Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
Dave Vanian & the Phantom Chords
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 October 2017
I recently rediscovered The Damned after straying from the path for a few years, and am enjoying catching up on a few recordings, and so found this CD, which was a side-project of David Vanian's. Well, one cannot get too much of that wonderful voice, and the music is great too; Roman Jugg, guitarist during the more Goth era of Phantasmagoria etc. is in this band too. The music is rock'n'roll, rockabilly, psychobilly, nice and sinister: one could imagine a burlesque routine to any one of them. I remember first hearing "New Rose" on John Peel's show late one night - maybe the first time it was played on the BBC ("Captain Sensible - what a great name" he said) and was instantly a fan of The Damned, and whilst loving my rock loud, fast and filthy, can well appreciate all the wider directions they've taken over the last 40 + years (good grief! are we all really in our 60s?).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 June 2016
There was a time when the Damned ground to a halt and Vanian pursued his Phantom Chords project. I was fortunate to see them play at an old church in Salisbury.

The timing of the album release was a mess, creeping out long after the tour and the single, a cover of 'Johnny (Remember Me)' which bizarrely is not included here for some inexplicable reason.

Turning to the album, it is an interesting and hefty dose of fifties Rockabilly, spiked with Vanian's unique vocal style and dark song writing. It's atmospheric and interesting but not a classic.

NEW COMMENT 26.08.16 - HAVE UPGRADED REVIEW TO 5* FOLLOWING REPETITIVE PLAYS - IT'S A GROWER!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 August 2016
There was a time when the Damned ground to a halt and Vanian pursued his Phantom Chords project. I was fortunate to see them play at an old church in Salisbury.

The timing of the album release was a mess, creeping out long after the tour and the single, a cover of 'Johnny (Remember Me)' which bizarrely is not included here for some inexplicable reason.

Turning to the album, it is an interesting and hefty dose of fifties Rockabilly, spiked with Vanian's unique vocal style and dark song writing. It's atmospheric and interesting but not a classic.

NEW COMMENT 26.08.16 - HAVE UPGRADED REVIEW TO 5* FOLLOWING REPETITIVE PLAYS - IT'S A GROWER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 August 2016
There was a time when the Damned ground to a halt and Vanian pursued his Phantom Chords project. I was fortunate to see them play at an old church in Salisbury.

The timing of the album release was a mess, creeping out long after the tour and the single, a cover of 'Johnny (Remember Me)' which bizarrely is not included here for some inexplicable reason.

Turning to the album, it is an interesting and hefty dose of fifties Rockabilly, spiked with Vanian's unique vocal style and dark song writing. It's atmospheric and interesting but not a classic.

NEW COMMENT 26.08.16 - HAVE UPGRADED REVIEW TO 5* FOLLOWING REPETITIVE PLAYS - IT'S A GROWER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 June 2016
There was a time when the Damned ground to a halt and Vanian pursued his Phantom Chords project. I was fortunate to see them play at an old church in Salisbury.

The timing of the album release was a mess, creeping out long after the tour and the single, a cover of 'Johnny (Remember Me)' which bizarrely is not included here for some inexplicable reason.

Turning to the album, it is an interesting and hefty dose of fifties Rockabilly, spiked with Vanian's unique vocal style and dark song writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
Oh, this album is one of missed opportunity. What you have here is Dave Vanian and his erstwhile Damned cohort Roman Jugg greasing back their hair and unleashing some fine 1950's rockabilly and teenage rebellion. Dave Vanian's voice was designed to croon like a demented Eddie Cochran with an unhealthy streak of the devil in him; and on some of these tracks Vanian and co really hit their stride. Shaking up an unholy rumpus that would put the fear of god into right minded citizens. Tracks like the opening volley of Voodoo Doll and Screaming Kid really set the scene for a wild teen party. But inexplicably just as the temperature's rising, they slide in Big Town and This House is Haunted - both songs that are way too slow and frankly not very exciting. The pace doesn't pick up again until Frenzy literally explodes from the speakers. By which point Dave sounds so crazed that you'd be forgiven for thinking he was exorcising demons from a Deep South congregation. Fantastic stuff. And then the foot comes right of the gas again! Tonight We Ride hits back with an excellent rockabilly groove, and the album closer Swamp Thing is a big brooding swampy slime groove that really gives the creeps. Great stuff.

I have to say that lovers of frenzied, scuzzy, 50's greaser rock will certainly find some excellent tracks on here that make the album well worth owning. It's just that in my opinion there just aren't enough of them. Bring on album number 2 Dave!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Brilliant Brilliant CD! I bought this after listening to it on youtube as is seemed like the best go-to after immersing myself in The Damned. Dave Vanian's voice is perfect and the songs are really good. I'd recommend to any The Damned fan or fans of rockabilly in general. My favourite track on the album has to be 'Screamin' Kid' , the bassline is so damn good!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
This could be a real grower....it has the feel of a skiffle band, with Vanian plainly enjoying himself vocally, and is a heavy slice of Americana. The bass line and feel of the opening track is reminiscent of "Off the Bone" Cramps, and sets the bar for what is to follow. There are songs that would not feel out of place on a Johnny Cash album; as noted by the other reviewer, there are slow burning songs here, but I personally find them amongst the most rewarding aurally. (For Damned fans, the sound is sometimes akin to the Phantasmagoria output, but the tunes and songs are stronger in my opinion; the sound is scuzzy '50's, with a double bass feel). There is a high standard of musicianship here, and I found myself musing that this is just the type of thing that Jools Holland would be showcasing on 'Later' if it were to be released today. It has the feel of a fully thought through LP, crafted with care and affection for the style of music that it is showcasing. Surprising and refreshing, in a good way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Was a massive Damned fan and felt a bit dissapointed, a few good tracks , Vanians vocals are better than most Damned albums , but.... obvious why The Phantom Chords remained a side project .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Great vocals, great music. I want more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)