Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Nice to read a book that isn't based in a cold and dingy castle in the middle of nowhere. I could almost feel the warmth and smell the sea (or is that the other way round).

I actually really liked the book, it had a couple of characters that you could warm to and root for. However, it lacked a certain depth, it sped along a bit too quickly at times and skirted over certain bits a little too often. Slow the pace down a bit, expand on the details slightly and make the characters more worthwhile and interesting and the book would be even better.

I'd be happy to read the series though.

A light read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
SeaDjinn is an excellent children's novel by Linda Davies aimed at 11+ children. At first glance the novel seems a bit massive in comparison with other children books, but once you start reading it, it becomes a page turner. Thrilling situations, exciting and rapid plot development, and memorable characters are at the helm of the story. Story is probably a bit familiar but then how many kids wouldn't like Arabian Nights sort of stories anyway.

The writing is very fluent, the scenes are set like the writer has actually seen them and some of the descriptions of locations like beech and sea are remarkably established while not becoming a bit too much artistic and the pace of the events is never compromised.

Also the language is on par throughout and the overall flow of the story development seems like a key thing here along with magical settings and the characters do not seem over the top like in some other children's' stories.

An excellent read and thoroughly enjoyable. Thumbs Up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is brilliant! Nothing more needs saying, it is simply that good!
It has everything a supernatural / fantasy reader needs!
Thrills, rides, bit of an epic history plot! But everything in it will keep you reading. The chapters are a fair size, character development is brilliant. I really cared what happened to them from a very early stage.

Over all, a fast paced, well written book that needs a sequel! Soon!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I spent a couple of days picking up the "Sea Djinn", looking at the back cover and then putting it to one side to read later. Once I did finally pick it up and start reading it, I couldn't put it down. It was well written, entertaining and a really good read. The author sets her scenes very well, and you do feel like you're there with the characters.

As an older reader, I would have liked to see a few more twists and turns within the story, since you sort of knew what the eventual outcome was going to be, and I did feel some of the scenes were glossed over a bit too quickly and could have used more explanation, a little more depth and flashing out, but for the target age range it is perfectly serviceable as it is, and even to the older reader it didn't harm the story to any great degree.

If you like adventure with just a dash of the fantastical you're sure to enjoy reading the Sea Djinn, and I'm looking forward to reading what I'm sure will be a successful series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an exciting adventure aimed at older chidlren 11+ or to be read to younger children.This is a really good tale about a young man, Finn Kennedy who meets a Sea Genie who needs help to save the world from an evil tyrant. Very much Arabian Knights stuff and will keep the kids entertained. Worth buying!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This novel for young teens has magic and adventure that lures the reader in. The teacher who gives them explosive lessons, the Djinn who use humans as their army and the children who have magic powers all serve to entice a young teen in.
For a western child, the different location (it is set in Dubai) offer a sense of a new and exciting +place that is different from the London/New York big city so often used. Readers of The Golem's Eye,Ptolemy's Gate (Bartimaeus Trilogy) and The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy) will enjoy this book, too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 August 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Teenage boy encounters a magical world.
TB has magical mentor.
TB has clever female friend.
TB finds male sidekick.
TB discovers magical talents under tutelage of a teacher.
TB has another creepy teacher who hates him.
TB has boy rival with ties to the bad guys.
TB has tell tale sign that he is the prophesised "One".
TB faces an evil arch enemy only he can defeat or die trying.

Does any of the above sound familiar? LD has rehashed a familiar story line found in this genre; however she does add a few interesting and original elements. One of these is the unusual setting of Dubai; although I initially thought it to be is an unlikely location to meet a magical sea creature. The interaction between Finn, Georgie and Fred reminded me somewhat of the Harry Potter trio, whilst certain events are definitely as dark as those found in the later books of the HP series. With these unexpected darker moments in a predominantly light hearted fantasy book, "Sea Djinn" proved to be a fun read with a subtle twist at the end that will definitely surprise its reader.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very good nautical adventure yarn, but probably is better suited to younger readers rather than adults, but that doesn't mean to say adults can't enjoy it too (I did). It's pretty light-hearted, nothing too heavy or scary, just some easy to read, smooth flowing fantasy. If you're at all into sea creatures then you'll love it. I'd have no problem recommending this book and will seek out more from this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
Sea Djinn is one of the best books my 9 year-old son has ever read. It is so exciting - he was captivated! He said that he couldn't wait to get to the next chapter because it was so good and Linda stops at really exciting places. The scenes and characters are beautifully described. I read it too and loved it. Watch out for Fire Djinn - the next in the series, it's a fantastic read as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2009
Harry Potter meet Alex Rider! Need I say more. An excellent read, fast moving, interesting location, great writing. I could taste, smell and hear the sea. A great book, great story, lots of action. A great present for an 8 year old boy. Would also be enjoyed by girls and children older, or younger if you read it to them. I will be buying more from this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here