Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
53
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2011
I love Berlitz pocket guides. They are very comprehensive, written in a warm and friendly manner, easy to read. Not mentioning that their pocket size makes it very easy to carry them around! This one is no exception: friendly, detailed and packed with useful information.Captivating reading.

Information about poor quality of the drinking water on Tenerife is on the page 13 under "Ecology" and on the same page there is a recommendation to use bottled water for drinking. So it would be fairer if prior to writing review readers would actually read these guides beyond indexes...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
We were first time visitors to Tenerife and wanted a compact book giving useful information on the places we were likely to visit. The pocket guide did all these things and lived up to expectations. We have used Berlitz guides when visiting other destinations and find them very useful, with straightforward explanations - without a lot of unnecessary padding in a compact book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Good little book, but would have liked more information on the less obvious and less travelled tourist options. Plus would have linked information on local customs on tipping and driving, etc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Very interesting and readable introduction to all of the island of Tenerife - the history, culture and all the tourist sights. My only caveat is that for anyone going to the big tourist places in the south (playa de las Americas, etc) there is not a great deal of practical information about them, and what possibilities there are for getting around from them. Overall, a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
a real pocket guide, small and easy to carry. It doesn't contain loads of info but all you need to know to start exploring this island. If you have no idea about Tenerife it's a good choice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
This book is entirely useless. Information is extremely difficult to find - most places / attractions etc. aren't listed in the index. The 'directory' at the back is lacking much useful, basic information (e.g. the situation regarding drinking tap water - we were told by everybody that the tap water was extremely bad to drink, in fact one restaurant owner told us that they even cook all their food in bottled water, surely this is the kind of basic information that a guidebook should contain?). Difficult to navigate, uninspiring - don't bother.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
This little pocket guide deserves five stars and more for being so inspiring and informative. We explored most of the south of the island by local bus - thanks to the book we bought a Bono Via and saved ourselves a fortune on fares as well as giving us a sense of independence. We loved what we saw. The book helped to turn the holiday into an adventure where we ate local delicacies and joined in the festivities. We'd recommend this book to anyone who is on a budget and/or wants to get a good flavour of the island.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Ok but not that much information wait till you get There lots of information free from Travel information offices. They are all round the coast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Good basic info for those visiting Tenerife for first time, recommend that you buy detailed map of island at same time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Missed out on some of the information that is needed for a trip to give basic information only have read better books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)