Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2017
superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2016
Best band in the f World - great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
Great book for every Jam fan, with lots of input from the fans themselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Very happy with this book, brings back happy memories of the Jam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I have loved this band since 1977, and followed Paul Weller since the split. A must buy for any Jam fan, and music follower.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
Great book on the "Best band in the F****** World" Produced by the Fans for the Fans... An insiders view into what being a Teenage Jam obsessive felt like from the people that were actually there! Somehow, The Jam are often brushed aside in Retrospectives of music of the late 70's, early 80's (what? The Poilce were the UK's biggest band in the early 80's - really!?) this book gives passionate fan recollections of just how much The Jam meant to them during the peak of Thatcher's autocratic Divide and Rule demolition of Britain...

There are also some great contributions from people who worked closely with the band, from Bill Smith - the record sleeve designer, to Tracie Young, who sang back up on the band's final single 'Beat Surrender' and made an appearance on their final Top of The Pop's appearance, as the record went straight in the charts at Number 1...

Brilliantly designed, with many unseen Fan Photos and pictures of memorabilia, the authors have put together a fantastic tome for anyone who wants to remind themselves of just what a great 'People's Band' The Jam were (not that many need reminding)

As Paul Weller states in the Foreward (All 3 Jam Band member's make contributions)... "it amazes me to see that there were many Jam fans that were just 12, 13..." Well I was one of them, and luckily saw the Jam live 30 years ago, aged just 14, twice in that final year of 1982, beofre they split up for good, ... they mean as much to me now, as they did to me then!

BUY IT!!

"the best book on The Jam and It's audience I've ever seen!" Paul Weller September 2012
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
The inimitable intro of the late John Weller that ignited the fury that followed. An unforgettable experience for anybody who ever attended these gigs and this book captures that spirit, emotion, energy wonderfully through the memories of the fans who where there. What has struck me most is just how similar the experiences and feelings were among the fans. At the time I thought this was "my" band, an absolute obsession, studying sleeve notes, tracks played to death, hitting play record - with often poor timing - on the cassette to capture any TV/Radio appearance, all four bedroom walls plastered in any image I could find of the band, Jam button badges on the school tie, first trip from south coast to the big City to buy the bowling shoes that Weller was wearing, Monday lunchtimes sneaking out of school to go buy the new single, and the BIG deal; a new album. But of course it was not "my" band it was "our' band and this book reunites that generation wonderfully. This is no nostalgia trip, it is a reminder that the events and experiences of this period of early teenage life and the impact the band had on you has made you who you are today. The debt of gratitude we have to Weller in particular for kicking us up the arse and telling us never to accept the humdrum, always to fight for what you believe to be right,never give up; and as was ultimately the reason for the bands demise; always move on and go out knowing you did as much as you could.

Unfortunately, my passion was not met by the funds to support it - the weekly financial consolidation of a paper round @ £3.50 a week, school dinner money and the occasional pocket money - so I missed so much and this book, as great as it is, has reminded me of that. Nevertheless, I got to see the band 4 times, including the last time they ever played together on 11/12/82 in Brighton and, as was common place, @ approx 3.00pm a rear door of the Brighton Centre opened and all the kids waiting for glimpse of the band to arrive for soundcheck were let in to the venue by John Weller. I among about 30 other kids stood watching, open mouthed I guess, our heroes sound check ("Move On Up" the only track I can remember) on the day that had already been declared the last time The Jam would ever play together. The only means of recalling this astonishing experience - a failing memory in a 40 something year old head; no camera (you were out on your ear if you took a camera into a venue in those days), no camera phone!

This band genuinely changed my life, if you were there it changed yours too; but you already know that.
22 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
As a teenager in the late 70s/early 80s I was an obsessive Jam fan and even now, as a middle aged man, its never really left me.The parka is gathering dust in the cupboard under the stairs and the Fred Perry shirts seem to be a bit tighter these days but some things never change; the Fab Three will always have a special place in my heart.I quite liked the Style Council and the solo Weller has had his moments but first and foremost its The Jam. Just as The Beatles and Paul McCartney are not the same thing, so it is for me with The Jam and Weller. I'd say this book is absolutely indispensible for anyone with anything more than a casual interest in The Jam. I thought I knew everything there was to know about the band but in fact I learned a lot more from Thick as Thieves. I'm also pleased that Rick and Bruce feature prominently in it; too often The Jam is presented as Paul Weller and two other blokes; in reality all true fans know that the band would just not have been the same without Rick and Bruce and I always like to see them being given the credit they deserve for being the rhythm section powering the most important British band since the Beatles.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
If you have any interest in popular culture, musical heritage and the trio that crafted some of the finest singles from the 70's and 80's then this book is an essential purchase. The great thing about this book is that it features the thoughts of fans as well as those close to the band, some brilliant unreleased photo's and really takes this 40 something back to the excitement and exhilaration felt as a teenager, waiting for them to appear on TOTP, Saturday morning visits to Woolworths to pick up the single, hoping that one of your mates older brothers would take you along to one of their gigs. Reading this made me release that there were hundreds of kids my age in cities across the country thinking and doing the same as me. That's why this book is different to your normal band biography - it seeks to get beyond the usual 'band form, tour, get famous, split up' level.
If you in your 40's or older, go and buy this, remember how exciting it used to be. If you're younger, go and buy it to see just what you missed.....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
Passion? Energy? Loyalty To Fans? Commitment? Loved 35 years on? Qualities certainly possessed by The Jam, arguably the finest UK band of their generation.
I was very lucky. I saw the Jam three times in early 1977. Over the next five years they became the biggest group in the UK, with myriad number one records, sell out tours etc., as well as having a huge influence on clothing and on wider youth culture. One of the things that made them so special was the bond they developed with their fans, creating a genuine soundtrack for so many lives.
What Stu Deabill and Ian Snowball have done is to take this obvious love of the band and turn it into the superb, unique and unputdownable book that is "Thick As Thieves - Personal Situations with The Jam", but with a brilliant twist. Rather than take the traditional form of historic narrative by unengaged hired journalist with a few quotes from band associates, the book is a series of genuine and heartfelt reminiscences from dozens of true fans, who saw the band live, bought their records and watched them on TV.
The powers of recall from over 45's are to be admired (showing, I guess, how much the band and what they stood for meant) and there are some great, hitherto untold, stories. Bunking into gigs, memories of favourite records, near riots in North Wales, following them round the country for days on end, chance encounters with the band - all are covered, as are so many other aspects of life for devotees. What this vox pop approach does so well is let the passion and love for the band shine through. Very few groups evoke the sort of loyalty and affection that stands the test of time a generation later.
It isn't just the fans who contribute, though. Rick Buckler, Bruce Foxton, Tracie Young, record company people, record producers, tour crew and a number of other people who worked with the band also make contributions. To top it off, there is a foreword from Paul Weller himself, endorsing the link between band and fan and praising fan passion and commitment.
Among the host of photos and memorabilia (the layout and design are really impressive) are some absolutely cracking unseen photos taken by fans, which show just how accessible Paul Weller, Bruce Foxton and Rick Buckler were to their devotees - manager John Weller comes out particularly well. There are stories in the book about fans being invited back stage and onto the tour bus itself, a recognition of loyalty that was (and is) all too rare.
Over 45? You'll remember why the band were so important and want to buy this book.
Under 45? If you've anything about you, you'll know some of The Jam's music.
Buy this book and find out why Woking's finest were (and still are) so important to so many people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse