Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2013
This seemed like a great book. But unfortunately it was nearly impossible to understand the few mathematical formulae as they were formatted terribly. Do BN Publishing not know what a subscript or a greek Sigma are? After a while I finally realised that the "S"s were probably meant to be capital Sigma - meaning SUM - rather than S and half these other letters probably subscripts. Really the maths in this version is impossible to understand - especially if you have a background in Maths.

Really they were nearly unintelligible for the most part. And the large format page sizes and low quality cover added to the disappointment. I regret being such a cheapskate - I should have paid a little more for a better quality print / formatted version.

Do NOT buy the BN Publishing Version!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Well written classic economic text, but very poor copy of the book, full of typos and grammatical errors. Looks like it was downloaded from an book and printed without checking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Really hard reading, not easy to follow. But still a good book but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are knee deeep in the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
An interesting book ideal for studies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Awful reprint. I bought this for my dissertation. Not only is it an extremely poor quality version - but there are NO page numbers?! My understanding is that the text itself is very interesting - but I advise you not to buy it from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This is an absolutely awful reprint. Comparing this with the Macmillan edition, one can see that: the formulae are in many places completely misrepresented, unaccountably truncated, or plain nonsensical; and the text contains a number of punctuation errors (commas become full stops, for instance) and in some cases is excised for no reason, rendering the argument incomplete.

Avoid at all costs. Fork out for an older edition (such as Macmillan), as their reprint is currently unavailable. My hypothesis is that a previous edition was simply scanned using text-recognition software and then terribly under-edited. Why did BN Publishing bother in the first place?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
I generally buy paper books for the enhanced reading experience and visual pleasure. This is pretty much a pdf printed out with no effort in laying it out apart from cramming as much text into as few pages as possible.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
As you have already read in diffrents reviews, the edition of this book is very disappointing, I read it in a different one and I enjoyed it very much. Look for any other option, but READ this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
This is a review not of what Keynes wrote but of the BN publishing reprint edition.

I appreciate that reprint publishers try to keep costs down but that is no excuse for cutting corners. Dover Publications sets the standard here and other publishers who can't perform to that standard are, sadly, becoming more common and ever more slapdash in their efforts.

Defects in this BN publishing edition include swathes of typographical errors, grammatical errors and malapropisms. Worse, and especially in the General Theory, where Keynes sought to minimise the use of mathematics in his exposition, what few formulae there are have obviously been typeset by someone who simply hasn't a clue what printed mathematics should look like. It leaves the impression of having re-typed from copy using an ordinary word processor by a none-too-literate typist.

If you want a better edition of the General Theory, you might do better to fork out a little more and get the edition in the Great Minds series. IMO this BN edition is fit only to be shredded and used for horse bedding - and even then with a profuse apology to the unfortunate creature who will be expected to repose upon it.

AVOID!
33 Comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)