad slower than normal but works well. The last track - "Remembering Stevie" is in homage to the late great Stevie Ray Vaughan and is a beautiful poignant instrumental.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I have been trying to find an album from this great guitarist without a load of filler tracks.
This is the one, it contains a couple of his classics but with a more up to date recent feel about them.
Plus one or two guest guitarist that appeared on tracks without the feeling of them screaming look at me!(Mr Beck shows one note is worth many yet again!)
A very good album for the `'Dyed in the wool blues fans'' to see you can update your signature numbers, with Buddy Guy showing the latest batch of blues guitarist you have still got a long way to go to match the great man.
Enjoy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Buddy guy a great blues man, this is a good cd by buddy guy he has a lot of help from different people but it's all about doing what he does best, and that's playing guitar. Well worth buying if you like blues with a food slice of rock thrown in.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2000
Mr. Guy is hot and smoking! This album sure puts the groove in blues - that rough, burnt voice, those steamy nights and that unmistaken, god given gift of truly feeling the music and shooting it up to the sky. For real. Enjoy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Excellent album, however, did not hit the right spot with me. Maybe it's because I like to watch people singing and playing. Don't get me wrong Buddy Guy is the best in his trade, it is no wonder that Jimi Hendrix thought so too !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
This is from 1991 by which time albums by blues artists had started to be proper albums instead of a collection of old singles haphazardly thrown together on one disc . Here some of the guys who learned at his feet ( or at least with one ear glued to the Dansette ) get to play with one of the Chicago masters . Mark Knopfler , Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton acquit themselves well enough but are really a tad superfluous since it is the blistering guitar and voice of Mr. Guy which dominates . The famous whites may have been added to increase his sales in which case , I applaud them . Probably the Guy album to buy .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
If you've been living under a rock and never heard of this bloke till now, you need this blues album. The depth of passion Buddy Guy brings is amazing and infectious. Serious sit down and listen music and let the music flow over you. Brilliant stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)