Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2014
Perfect condition, couldn't be happier with my purchase! Arrived quickly and price was wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
A mini review from an A-Level student studying Twelfth Night.

This edition, is an extremely useful study tool for Twelfth Night with its easily structured half-and-half pages of play and annotations. To those (like I) who are not gifted enough to fully understand the Old English lexis, the footnotes provide an enlightening and easy-to-understand walk-through guide for the play, letting students read at easy pleasure and follow Good Ol' Wills humour. Of course his famous sexual connotations are nicely noted and which students don't appreciate a couple of good old innuendos. ;)

As students, the introduction is a MUST read, it's deeply detailed, yet it's easy to understand (which we all are really grateful for), but most importantly, it will honestly help you with your studies.

The Arden Shakespeare edition is without a doubt an extremely useful tool for studying Shakespeare.

Arden,
As a student I am eternally grateful for you making Shakespeare endurable, accessible and entertaining for us all.

@eviescott1
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2011
Twelfth Night is one of Shakespeare's liveliest and most accessible romantic comedies - but also deals intelligently with issues of gender, sexual desire, class and social harmony.

The enchanting story of Viola dressed as the page Cesario, with whom both Orsino and Orsino's erstwhile object of desire fall in love, is filled with rapturous poetry that articulates love, desire and romantic melancholy. But these central relationships are modulated by Malvolio's desire for his mistress Olivia, the bawdy comedy of Sir Toby Belch, and Antonio's unrequited desire for Viola's twin, Sebastian.

Ultimately social harmony is restored - but the portrait of Malvolio gives us an insight, perhaps, into how characters such as Edmund in King Lear, and Iago are created.

So a sunny, feel-good romantic comedy, but shaded lightly by a darker tinge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2002
This is the edition if you are new to Shakespeare. It presents the play in an easy to understand way with useful notes and commentary. However it is overtly simplistic and lacks the in depth analysis that this great play deserves.
This is one of Shakespeare's most interesting and entertaining comedies. Enjoy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 November 2011
Shakespeare's "Twelfth Night", (written between 1601 and 1602), one of his best loved comedies and plays, needs no introduction or reviews here; if readers are looking for this type of material, there are more fruitful sources.

As an educationalist, I recommend these excellent academic editions for anyone studying above GCSE level; for anyone below that, they contain far more information and detail than is required for the examination standard. GCSE level students have the Oxford and Cambridge editions (with helpful notes), the Wordsworth paperback for the text alone and a whole host of others.

For those above this level, i.e. Advanced Level and beyond into graduate and post-graduate study, they have rightfully earned a great reputation for their comprehensive notes, annotations, source editions, tpical allusions and other essential information for complete studies of his plays.

These are excellent editions for anyone with a serious interest in Shakespeare after GCSE level and this Third Series has successfully built on the content of previous editions.

Highly Recommended and worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Seemed expensive when I ordered it but it is a brand new edition and a lot of work has gone into producing it. Good delivery, packed well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Did not know much about Shakespeare, other than he was compulsory reading at school many years ago and I never understood him. However a director of a local theatre group recommended this publication as it explains the words and situations used in a language that is used by us everyday as oppose to that in the 16th century. The play is written in it's original entirety and the sub-notes are a really useful tool. This version was extremely helpful and Shakespeare is now seen by me in a different light, as his plays are meant to be just that, played and not just read. Fabian will never be the same again!! It was a invaluable aid to my part, and Shakespeare will not be seen the same again!
Thank you Amazon for delivering this next day at an unbeatable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Just bought this for my daughters A level course. It's perfect for year 12.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
These notes are good for GCSE level, but they didn't serve greatly when I used it at A Level. I'd recommend, but only for a more advanced understanding for GCSE.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 January 2014
Is slippered middle age on the horizon? Do I seem to prefer Shakespeare's comedies - famously unfunny - to his historical tragedies, nowadays? I certainly didn't get far, at least not yet, with Coriolanus, but Twelfth Night, as with As You Like It, is easy reading. Disguise, mistaken identity, hopeless infatuation, a medley of clowns and love triumphant. All that's missing is a bit with a dog.

It's winter and the rain it raineth every day, so why not curl up with this one?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse