Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Heartbeats Accelerating
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 November 1999
words fail to do this album justice. An experience not to be missed. Buy it and be moved and touched by the sensitive and beautiful songs on this disc. There is not a weak track. These ladies can make a grown man cry. A must for your collection
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2002
This is one of my favourite albums: plenty of melody, harmony and interesting lyrics, delivered in a variety of musical styles - not really much traditional 'folk', thank goodness. I particularly love the synth drum on St James' Hospital. I know the McGarrigles sound a bit miserable sometimes, but I would say this album hits the right level of 'atmospheric' and 'reflective'. Did you know that one of the sisters (Kate, I think) is married to Loudon Wainwright III, and has produced a wonderful singer-songwriting son, Rufus Wainwright (try 'Poses' - another brilliant album!)
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
dissapointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2002
This masterpiece of an album kicks off with a celebration of romantic love in the form of the catchy, uptempo title track, but the very next song I Eat Dinner is a poignant description of loneliness and resignation in the absence of romance. The lilting Rainbow Ride is another gem, a melodic song of hope and longing. Throughout the album the voices are pure and gripping, and the harmonising divine, as on the tender Love Is and the wistful I’m Losing You that deals with the feelings of parents seeing a child growing up, in the most poetic lyrics and imagery. Another favourite of mine is Leave Me Be, a very sad song also about the loss of a child. There’s an overall feel of sadness to these songs, with the exception of the title track, but it’s the most beautiful sorrow you’ll ever hear.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
This is a more updated and rounder sound that the classic debut album of 1975 and it is difficult to decide which is best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
The above review is an excellent comment on the sisters' French Record, not Heartbeat's Accelerating. Anyone interested in this album would no doubt be impressed with the title track and 'I eat dinner'.For classic McGarrigle fare however, the listener should,in my view,be guided in the direction of 'Dancer with Bruised Knees',the aforementioned French Record or the very first album simply titled Kate and Anna McGarrigle
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Enjoyed the album. It takes a little time to get into it, but the harmonies that make this duo famous are very much in evidence and the songs are well crafted and the recordings good. For me the melodies are not quite so strong as those on their other albums, but nevertheless a very enjoyable recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
YES, THEIR FIRST TWO ALBUMS ARE THE ABSOLUTE PINNACLE, BUT THIS IS STILL A LOVELY ALBUM AND WELL WORTH HAVING. THE BIGGER PRODUCTION LACKS THE CHARMING SIMPLICITY OF THEIR FIRST TWO ALBUMS BUT THOSE BEAUTIFUL VOICES STILL SHINE THROUGH AND MOST OF THE SONGS ARE GREAT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
One of the finest folk double acts of the last 30 years. Have a huge following and this cd does not disappoint. Almost as impressive as Matapaedia, which is an incredibly fine album. If you have never listened to Kate and Anna, you have missed a treat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Although probably not their best, there is much to enjoy here. Beautiful melodies, angelic voices. I can recommand this album to everyone, not only the fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tell My Sister
£28.29
Pronto Monto
£9.39
Matapedia
£25.23
Toronto, May '82
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)